We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Restaurant”
Review of Clafouti

Clafouti
Ranked #2 of 87 Restaurants in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“5 Star Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have been coming to varkala for a few years and have tried many of the restaurants on the cliff and I can honestly tell you that Clafoutti is not only the the best because of the amazing food and service but because it honestly has become my home away from home when i live in India. The staff are so kind, helpful, warm and really make me feel like part of the Clafoutti family. The seaside view is amazing, especially during Sunset! The food is also Fantastic ! Some of my favorite dishes are fish tikka , organic veg salad , tofu sizzler, paneer butter masala and pizza . It's really the perfect atmosphere to gather with friends or drink a chai/eat on your own because at Clafoutti once you set foot in their restaurant you will immediately feel the warmth and love and become part of the staff family . Much love to Raj, Dor, Roshan and JoJo . You are the best !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    198
    63
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Taste of Paradise”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have been visiting Clafouti restaurant for a number of years and found it to be consistently excellent and it is without doubt one of the best on the Clifftop this is in part due to the manager Raj and his wonderful team of Nepalese/Tibetan employee's. The place as recently been entirely re-built including the biggest and most modern kitchen in Varkala and is brand new with a capacity for up to seventy tables spread across two floors but still has managed to retain a unique intimacy due to a relaxed and generous layout. This restaurant is very popular with good reason as it combines first class service with a wide variety of delicous food at incredibly reasonable prices with the standards of hygiene being second to none. It is always busy which reflects its varied clientelle's posotive endorsements and the staff are extra friendly without being pushy the Manager Raj who mantains a Buddha like serenity runs a very tight ship to the highest of standards and is also one of the nicest people that you would wish to meet and he is constantly pushing the limits of the philosophy that " nothing is to much trouble for my customers" also there is a great selection of cakes and desserts and I believe that an ice cream section may be added this season they also serve an excellent range of ice cold beers added to a relaxed and convivial atmosphere I defy anyone to have a bad time here. Enough said.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zos m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Three of us ordered from the fresh seafood from the counter. The waiters were very good describing different ways the fish could be cooked, taste, texture Etc. of the different fish. We chose giant prawns and barracuda. They were the best prawns I've ever tasted, and the barracuda wasn't bad either!
Good service, clean, friendly, and great value. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalakudy, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food excellent ambience”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Thai food was very good steaks were also fine great space to enjoy a cool evening staffs were cordial

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank joypani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awsome Food”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel, with a different Clafouti style, and virtually facing the sea. Quiet hotel, friendly and helpful staff, restaurant design and the food they served are awsome. The view for restuarant to the see its a nice feeling. Good Luck Clafouti.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paruzz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clafouti also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Clafouti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing