We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort in Odayam!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Good Karma Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was such a beautiful surprise for us. We had come to Odayam a few years back and were shocked to see how the place has been spoiled by construction, Then we found Good Karma Beach resort and we knew that there is still something nice in Odayam.
The rooms are spacious and clean, the garden is lush and we loved our porch, Daniela, the lady who runs it, decorated each room with some a special touch. She was there to answer questions, call a rickshaw for us when we needed one, without interfering.

We lounged on the roof terrace looking at the sea, reading our books and felt protected, in a safe place. There was a fridge available for the guests, so we often bought our own fruit for lunch.
The beach is 5 minutes walk and the Cliff just 15 minutes away.

This is a special place, and we recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Odayam.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannaharristrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

In January 2013 I stayed in this 'Home away from Home' and was very happy about the beautifully and individually styled rooms, the roof terrace and the many shady spots for relaxing in the well tended garden.
The Homestay is run by friendly and efficient Daniela who has many good connections to auto-, taxi drivers, shop owners and a great ayurvedic doctor.
German, English and French are spoken.
Quiet Odayam Beach is just a 2 minute walk away, and 3 good restaurants with daily offers of fresh fish are within easy walking distance right at the beach.
Great value for money!
Irene (Germany)

Room Tip: The 4 rooms with balcony and sea view are the best and coolest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank indravati108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I love this place. The rooms are colorfull designed and clean and quiet. From the balcony you have a beautifull view into the garden with coconut trees, banana trees...and to the sea. You can enjoy your balcony - nobody can see you there from outside so that you can feel free there. The toproof is a good place for Yoga. Daniela, the owner from Germany, is very nice and friendly and helps you to find whatever you need. All together there is a spirtitual and peacefull atmosphere. And it is just a small walk to the beach where you find nice restaurants and the most beautifull beach in Varkala.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Andrea U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights. On arrival it was very clean with nice looking rooms. It's very close to the beach and some restaurants. The roof balcony area has real potential but could do with a lick of paint. They have cold water showers but to be honest we were grateful of this as it was roasting. Our room was only cleaned once in the 11 days we were there - we weren't expecting it to be cleaned everyday but more than once would have been nice! There wasn't really much service to speak of and the one time we asked them to sort a rickshaw for us to our early train they assured us they would but in fact totally forgot. I think this place is a good cheap option for maybe just 3 or 4 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine78Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

A fantastic little hotel with cosy, comfortable rooms.

The owners have paid a lot of attention to the details here and are very friendly and helpful.

Unlike some places, it would be easy to spend all day here, with plenty of sunny and shady places to relax in the garden.

Stayed in Jan 2012.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJ_and_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

very very clean, very nice with a garden and big roof, quiet and just near one of the more beautiful beach of Kerala, very friendly, what hope more? i recommand it and hope your holiday will be as wonderful as mine were

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandrinelarouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: vælg det første værelse, nedenfor trappen. Det har den bedste udsigt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 120 in Varkala
434 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#26 of 52 in Varkala
302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Karma Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Karma Beach Resort

Address: Odayam Beach Road, Varkala, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: £9 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Karma Beach Resort is located in the small fishermen village of Odayam, 15 minutes North of Varkala Cliff. Our resort is surrounded by coconut trees, just 200 meters from a beautiful quiet beach. Enjoy the privacy of our peaceful garden, courtyard and roof terrace, overlooking the beauty of the sea. Our rooms:4 double rooms with sea view. 2 double room overlooking our beautiful courtyard. All rooms have bathrooms attached, balcony, ceiling fan and mosquito nets. Check in: 2 PM Checkout: 12 Noon. We offer free wi-fi internet connection to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Good Karma Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing