We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Sherin Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sherin Cottage
Ranked #51 of 102 Varkala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed for three nights and were very happy with the spacious room and cleanliness.

Breakfast was a wee bit basic; coffee, 8 slices of toast and 6-7 bananans. This might be due to the place not really having opened properly for the season yet. Enough food to get energy for the short walk to the cliff though.

Electricity was very unstable. Maybe because of the storm that also cut out the internet a few weeks prior to our stay.

Owner was not there, but we heard good things about him and the atmosphere he creates at the place during the season.

Would definitely stay here again.

There were also quite a few guidebooks lying around which might be helpful in further travelplanning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had a wonderful time in Varkala! Me and my wife spent 5 days in Sherin Cottage, as part of our two-month Indian trip. Our double room (top floor on the right) was basic, but the cleaning lady did a pretty good job. There's a nice balcony, and a top-terrace we used to dry our clothes. The back garden is not extremely well-maintained but there is a hammock, a table and some chairs where you can have a nice breakfast, all under the huge palm trees. The manager, Deepak, is a definite plus! WiFi didn't work in our room, but was ok in the top level hallway.
The location is good, close to the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Ground rooms have good WiFi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I really don't understand all the amazing and positive reviews this place has got? The reviews I read on a variety of sites prior to booking stated things such as 'free breakfast', 'hammocks in the garden', 'fastest wifi' and 'really clean'. We didn't experience any of these things when we stayed. There is no breakfast, there are no hammocks and the garden is a derelict piece of land. Although the room wasn't particularly dirty, it was by no means clean. Limited linen was provided, no toilet roll and a constant stream of ants lived in our bathroom. The room had mesh on the windows but this was not secured and we had the unwelcome visit of a huge cockroach in the middle of the night.

We had booked four nights, but left after one.

The only real plus point of this place is the price.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank danhux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The rooms are basic but spotless and there's lots of communal areas and a balcony area. The place is really laid back and breakfasts are eaten in the garden and it's only a few minutes away from the sea. The best thing about the place is the guy who runs it Deepak. He's really friendly and helpful, I arrived straight from the airport having had my wallet stolen on the plane. He couldn't have been nicer, he told me not to worry about paying for the room straight away and even offered to lend me some money. It really feels like you're staying at a mate's place rather than a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Отель интересен тем, что там останавливаются в-основном иностранцы, в большинстве англоговорящие, оч...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank svolodin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea m, Direttore generale at Sherin Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: на 1 этаже номер меньше по размеру и рядом с общей гостиной, возможен шум. На втором этаже просторно...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 552,111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
954 reviews
0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#22 of 52 in Varkala
290 reviews
0 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#33 of 102 in Varkala
51 reviews
0 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#10 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherin Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherin Cottage

Address: Thiruvambadi Road, Varkala, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: £10 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Description Situated just 5 minutes from the crowds of the cliff scene, newly remodeled Sherin Cottage offers peaceful homestyle living. P Perfect for groups and retreats, all bedrooms have private baths, screened windows & fans. We also have internet and STD phone for your convenience. Our garden is the perfect place to enjoy breakfast, do yoga or just lounge in one of the hammocks. We have Wi- Fi free for you also ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sherin Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherin Cottage Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing