We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of Black Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in one of the Heritage Sea View Villas, very clean, helpful staff, and breakfast looking at the sea, would recommend staying here, even at the tail end of monsoon as when it does rain you can still enjoy the balcony ...

Room Tip: I would pay the extra and stay in a villa ...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

We adored this heavenly location and beautiful new resort overlooking the cliff and best beach in Varkala. The manager and staff were kind and helpful. Our Yoga class on their green lawn overlooking the sea was rejuvenating. After traveling in India for several weeks, this welcoming gem of a hotel inspired us to stay longer than planned for a relaxing "stay-cation"

Room Tip: All rooms are new with terraces overlooking the sea. The heritage cottage is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

i stated in this hotel with my wife for two nights a month before.i throughly enjoyed our two nights stay.the excelent seaview is one the speciality of this hotel and the staff were very friendly and professional.the rooms are neat and tidy.i want to give a big thanks to the manager he is truly helpful to me he is nicely explained everything and very friendly also.i just feel a home away from home. i will recomanded this hotel to my friends and relative if they are visiting varkala.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agnel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of a Gap Adventures tour. Although it wasn't terrible, it was probably the worst on the tour. The tour organisers don't include air conditioning in this hotel which of course is not at fault of the hotel itself. We did however find 500 rupees per day rather extortionate considering you could probably get a 2 course meal for two for that in Varkala! The bathroom was quite dirty and had a bucket under the shower to catch the dripping tap. The location isn't ideal but not too far to walk along the cliffs to the beach. No TV in the room didn't matter for a couple of days but would've missed one if staying for longer coming in on an evening.

One thing i must point out though is that this is a review of staying in the main building... The accomodation in the beautiful gardens towards the sea do look a lot better! The staff were friendly.

I would say this place has potential but like a lot of places, it's the little things that make all the difference.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddiekuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I'm very disappointed with the place. I had stayed there for about 3-4days last month. The air conditioning in my room was pretty bad, water was leaking all over the place.I had issues with the service they provided. The hotel staff is very incompetent.Noisy hotel!.No privacy!. My SLR camera was stolen, I bet by the hotel staff only.Overall, Its an awful place to stay at. Many other hotels to choose from in Varkala, dont waste your money on this one.STAY AWAY!!.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anton g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear Sir/madam
Greeting from black beach resort!!!!!
thanks for your time and we are very sorry to say that this is a shocking lie,we would like to explain that our air condition's are brand new and installed in this season(2012) only last year there was no air conditions,Black beach resort was Re opened on 1st Feb 2012. Now we got 06 Std A/c rooms,06std non a/c and 05 A/c heritage cottages.our staffs are well educated and trained people who treats the guests as king and queen .all the rooms having individual big balcony for their privacy.Our resort known for the quite relaxing atmosphere which all our clients mentioned on their reviews.And i would have request for you sir "please visit our place once then i know that you will love it".
thanks & Regards
Aneesh
Black beach resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Im just back from India and spent a few nights at this hotel.The hotel is a modern build hotel and built to a high, tasteful standard.The grounds are very clean and tidy.The rooms are excellent and again very clean and tidy.All the staff are exceptionally pleasant especially the Manager,Aneesh,Who will go the extra mile to help you out regarding any questions or help you might need.I would definately stay here again as the atmosphere is very calming and its a stones throw from the beach

Room Tip: The newly added chalets are well designed in a fantastic setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OBAOILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed for 11 nights and loved it. The rooms are big and clean with balcony (mine had a lovely sea-view). The staff is really friendly and there is an added bonus of cable TV and free Wifi for when you feel like staying in. I am travelling as a single female and felt very safe and comfortable. Definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aulbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.4 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#24 of 52 in Varkala
145 reviews
0 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £23 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Beach Sea Face Resort Varkala is one of the leading luxury resorts in Varkala. Our affordable tarriffs and dedicated services in the industry help us to be the number one resort in Varkala, Kerala. We focus on the quality services which will be a great state fore the visitors. Black Beach Sea Face Resort makes your holidays more comfortable and joyful... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Black Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing