We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gumnut Beach House Homestay
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A delightful Retreat”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

From the moment we arrived at Gumnut Beach Homestay, Rosemary understood that we needed medical help because of our deep hacking cough and head colds.

Rosemary escorted us to the Varkala Missions Hospital, took us straight into casualty and interpreted to the staff that we really needed a Doctor and proper treatment. This was only the start of Rosemary's ongoing kindness.

Gumnut Beach House, a very modern building, is well located near the South Cliff Beach, rooms are large, clean, well ventilated and quiet. The kitchen with a wide range of cooking facilities, along with an electric kettle with free tea and coffee facilities, made this a place like home.

Thank you Rosemary and Radha for your many kindnesses during our stay at Gumnut Beach House Homestay, truly a delightful retreat.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We had a large room with a balcony and outside comfortable chairs and fan on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RexAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
31
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were recommended this accommodation by a couple of Australians we met in Alleppey and we decided to go for word of mouth rather than our guidebook for a change.

This is a very modern house built in the local style. So modern, in fact, that the painters were just finishing off as we arrived. We hadn't booked in advance so I think Rose, the joint owner (with her gentle husband Radha) was a bit taken aback by our arrival but she quickly recovered her composure and welcomed us and they soon made us feel at home.

We had the top floor suite with large balcony which had an ocean view. This was without doubt the loveliest place we stayed at during our two weeks (not more, sadly) stay in Kerala. It was clean and beautiful. To say it was spotless would be an understatement and the shower is excellent with lashings of hot water.

I have to say that Varkala beach was not our favourite place in Kerala. it was the only place we met many tourists but, unlike the invariably friendly local people, we found other tourists barely willing even to exchange a "hello". Never mind, Rose more than made up for that. She gave us great tips. In particular we had a lovely day in Varkala town, a much more interesting place than the beach resort which is geared up for tourism, tourism, tourism. We shopped and had a wonderful lunch. Thanks to Rose, we also found a really nice place for breakfast taking the road away from the beach.

Having said that, we found two lovely restaurants on the beach with wonderfully fresh sea food to eat at on each of the nights we were there. The second did not go in for the really silly habit of serving beer in disguise (eg in a tea pot or an appallingly tasteless jug!). The pretext for this "custom" is to avoid offending local people who might be sensitive to foreigners drinking alcohol in plain view but that clearly cannot be right as there were no such inhibitions at the second restaurant we ate at.

I'd very happily stay here again. Thanks again Rose for being a great host and for your really useful tips which made our stay memorable for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top room which we have no hesitation recommending but I expect all the rooms would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at this lovely homestay two weeks ago, it was a wonderful experience.
Rose & her husband have a beautiful home that is immaculate. The rooms are large with lovely attached bathrooms that are so spacious & plenty of hot water. As it is situated on the south cliff it is such a tranquil location. Our ground floor room had a lovely private verandah overlooking a garden where we could read & relax. For a small fee Rose will do your washing which is an added bonus. The communal kitchen is so large & you are welcome to cook, also there is always tea & coffee on hand. It is a beautiful walk to the north cliff where the cafes & restaurants are located. Would highly recommend this wonderful homestay.

Room Tip: All rooms would be a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annemareec_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Rose and Radha made us feel very welcome. their home was beautifully presented - clean,spacious, hot showers, mozzie screens, kitchen facilities for those that enjoy an early morning cuppa and ROse is a wealth of local information and good tips. We can't recommend gum nut highly enough - it's a must stay location. Thank you ROse & Radha

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Situated on the South Cliff, Gumnut Beach House Homestay is located away from the hustle and bustle, but within easy walking distance (albeit up and down steep hills and steps). Rose is kind and helpful, and the rooms spacious and well equipped. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatyandAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A couple of friends and i have just spent a month staying close to the beach in Kerelas Gumnut Beach House What a great place to visit and stay ! It is the best value holiday destination we have managed to discover yet in our asia travels >We had a fun time relaxing surfing exploring the beaches mountains backwaters and shopping in cities close by The guest house owners Rose and Radha are always kind friendly and helpful .We got to meet their family who are lovely local people as well as many other happy folks in Varkala town close by . The tropical south west coast of india is vibrant exciting good value and has many beaches and too many surf breaks to count ! The middle of the year is monsoon time producing constant warm water swell action with very few surfers Magic seaweed internet site has info about spots to explore and weather info which is handy to make the most of your travel time We will be back asap !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globalwanderer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We booked for 7 days and stayed for 10. The Gumnut is absolutely spotless and so comfortable. We felt very welcome and loved our stay. Recommend it 100%
Rose is an excellent host and a wealth of information to help with getting around Varkala.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCharron1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Varkala
307 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumnut Beach House Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumnut Beach House Homestay

Property: Gumnut Beach House Homestay
Address: South Cliff Temple Road West | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful new homestay: 5 spacious rooms with fans and hot water, all attached bathrooms. 2 Minutes walk from main beach and restaurants. Guest kitchen has complimentary tea, coffee and filtered water. Close to Janardhana Swami temple. Budget accommodation. Lovely quiet area on South Cliff With free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gumnut Beach House Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumnut Beach House Homestay Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing