We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful yoga holiday at Blooming Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 102 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Perched on a cliff overlooking a secluded bay with gorgous warm crashing waves... Palm trees, hamocks, eagles souring above... perfect location for our yoga holiday with Tabitha (www.tabithadeanyoga.co.uk). Tabitha had done a fabulous job sourcing this location... a large yoga space... delicious breakfasts... friendly staff... from Joshi the lovely waiter to the friendly gate-man who would 'Namaste' us when we returned from our trips out...

This being India there are a few eccentricities... it's recently opened and not everything was up and running - hot water and air-con to follow! And expect a few power cuts... so bring a torch... But nothing could spoil the traquil peace... the jungle sounds at night... the joyous chanting from temples at prayer time...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Blooming Bay. Firstly let me apologize for the delayed response. There has been a change in management and I will be running the place directly. All the amenities like running water 24 hours(hot and cold), AC rooms, power back up in case of power cuts, etc have been taken care of and are now in order.

Wehave also done a lot of work on the lawns, gardens, restaurant and also have developed an in-house organic vegetable garden. We also n ow have a good reading room, a ceramic studio, table tennis room, and some very good water sport gear for our guests.

We are also very keen on hosting yoga groups and can cater to the groups requirements.

We look forward to hearing from you and also to your visit while you are next at Varkala!

Warm regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

Blooming bay guesthouse is the only place I know in India. When I arrived there I decided to spend the whole of my holiday (one month) in this heavenly spot. Just imagine thousands of coconut trees on a red cliff overlooking the ocean. No noise except the waves and the wind. No neighbours except the eagles and the dolphins. It's perfect for relaxation and meditation.
The guesthouse has got a big garden where you can enjoy the hammocks and the huts. The view and the sunsets are fantastic.
It's possible to practise yoga and get ayurvedic treatment. And in the end if you want to go and explore the surroundings the guesthouse staff will organize it for you.
So I recommend Blooming bay to those who look for peace and quiet, natural beauty and authenticity.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have the best view and lovely balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delphine187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for choosing to stay at Blooming Bay.
I sincerely apologize for the delayed response to your post. There has been a change in management and I will now be running the property directly.

Since your last visit there has been a lot of improvements on the property specially to the lawns, gardens, restaurant area etc. We have now developed an in-house vegetable garden and also have a reading room, a ceramic studio, table tennis room etc for our guests.

We look forward to your next visit to Blooming Bay while you are at Varkala.

Warm regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Can you live without electronic sound systems all night, skip persistant invitations to visit shops and monitor streams of tourists along North Cliff, THEN find your way to the absolutely quiet paradise of Blooming Bay either by walking along the beautiful South Cliff beach, or by riksha from Beach Rd. This guesthouse lies rather separated in a huge palm garden (four hammocks!) which stretches towards the edge of the cliff. Four thatched places allow limitless views of coast and of the sea, while mild winds cool guests during well prepared breakfast, lunch or dinner. Spotless rooms (a few with AC) are really spacious and well furnitured and have a small balcony. Matresses are of best quality, linen and towels are changed every third day. Owner speaks French and English and really cares for guests (e.g once organized a private excellent Thali dinner in the village for us and four other guests). At the time of our visit no written menu was available, so all orders could be discussed in detail with the chef taking into account also his suggestions and knowledge, what a privilege! The golden sand beach is a few minutes away down on a sealed dead end road, just beneath the open cottages mentioned above. If we had to regret something, it was that we came across Blooming Bay for our very last Kerala week only - it was worth a much longer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for having staying at Blooming Bay. Firstly I apologize for the delayed response. There has been a change in management and we will be running the resort directly.

There are now 10 AC rooms and we have done a lot of work on the gardens, lawn, restaurant and we have also developed a vegetable garden right next to t he restaurant.

We n ow have a Table Tennis room, reading room, a ceramic and lifestyle studio etc for the guests.

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to pen down your experience and I look forward to you being our guest at Blooming Bay on your next visit to Varkala.

Warm regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

If you do not like hammocks and coconut palms, if you do not like eagles in the sky, if you do not like dreaming, rocked by the purring of the sea, below the cliff, if you do not like having a fantastic view over kilometers of beaches, if you do not like the peace, and the authenticity, if you do not like starry nights and magnificent and changeable day lights, if you do not love neither dolphins who swim nor the squirrels or the monkey who pass, if you do not like either the delicious cooking, or delicious people, in brief, if you do not like meeting a piece of heaven which you will not like leaving, do not go to Blooming Bay...

Monsieur Untel, songwriter, guitarist and singer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Untel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at Blooming Bay. Firstly let me apologize for the delayed response.
There has been a change in management and I will be running the property directly.

The gardens, the coconut groves, the hammocks are all still there! We have just made the place a lot greener and cleaner!

We look forward to your visit on your next trip to Varkala and sincerely appreciate your effort to take time to write this review.

Warm regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We loved this place,and after 3 trips to Varkala over the years it's by far the best place I've stayed.The food is splendid,Indian with a Gallic flair you might say,and the welcome warm,we were treated like friends by Corrine,Maya and Aishoo the Labrador pup. The rooms are pretty luxurious for the price and spotlessly clean but the best thing is the view from your balcony if you have one of the upstairs rooms.If not you can get equally wonderful sea views from the vast lush garden leading from the rooms to the cliff edge while you chill on your hammock.You are lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves crashing on the shore below and the cool breeze through your open balcony doors means you don't need to use the a/c. There are great little gazebos on the cliff edge where you're served your breakfast.The beach is a short stroll down the hill and it's the loveliest stretch,minimal hassle and away from the lonely planet generation.The hotel is at the southern limit of south beach but it's only a stroll down the beach to the action when the tide's out enough,which is most of the time,and anyway the place is self-contained with everything you need for a relaxing time and there's also a great restaurant nearby on the clifftop,the Lotus. Oh and they do the yoga stuff too. Lovely place,especially for couples. Great beds.

Room Tip: Top floor for great views and breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingJim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly let me apologize for this extremely delayed response. There has been a change in the management and I will be in-charge directly moving forward.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Blooming Bay and I shall pass on your good wishes to the staff as well.

We have now done a lot of work on the lawns, gardens, restaurant and have also developed an inhouse vegetable garden in the area right next to the restaurant. We now have an indoor Table Tennis room, a reading room, a full fledged Ceramic and lifestyle studio etc.

We look forward to your continued support and to your visit to Blooming Bay on your next visit to Varkala.

Warm regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I spent few days at Blooming Bay resort when they where not officially open , the property is tucked away from the main beach, beautiful view, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the manager very helpful and the food is ok,
nice to walk from the beach or the cliff to the main part of town.

Room Tip: I was in the room 206 upstairs very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cris695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Blooming Bay. Sincerely apologize for t he delayed response. There has been a change in the management and now we are running the property ourselves.

We have done a lot of work on the gardens, lawns, restaurant and have also developed an in house vegetable garden right next to the restaurant.

We now have an indoor Table Tennis room, a reading room, a ceramic and lifestyle studio etc at the resort.

We looking forward to you being our guest at Blooming Bay on your next visit to Varkala.

Warm regards
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irinayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abraham L, Owner at Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.8 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
2.3 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
954 reviews
1.8 mi away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort

Address: Chilakkoor P o Beach Road | Kerala, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: £37 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort, Varkala is perched atop the 150 feet cliff, having a 200 feet beach frontage, with a 180 degree panoramic view of the Arabian Sea. Spread across 2.5 Acres, the resort has sprawling lawns, beautiful gardens and a lush coconut grove that gives you the ideal recipe for a perfect, relaxing holiday. The Resort has 12 well appointed double bedrooms and 3 cottages. All the rooms are sea-facing and gives you a good view of the Aliyirakkam Beach. The music orchestrated by the waves hitting the rocks and the beach is pure magic. We offer personalized care at our Certified Ayurvedic Spa with qualified doctors and trained masseurs. Personalised yoga classes are also arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooming Bay - Clifftop Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing