We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for Varkala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good choice for Varkala”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Varkala is a small place, with little to do at.
the beach is not really welcoming bathing.

therefore, the choice to take a good hotel is the smartest thing to do.
if you want to enjoy the Cliff's life - you're just taking a 5- minutes tuk tuk ride.

the hotel is a five star hotel - excellent rooms (Taj Level), shower was huge, the bed is very comfortable.
you have an exit from your room to the pool area - very nice.

Food is good, though not cheap.

Generally speaking - recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you during your recent stay, pleasure was ours. Your compliments on our hotel , pool and the food motivates us to set higher standards and serve our discerning guests better.

Best regards from all of us at Varkala while we look forwrd for your future visits.

Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    266
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
278
299
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had been there on the monsoon offer package for 2 days and 2 nights. We stayed in the sea view rooms. The place was good, well located. Just 3 kms from Varkala railway station. Local taxis and auto rickshaws take you to the hotel for a reasonable charge (ofcourse hotel's pickup was at a premium rate). Buffet breakfast and dinner were awesome, and had very good spread. We asked for a kerala speciality in one breakfast and the chef readily accomodated our request the next day.
Hotel had badminton, TT, tennis, chess, carrom, and a lovely swimming pool. We spent the evenings in the pool.
The beach stretch as such is not long. We were there on the weekend following Onam, and the beach for full with the local crowd on Sunday evening. However, it was pleasant on Monday morning with very less people. The hotel is a little away from the beach. You can just view the sea from the hotel and not the beach. Had there been a private beach belonging to the hotel, it woudl have been wholesome experience.
We also visited Kappil beach, went for boating in the backwaters. Boating was okayish, but the beach was very good, with backwaters on one side sea on the other side.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to serve you during your recent stay with us.
We are glad you have had an excellent stay , while we thank you for sharing your experiences we
look forward to have you with us on your future visits.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Best place to stay at Varkala. Good food and service. Close to the beach and North Cliff. Lovely view from your balcony. Calm and serene. Perfect for a couple on a long weekend getaway.

Suggestion, stay at the higher floor which is the sea view. The garden view is not worth it.

Great service from the staff.

Something that amused me is the tiny little way that leads yiu to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MlleMyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have your getaway with us. We are glad that you have had an excellent stay and thank you for your compliments. With regard to the feedback on the garden view you may be rest assured that we would work on the horticulture and make it more pleasanter.

Thank you once again as we look forward for your future visits.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with a 2 year old & can't be complaining. The location is a short walk to beach and the cliff both, so quite ideal in that manner. the rooms have been renovated & give a sense of space. The food is delicious & the chef (Bijoy)was happy to recommend and customise. Very friendly staff with a special mention to Abhinav, who was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vkaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent stay with us . We are glad that you have found our rooms comfortable and the food beyond your expectations.Many thanks for sharing your experience and also highlighting key members who delivered’ moments of truth’ .

Best regards from all of us while we look forward for your future visits

Suresh Khanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshedpur, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A small family can enjoy without any fear. Blueness of Arabian Sea gives cool mind, never for got the area. Pavanasini water from the hill side, Vishnu Temple and other pilgrim area develops spiritual thoughts in mind. Very wonderful place to visit with family or solo.

Room Tip: First Floor South side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil_vettiyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Gateway in Varkala is a very good choice ... a very friendly and helpful staff, fantastic surruoundings - in the middle of a trimmed jungle area and a world class swimming pool ...wauww this is a place worth visiting...

Not much to do outside the hotelarea ... but a lot of facilities at the hotel ...take a table tennis tour or a chess match it is all in the middle of the reception hall ... the hotel is very beautiful decorated, all in all coordinating ti the fantastic gardens around the hotel ...big compliments to the management and all staff ... pls finish up the renovation of the rooms, so that the noise can be illiminated. Big compliments to the Chef in the kitcehn - and a great thanks for the help with the gold-shopping in the city

Thank You everyone ... we will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

everything was fine, fine rooms, excellent food, service good, toilets etc good. hot and cold waters available. soap shampoo etc provided and excellent quality. staffs are nice. we enjoyed a lot in this hotel.

Room Tip: the room where i stay was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jose_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Property: The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing