We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location.”
Review of Palm Tree Annex

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palm Tree Annex
Ranked #28 of 103 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Palm Tree Annex was great, we had awesome service and were well looked after. In close proximity to the North Cliff where you will find restaurants, yoga and shopping. Really nice looking hotel by the water. Safwan, a staff member, was very helpful and pleasant during our stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ZuleikhaKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Annex, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

After an early (and delayed!) train journey to Varkalla we arrived at the Palm Tree Annex and were welcomed with many smiles and a refreshing drink.

We were shown to our room in the annex with a superb sea view. The room was fully equipped - AC, hot water, fridge, four poster bed everything you would expect.

Like the review mentioned before, the annex is literally next door to the Palm Tree Heritage and is linked by a small pathway. The hotel has a private beach and one of the best restaurants we ate in whilst in India. Thoroughly recommend the fish curry and coconut rice :)

I cannot give enough praise to ALL the staff at this hotel. They are what made our experience at this hotel so enjoyable. They looked after us very well and even let us join their game of cricket during sunset...amazing!!!

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and am already looking forward to making a return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank travel_mel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Annex, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend travelled Kerala and having stayed at 6 different hotels, Varkala was our final stop and all i can say is 'WOW - what a great way to end the trip!'. Palm Tree Annex is part of Palm Tree Heritage - the apartment itself is only a stone's throw away from main hotel reception and restaurant.

Upon arrival the staff were full of smiles, so attentive and helpful - the hotel manager, Babu gave us such a warm welcome, introducing us to his staff (including Annex manager, Safwan) - all great english speakers. The vibe from Babu and his staff was professional, honest, natural and laid-back and our stay got better each day. The room was clean complete with 4 poster-bed, balcony, shower with hot water, towels, fridge & complimentary bottled water).

The location is great, relaxing, calm and peaceful. The North Cliff is only (5min walk) - this is where all the tourist's and shops are. You can choose to go to busy beach by the cliff but i loved the private beach right by hotel.

The food was the best i had! I recommend coconut rice, fish curry, chicken pakora, red snapper fish cooked in banana leave washed down with their freshly made mango, carrot & ginger juice - AMAZING!

On our day of departure, we had a 4am flight from Trivandrum. Not only did Babu offer us a room for reduced rate (since we were not staying whole night), his staff arranged for taxi to take us to airport. We shared taxi with another guest and split the cost - a win win for everyone!

I highly recommend this hotel to couples, backpackers, families, friends - everyone! Thanks again to all Palm Tree's hospitality and i look forward to visiting Varkala in near future!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 650Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Annex, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at palm tree annex Odyam beach .My room was spotless with a 4 poster bed ,aircon , a fridge and a lovely balcony facing the sea .The staff were friendly ,helpful and courteous .The food in the restaurant was great and there was wifi available there too.Its a fab walk along beach to the cliff top in Varkala ,but advisable to maybe book a rickshaw at night as it's dark .I already can't wait to go back ..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziewooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Annex, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location is perfect being just away from the busy tourist area and offers good walking along the coastal path in both directions. We were made most welcome, meals were very good with fresh seafood on offer every day. Staff were most courteous and very helpful, even organising our onward trip. Massar was charming, he tried to repair my hairdryer and accompanied us at 2am to the train station to ensure we got on the train successfully! Rooms were clean and comfortable with a balcony over looking the sea. We ending up staying for 4 days!
J and S - England

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Annex, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here with family - palm tree heritage was fully booked so had to stay in the Anex part. The part about this property is the location - it is away from the tourist circus - almost like in a quiet little fishing village. Its very peaceful and serene and the property is 5 ft away from the sea. Food at the restaurant is good and reasonably cheap. The rooms facing the sea (the corner rooms) are the best for a good sea view. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Only downside is - no generator at the anex so if there is an outage, then prepare yourself for some darkness and also the power voltage keeps jumping. Not the best for the air conditioning. However I will def come back and stay here. The location is just too good to ignore.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suhritk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Annex, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Location just wonderful and the rooms were so sweet and comfy. I loved the layout, so relaxed and away from all the busy-ness of town life; although town was very nearby. The main resort was a short walk along the beach road where the restaurant was so amazing at night with the dining tables on the sand facing the Arabian Sea. Stunning. We could watch the fishermen haul in their catches in the morning and we would eat the most amazing meals at sunset. Seriously awesome. Something very special happened to us there and we will be brought back for sure. A huge thank you to everyone but a special thanks goes to Mohammed who makes sure those of us at the Annex are his personal guests. He was always there for us. Great breakfasts (included) in the open restaurant where it's easy to laze away the morning.

Room Tip: My room did not face the water but it didn't matter because as soon as I walked out the door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
77babu, Owner at Palm Tree Annex, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Friend, Hope everything is OK. Thank you so much for the beautiful review. Its help us with the business a lot. We will wait for the next opportunity look after you and your family. Please visit us again and enjoy our little paradise. Thanks & Regards Babu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
966 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.7 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#33 of 103 in Varkala
52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#12 of 52 in Varkala
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Annex

Address: Odayam Beach | Edava, Varkala 695311, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: £40 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Little paradise is one of the best beach Resort with private beach access in Varkala with exotic rooms restaurant,service and hospitality,So enjoy in our little paradise and feel the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Tree Annex Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing