We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay in Varkala” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison de Varkala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de Varkala
Ranked #23 of 96 Varkala B&B and Inns
portland, or
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Varkala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I spent 5 nights here in a large, clean, comfortable room with a large bed and a mosquito net that didn't make me feel claustrophobic. Lovely was a wonderful host and helpful in every way. The property is a about a minute away from the cliff in a very quiet location, allowing for both proximity to the going ons of Varkala and a good night's sleep. I really enjoyed my stay here and will be back if I return to Varkala. It is truly a great value and I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the house have outside sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadicromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
24
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

In last days of my travel, i found La maison de varkala to stay. so I get only 5days to share with Lovely and her cousin. wonderful hosts i met in there. very comfortable stay with them. Rooms are very clean, and huge bathrooms, great shower, powerful spiritual paintings. wow! i fell in love with them. i never get a treat like here all over India.
I went to see with them a temple festival it was incredible. Lovely and chinu's home was there. i met their mom she was wonderful. and also i got some local friends of lovely. very lovable guys .
From la maison 2 minute walk to the beach, so it is very quite . Every day morning i get a chai from them . i felt iam a family member of them.

Thank you so much Lovely and chinu to make my stay evergreen. I will definitely come back to see you and highly recommending "Lovely's Paradise"

Room Tip: Ganeshrathri i used to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swapna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Clean beautiful rooms, very relaxed and welcoming. Great location close to the cliff path, but set back enough to be quiet. This place is a real gem. We found it by pure luck walking around..very happy to have done so. Lovely, who runs the place, is simply wonderful. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSticksman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

This review is a bit overdue... we stayed at La Maison de Varkala in November last year and now as we are at the end of our Indian adventure we can say that this was the loveliest guesthouse we stayed at during our entire trip! And the lovely guesthouse manager really is Lovely by name and lovely by nature. We turned up after selecting a different guesthouse from Lonely Planet, only to have our tuk tuk driver take us to a site of a renovation (not a scam - it was really under renovation!). Lovely came to the rescue and offered us a room at Le Maison de Varkala within our backpackers budget. We stayed in the 'Enlightenment' room with beautiful four-poster bed and it was such a treat to wake up to an enlightened buddha patinting on the wall before us. We intended to stay just a couple of nights but stayed more as we did not want to leave. Will definitely come back again! Thank you Lovely! :)

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 200Kay200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed at La maison de Varkala in December 2012 for almost one week. Lovely was helpful all the way, she picked me up at the train station in the middle of the night and drove me some places when I needed to, at a cheaper price. The breakfast is delicious (especially the Indian style one). The house is located very close to the cliff, so it is easy to go around. I would totaly recommend if you are looking for a clean, quiet and welcoming house.
We also had a delicious meal on the rooftop terrase, traditionnal indian cuisine on banana leaf, it was amazing!
Thank you for everything Lovely, and wish you all the best!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entoutesaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Lovely is the name of the charismatic, energetic lady who runs La Maison du Varkala. She picked us up from the train station, sorted us out during our stay in Varkala and arranged for onward transport ... all with a bright, infectious smile.

Varkala has boomed in the last three years, with hotels and b&bs popping up everywhere. We were very glad to have found an inexpensive, quality place amid it all and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Very nice small hotel located in between the palm trees 10 min walk from the cliff in Varkala. The service was impeccable, our room clean and spacious, the owner very helpful ; she could also arrange for us some local Ayurveda and transportation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.2 mi away
Shiva Garden
Shiva Garden
#18 of 96 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keratheeram Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#9 of 96 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Eva Luna
Casa Eva Luna
#1 of 96 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jickys Nest
Jickys Nest
#13 of 96 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 93 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Varkala

Property: La Maison de Varkala
Address: Tiruvambadi Road | Way to the Black Beach, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 7 minute walk from the beach , very calm and quite area having a huge garden .All rooms are double with private balcony . Homely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Maison de Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing