We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Yogashala!”
Review of Yoga Varkala

Yoga Varkala
Ranked #6 of 18 Spas & Wellness in Varkala
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily yoga with Vasudev in Bohemian Masala
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Yogashala!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I am currently in Varkala and loving the yoga instruction with Vasu Dev. The Bohemian Masala is a beautiful venue tucked away on the clifftop in Varkala and the yoga shala is just beautiful. The roof is draped with beautiful multicoloured saris adding a real aesthetic delight to the yoga space!

Vasu is a highly experienced, humble and patient instructor. I cannot recommend his classes enough!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank powello75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    4
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weyarn, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yoga varkala northcliff”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Vasudev is teaching shivananda yoga, but with little changes of routine everyday.
I still enjoy the very inspiring and empathic lessons back home via the amazing DVD recorded on the cliff!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Vasu sings his way through the class. I'd never heard a yoga class sung before. It was so relaxing and charming. Our group of 5 have adopted certain of his little ditty's and can be heard singing them as we walk the corridors of our office - arch your ba-a-a-a ck, keep stretch continue and go do-o-o-o-wn... brilliant.
I learnt how to do a headstand, which was super strange in the beginning and challenged my sufficiently as I believe you should do something everyday that scares you. I learnt to love the shoulder stand - another first for me. Basically I should spend more of my life upside down, it's good for my soul.
The yogashala is wonderful, so great to be looking at palm trees whilst you practice.
I like the way Vasu changes the routine everso slightly each day to keep you on your toes.
I was so flexible at the end of that 10 days, and calm, and refreshed...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“first time yoga”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We, me and my wife, had never done yoga before. We signed up for the '7day beginner course' with
Vasudev at Bohemian Masala. I have to say it was an excellent life changing experience. We subsequently went to 6 more lessons between us and will carry on, on our return to Europe. Don't think twice use this school for all levels of Yoga.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dradsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
“Yoga with Vasu in the Bohemian Masala good start of the day!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Spend 10days in Bohemian Masala and found it worthwhile to get up every day at 8:00 to attend Vasu's Yoga class. 2 hours with a nice mix of yoga. Felt a lot better at the end of the 10 days and with our group of 5 people with different levels of yoga all felt challenged and enjoyed the yoga. For the starter in the group there was at 10am a special class for starters with more explanation/help. Many attendees came from outside the Bohemian Masala as apparently it is (one of) the best in Varkala.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yoga Varkala also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Yoga Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing