We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Varkala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Varkala”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

it's one of the nicest places to stay in this small beach town. Walkable from the beach and the temple, it has an amazing view of the sea. The rooms are cozy and spacious. Staff is very friendly and polite. Breakfast buffet is good too with lots of options on the menu. Must visit place for a good trip with family or spouse. The hotel taxi is a bit expensive so make your own local arrangements for the same.

Room Tip: Take a pool/Beach view room on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieGipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    261
    61
    23
    13
See reviews for
270
295
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great hospitality, Spectacular view, Gorgeous property, Humble and Helpful Staff. PERFECT choice for a stay in Varkala. Overlooking the Arabian Sea, the charming hotel is a lush green property, with a lovely pool. The restaurants all well equipped and the head chef made sure to send these small sweet surprise treats to our room every day we returned from our day outs. It was lovely, the chocolate pastries dripping with hot chocolates or the vanilla cake looking like a teddy bear customized with my daughters name. I could order just about anything for my kid, in the menu or not, the chef made sure it would be there. I really appreciate the concern/ the warmth. The housekeeping was amazingly creative. Every-time we returned from breakfast we were welcomed to a beautiful, fresh smelling room, with a lovely white towel and red-yellow wild flowers sculpture on our bed. Dog/ elephants/ pigs/ boats...wow, very interesting and intriguing. The pool had a full time guard, a middle aged gentleman, very polite and attentive to the kid. The travel desk staff so ever helpful to suggest the best places to see and their suggestions were good. The beach was a easy step down from the hotel, quiet accessible. For the Kappil beach and the other's we hired a hotel cab - expensive but worth it. Also moved around in the auto from hotel to the cliff-Tibetan market. The auto driver was so helpful he gave me his mobile number, and would appear out of nowhere in flat 10 minutes anytime I called. Since we were in Varkala in the first week of June, it was heavily raining. But it was beautiful. I have never enjoyed rain so much. I tried shopping at the Tibetan market thrice but every time I reached there...it started pouring. People actually start running in, just looking up at the sky, and then withing 2 minutes its starts pouring. Thanks to the rain we got to sit the cafe and enjoy hot and fresh pizza at the cafe del mar. Even though it was raining I managed to shop-a few Tibetan art pieces and jewelry and some coveralls. When at the hotel we had a good time playing around, played chess, carom , table tennis, ludo...tries the spa (didn't like it - only things that needs improvisation) . Advise there are lots of mosquito in the lobby area, so while you are playing games with your family there or just reading the book while watching the sunset---apply mosquito repellent or use mosquito patches. Hotel Transfers are always expensive, so was our transfer from Varkala to Cherthala. Overall a very satisfactory experience. Loved it. The room was super comfortable. Accessibility from hotel to all beaches, markets, eat out is very good ! The Awesome Hospitality is the High-point. As our stay ended at Varkala, we wished to stay longer. A true Kerala holiday is incomplete without a stay at Varkala. Even though we were there during off season, and could not enjoy the beach sports/ activities or the beach bazaars...varkala was still so interesting...just imagine how good it would be at season time. Looking forward to visiting again- this time during season time ! Oh while leaving my daughter was gifted this necklace made of shells...that she was thrilled about. She wore it around her neck the entire day, and still has it safe in her jewelry box. Lovely Holiday.

Room Tip: Sea Facing !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GopikaAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamnagar, India
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights,it is a fabulous hotel.
The rooms are quite spacious with good views and the bathrooms are also good.
The swimming pool is also good, especially e bar at pool.
It is a great value for money hotel and also maintains the Taj experience.

Room Tip: Take the sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikesh_Vassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here back in March. We found the hotel through recommendations at other places in Varkala. We were looking for somewhere with a pool & a bit of Luxury after a terrible houseboat experience!
The Gateway was great. We stayed 2 nights. The pool was nice, breakfast was good. It's only a short walk down some steps and along the beach to the town where there are lots of shops and internet cafes. Or the hotel can call a rickshaw/taxi for you.
The hotel is maybe not as grand as it once was but is very clean & has large rooms with balconies/gardens overlooking the pool.
Stay away from the local fish curry in the hotel restaurant it is blow your head off hot! It actually made a friend of mine very sick. Everything else in the restaurant is OK but you also have a lot of options for food in the town.
I would definitely recommend it if you are staying in the area, it was the nicest place we found!
When we left the lovely staff came out with us to say goodbye and gave each of the girls a coconut shell candle as a gift. It was a really nice touch!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

An excellent hotel, well maintained, clean wonderful service and good location. We could get a lovely view of the sea from sea view room no. 205. It also had a wonderful sit out to enjoy the view and sip tea.

Some rooms have a small garden I noticed.

The location is good, quite close to the action packed cliff which was just a walking distance from the hotel. The Papanasam beach and black beach was also just some steps and a short walk from the hotel. Though very little of the Papanasam beach was visible during the monsoon and funeral rites takes place there.

The main action seems to be on the cliff which is lined by cafes, restaurants and hotels on one side and the view of the sea from the cliff on the other side! saw a lovely sunset.

Varkala has a helipad from where one gets a nice view as well. The taxi stand is situated here.

The resort has a nice pool. The breakfast was good with a lot of variety. we had some lovely puttu and kadala curry, staeming idlis with lovely chutneys and nei roast.

The joy of travelling doubles up if one can savor the flavors of the region which could be very different from the food of one's region. And that's the fun.

The service was very good. we got a warm reception and send off. Everything was done to perfection. After all its run by Taj who are in the business for over a century and have perfected the art of hospitality!

Sometimes hotel sites offer better rates than travel portals and sometimes its the other way round. So its good to check.

A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: choose sea view room for a lovely view of the sea from the room and sit out. Room no. 205 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desai66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Great hospitality.great food.thank you bijoy for all the lovely delicacies especially the desert.even the presentation of the dish was very innovative.
Thank you bijoy
We also liked the creative mind behind the animals made out of simple hand towels.this was simething we had never seen before
Thanks to vishnu abhinav and all other staff who made our stay very relaxing
Thank you mr khanna

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kala0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

good hotel on the hilltop with seafacing rooms. WOnderful catching the sea and the rains out of your window and perfect place to just sip away your drink at night. was with my family and my son had a whale of time in the swimiing pool. Joemon and Pradeep from the staff make you feel at home and there are some activities for kids , indoor , which will engage them. overall a nice experience and my family was happy at the end of their stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vm0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#9 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Property: The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing