We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury,calm and quiet place, nice view,very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“luxury,calm and quiet place, nice view,very good service”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

i visited this hotel during my sisters wedding. i was working in abu dhabi, and needed a place to relax and to enjoy. i chose this hotel. the service was excellent. this hotel has a nice view. clean and hygienic. i love it. staff's are very polite and friendly. very nice swimming pool and the restaurant.

Room Tip: suite rooms on the top floor are very good and little expensive, also the ground floor one are havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lichierock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    266
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
278
299
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a touring holiday in kerala. We had treated ourselves by booking a suite but, although a large lounge and bedroom it was very antiquated and the en suite was the worst we came across in India. I had to get a hairdrier that worked and no way would I have sat in the bath. Renovation work is going on at the hotel, work meant to finish by 6.00p.m but we made 4 phone calls after 10.00p,m to ask for work to stop - it was vibrating the wall with the headboard on. It only stopped after we phsically went down to reception. It also meant that if you sat round the swimming pool all you could hear was drilling and building work. We had to pay for the internet to book in on line for our flight home.
It is as trange walk to the beach so we used to get a tuk tuk to The Cliff where we found lovely places to eat. I will compliement the chef at the Gateway for some excellent food, especailly on our last night, and actually the food wasnt as overpriced here as in some other hotels we used in India.

Room Tip: make sure you get a renovated room as far as possible from the building works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Gateway hotel is an absolutely gem of a place. Once you arrive the staff are so wonderful that they take care of everything for you, we were shown to our room which was perfect, a huge king size bed, a bathroom with a massive walk in shower and all the toiletries you could want, large tv with hundreds of channels and a lovely balcony with views to die for. The pool was fabulous, so big and most of the time we had it all to our self. The restaurant/bar was the best ever, we've never had so much choice for food anywhere, and everything was cooked fresh. Best of all were the staff, they treated us like royalty, nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kozhencherry,kerala
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

stayed here for 1 night in the newly refurbished rooms. the room was excellent with a view of the pool n garden. the sea is a bit far-off. location of the hotel is good. however activities within the hotel apart from the pool is nil. the food both for dinner and breakfast was poor.really bad.not at all to taj standards,however i have to say i slept wonderfully,the bed was so soft n relaxing

Room Tip: choose the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyvarghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

At the end of a month touring in India, I treated myself to 3 days of relaxing at The Gateway. I took advantage of the 3 nights for 2 ( Monsoon) deal. The staff were all charming and the restaurant was first class. The Manager was very concerned about my comfort Fresh flowers were scattered on my bed every night and beautiful spice scented toiletries were replenished daily. The bed was easily the most comfortable I have ever slept on and the view from my window was spectacular. I will be back

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reims, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The hotel was very fine and all the staff was completely with us. Wonderful rooms : king size bed, huge bathroom, channels from all around the world, beautiful view in the hotel. The swimming pool was very nice and we have taken pineapple juice in our transats WOW !!
Some details could be erase it nonetheless : Internet was very expansive (and not free so on), we didn't have hot water (what's a pity for this kind of hotel) and we wait a long time before than the staff serve us in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flow72230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I have stayed in Gateway Hotel. The Hotel is around one hour drive away from Trivandrum. This is the coolest place to stay from Mad rush and you can watch sea from Your room and Lush green trees. I wud luv to stay in the Hotel if given a chance. One can take a stroll or Auto and visit neary by Cliff for cheap and best foold. Its really a value for Money to stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing room which also faces Swimming pool too, which are a bit with extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InderSAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Property: The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing