We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely beachside bungalow with great service”

Pink Aana Bamboo Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pink Aana Bamboo Beach Resort
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely beachside bungalow with great service”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My mother (50s) and I (20s) spent three nights here in October 2011. Pink Aana is a quiet group of beach bungalows a bit north of Varkala. It was great to be able to walk up to Varkala (10 minutes) along the cliffs, enjoy the hustle and bustle and the shops, and then retire to the peace of quiet of Pink Aana. There are also some nice walks in the other direction.

The beach bungalows are sparse but perfectly clean and comfortable. What made our stay here truly memorable was the service and the food. Each night, we enjoyed a fabulous feast courtesy of our host and chef, which we enjoyed sitting out in the garden looking over the beach, surrounded by a ring of candles set up specially for us. This would be perfect and terribly romantic for a honeymoon! He even gave us a cooking lesson covering nine dishes, which was free of charge and extremely interesting.

My mother enjoyed a three-day massage/treatment package at the ayurvedic centre just above Pink Aana (50m), which was frequented mostly by locals and was run by a very friendly Keralan family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aust83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Totally agree with previous reviews. This place has nice huts overlooking the beach, set in a nice flowery garden.  The 4 huts have verandas with a hammock, but that is the only shade around, the nice garden is in full sun all day, unfortunately. The staff are nice, however we had a bad experience with the whole booking process which really put us off staying here (and have also seen from other blog posts about this place).  We had booked 3 months in advance for 4 nights for our honeymoon, and we arrived in the evening after having a nightmare with the planes.  However, we weren't put in one of the 4 cottages but a concrete 'hut' at the end with no proper (clean) bed sheets, curtains or toilet paper.  We were promised a hut the next morning, which we were dissapointed about not staying in one from day one but accepted it.  In the morning we had to repack all of our stuff, and wait around for the other guys to check out of the cottage which was supposed to be 11am, then 12am, then 12.30am, and which didn't happen til 1.30, and by that time we had missed all of the morning waiting to move our stuff and get settled, so we decided to go further down the beach instead. Although its a nice place, and probably a good place to relax, we felt after bookings for 4 nights and 3 months in advance for your honeymoon, you shouldn't really be expected to have to change rooms and wait around for so long.  I hope if other people stay they have a better experience, and they sort out their booking process and priorities. Just shows how helpful trip advisor is over lonely planet as its up to date!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frisbeemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varkala hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

It's a really lovely place to stay, close to the quiet beach where the fishermen come in every morning. The huts are basic but very nice and clean with a bathroom, a little sitting out area and your own hammock. The breakfasts are good, and you can eat here in the evening (good home-cooked food). However, we booked here for four nights to relax at the end of our trip, and when we arrived (having confirmed the booking twice by email and received confirmation in return), they told us they were full and would put us in a room 2km away for the first night. We weren't at all happy about that, and so they offered us a dingy room close by. Finally we found ourselves a nearby beach bungalow (at Magnolias, another good option) for that first night, which they agreed to pay for. At the end of the stay they had, of course, 'forgotten' to reimburse us for that first night but did do so in the end. It's such a shame because this is a nice, relaxing place to stay in a lovely location, and the cook couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. However the cynical attitude of the owner is a good enough reason to find somewhere else. I guess being 'Top Choice' in the Lonely Planet means they don't have to try very hard to get bookings, especially in the peak season.

Room Tip: There are only four bungalow, all are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieB65186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We read the review of this hotel in Lonely Planet so rang ahead from Kumarokom and asked about a cottage close to the beach for three nights. They confirmed that they had one available and quoted 3,500 rp per night. This was alot more than the 800rp quoted in Lonely Planet.
Given this is peak season I accepted that and told them I wanted to cottage. They asked me to send an email to confirm which I did.
We arrived, walked down a steep poorly maintained track from the road to be greeted by a very disinterested host who remembered speaking to me on the phone. They didn't have a cottage, but he showed me a dark, musty, unairconditioned room at the back of the hote which he wanted the same price for.
We were left looking for somewhere else to stay and fortunately found something for the same money but the manner in which they treat booking customers was appalling. Plus they are cashing in on their recommendation in Lonely Planet by charging exorbitant rates. There are much better options along Varkala Beach and I have lost confidence in Lonely Planet as well.

Room Tip: This is backpacker standard only
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seeneysabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

In contrary to the area around the cliff, the little beach in front of Pink Aana is very-very quiet. Every morning the fisherman bring in their nets, a great ritual to watch - male tourists are even invited to help. The rest of the day it’s like a private beach for a handful of tourists.
Pink Aana has 4 spacious, clean huts with basic facilities: a double bed, a closet and a toilet plus shower, all located in a beautiful garden. Don’t go here if you want luxury. But it is the perfect place for people who like to wake up with the sound of the waves. And who enjoy the quietness, the views. For more entertainment: Varkala is at a 5-10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.9 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#22 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#21 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Aana Bamboo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Aana Bamboo Beach Resort

Property: Pink Aana Bamboo Beach Resort
Address: Odayam Beach, Varkala, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Pink Aana Bamboo Beach Hotel Varkala
Pink Aana Bamboo Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing