We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

What a sweet hotel. I requested an airport pickup and the manager came to the airport to meet me. A personal touch I found so endearing.
The bedrooms are very clean, I put a little vase on my balcony and the cleaner Sushama would fill it with fresh flowers every day.This hotel stands out because of special touches like these. You are made to feel so welcome.
It is a few minutes away from the beautiful Papanasam beach and all the shops and cafes. In this hotel you will get a restful nights sleep along with a friendly, professional service.
I

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are cooler in temperature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmtree o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    11
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
30
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in the hotel in early November 2013 and found the hotel a lovely haven.I had stayed before and was not dissapointed with my second stay.The manager Saleem was professional, friendly, extremely friendly and spoke fluent English.The location is perfect, a very short walk to the beach, shops, restaurants.Varkala is a beautiful town and this is a great hotel.
The rooms are clean, fan cooled and mosquito netting on each window.
The hotel is also undertaking a refurbishment which will be ready in time for the new season.Great value for money too.Highly reccomended.I will visit again this year.

Room Tip: there are seaview rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livvyinthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

While this hotel is on the outskirts of the beach area it is a really good option for a budget traveller. The rooms and beds are clean and well kept, personnel friendly and helpful. The name can be a little misleading for people expecting a european type of "resort" so use a little common sense when setting your expectations for a 10 EUR/ night room...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaljuorav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We had originally planned to stay for three nights but left after one because this place was so bad and the worst place we stayed during our 3 weeks in India.

Here's what's wrong - the surrounds of the hotel, too much litter, burning rubbish fires with smoke drifting into the room etc.

The rooms - battered furniture, rock hard bed, cracked mirror, no soap or toilet paper, cracked mirror, holes in sheets and pillowcase, stained towels etc. No hot water (even though we had paid extra for an upstairs room that was supposed to have it).

Roof terrace - a joke! Concrete wasteland with broken furniture, have a look at the photos to see for yourself.

Very poor location - no sea view and away from the beaches.

So we looked for something else and easily found much better value, quality and location without any pre-booking in high season.

When we told them we were leaving they were distraught at the loss of money and tried to insist we pay for the 3 nights even though we were under no obligation to do so and were very unhappy.

When we did check out we reminded them that we had paid extra for non-existent hot water so they should give us a reduction, but apparently this wasn't possible!

In summary a very bad experience so don't stay there!! We read the other reviews for this place and it now makes us wonder who could have written the positive ones about this dump?!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank LewisHawarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia P, Owner at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am sorry that you do not feel you had a good experience at Paradise Beach Resort.All the issues you had have been adressed.Paradise is now under new management and are untaking a complete refurbishment for our season opening on 20th August.Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The positive thing with this place is that the staff is helpful and friendly. The beds are extremely hard. The sheets may have hole. One of the room had cockroaches.The "resort" is situated at the back-doors of other hotels and restaurants, and they throw their garbage here and sometimes put it on fire.
I can understand that someone on low budget want to stay here and may think it is a good value. But during New Year they took 4-5.000 INR. You pay the same price for Rendezvous that is much much better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HH-gurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia P, Owner at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am sorry for your bad experience.We are undergoing a complete refurbishment under new management.We are also undergoing a price adjustment also.We have new mattresses also.Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are overpriced. Rooms not clean. Stuff is friendly but not very professionel. Stuff lived mext to our room and mad lot of noises. Beds are unconfortable. Location is good. No toilet paper. No garden

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lukasfleischli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia P, Owner at Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I am sorry for your bad experience.We are now under new management and would like to apologise for the treatment you received.We are undertaking a complete refurbishment and hope you would give our hotel another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hotel and room were very clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. The location is excellent if you want to be near all the restaurants, bars, shops, etc. Nice swimming pool too. Only negative was the pressure to buy ayurvedic treatments from the in-house ayurvedic therapist, but apart from that, everyone else was friendly. You'll want to stay a long time once you get here :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Jairam Cafe & Guest House
Jairam Cafe & Guest House
#12 of 98 in Varkala
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puthooram Ayurvedic Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Divine Bliss Beach Resort
Divine Bliss Beach Resort
#40 of 98 in Varkala
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Keratheeram Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#24 of 50 in Varkala
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#31 of 98 in Varkala
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Resort

Property: Paradise Beach Resort
Address: Beach Road | Thiruvambadi, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set back from the cliff face and surrounded by coconut trees, Paradise Beach Resort offers 12 clean and spacious, fan-cooled rooms. Located at the quiet end of the North Cliff, towards Black Beach, the guesthouse is close to restaurants, yoga classes, shops, internet cafes and Ayurevedic Treatment Centres.Each room has natural light and a balcony for you to relax on. You are also welcome to enjoy the sunset or do your yoga practice from our roof top garden. Three rooms have sea views and all upstairs rooms offer hot as well as cold water.Our goal is to make your stay in Varkala as enjoyable as possible and we are happy to help you. We rent bikes and a scooter,we offer tours and help you with tickets for your onward journey. We are also happy to provide recommendations for restaurants, yoga classes, local sights and ayurvedic treatments.We have recently undertaken a complete refurbishment.We welcome you at Paradise Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing