We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best coffee & dosa in south india!”
Review of Coffee Temple

Coffee Temple
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$7
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We want you to feel comfortable and looked after in a lovely setting overlooking the main beach, with classic tunes, free WiFi ,filtered water and newspapers, friendly staff and dogs. Our coffee is ground to order, and freshly made cakes are made throughout the day.Hard to beat in Varkala We have a new menu (3 years in the making!) Mexican dishes served all day. A huge array of breakfast items served from 630 a.M until lunchtime at least. 27 chilled / icy fruit juices plus a dozen smoothies to choose from. If you're after some authentic keralan dishes, try our acclaimed Masala Dosa , and one or two other indian breakfast items. Our new list of snacks includes the popular veggie burger and falafel wrap, cheesey chips. Recently added to Coffee Temple is our Wood Fired Pizza Oven , and we now serve them, with accompanying Italian dishes from lunch till 10.pm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best coffee & dosa in south india!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

we were over the moon when we found Coffee Temple! What a relief! Make sure you check it out if your in Varkala

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    252
    80
    20
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Great coffee and cakes. Staff is a bit slow but very friendly. They have WiFi but rather unreliable...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank berlinaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Coffee is good, no doubt. All the rest ... well I would not eat there. Service does not exist there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yuri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaldEagleBrighton, Owner at Coffee Temple, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Yuri , thanks for spending the time to write your review . I welcome that so s i can try to correct that.
We ve had a very busy season in our new site next to the helipad and my kitchen staff have done their best under the circumstances. We relied mostly on volunteers from around the world to wait on customers. And with some leaving early and not turning up , and our kitchen boys having to turn into waiters it was sometimes not good enough. Im sorry you didnt have a good experience at Coffee Temple.
Im going up to nepal next month to look for experienced waiters for next season . who speak the same language as our kitchen staff to hopefully rectify the problem.
One tip if i may: order coffees direct from the barista when its busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had breakfast a few times and coffee was good. They also serve breakfast. The pancakes were good but the homemade cakes were awsome!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank missgreenpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaldEagleBrighton, Owner at Coffee Temple, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for your review. Im really chuffed with the stuff the kitchen guys are doing. The cakes are very moreish, i shouldnt be eating them , but i cant help it . Occasionally one goes wrong and i make them eat it.I think theres a flaw in that policy! Do try the banoffee Pie if you ever come to varkala again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a very good place for early morning coffees, especially if you can get a seat at the front by the cliff top path. It is located very close to the square known as the "Helipad". I did not try the food and I also noticed that they close before the real dinner time rush. Service was a bit slow but the coffee was fine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaldEagleBrighton, Owner at Coffee Temple, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for your review . Glad you liked the brown stuff. As we open at 6am we havent opened for supper, but maybe next season we ll be better equiped to serve up some cinema dinners.
Do try the Mexican and Keralan food. next time . its very good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Temple also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Coffee Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing