We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great pool, not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in a garden room. A very good standard with large rooms. Very clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant was not so good. Breakfast seemed to be wrong every day in some way, but they usually spotted it and brought something to make it a bit like what you'd ordered! Dinner was better, but the food was nothing special. The cocktails were excellent, chilli vodka is something to go there just to try!
The pool is really good. We went at a very quiet time so no pool bar but a man appeared when we went in the pool with towels and would no doubt have got us drinks if we had asked.
The downside is that all the restaurants and shops are on the north cliff, and this hotel isn't. It's not far to walk but the path is unlit. A 50R 5minute tuktuk ride gets you there, but after 10pm there often aren't any tuktuks to take you back, so get the restaurant to call you one before you leave! All that said, it's not a big problem.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank AlanReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback. We are glad you have had a pleasant stay. Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve, understanding and catering to the needs of our esteemed guests and I am thankful to you for taking time out to highlight the gaps.

We look forward to have you stay with us during your future visits while we assure you of marked improvement during your future visits.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Fantastic resort and best to experience it just before the season starts. We went end of September and got the amazing off season rates. The season starts from Oct 1st. The beach is about 200 mts walk from the resort but this beach is not ideal for bathing. The cliff are with the action is about 5 min ride in a an auto and the hotel staff itself will get you an auto if asked for. The rooms are amazing and the staff are exceptionally good with the service. The higher up rooms have a great view of the beach but unfortunately there is no lift so you have to keep walking up and down. The food for breakfast is the usual mix of indian and continental but the lunch with the local delights of tapioca and fish curry was awesome. We were celebrating a birthday and they had arranged for a small cake and a glass of champagne for all of us. We had 2 small children and the we did not face any issues at all. The swimming pool is nice with a small kids pool and there is a pool bar as well, which lets u relax in the pool while sipping you beer!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMVignesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Mr Vignesh

Thank you for your recent stay with us , we are glad that you have had a great one and look forward for an opporunity to serve you in the coming times !

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a really good time in Gateway, Varkala which is located very well, accessible easily from the railway station or the airport and also in close proximity to the Varkala cliff and beach. Even though we showed up about 2 hours earlier than scheduled check-in, the front desk managed to get us a room within 15 minutes of our arrival. Rooms were brilliant and comfortable and it took us a great deal of willpower to actually get out of them and actually take a look around the Varkala area.

Room service was fast, efficient and courteous. And the food was fabulous though a bit on the pricey side, which is to be expected in a hotel like this. The front desk was always ready to help arrange transport in and around the city and that really helped as well.

All told, it was a great stay and would love to visit again for a longer stay around monsoon!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask the front desk to give you a room around which no construction/repairs are going o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckystryker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation of the hotel , the food and the associates. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and serve you .We have noted your feedback on the allocation of room and you may be rest assured we have taken care of the same .

We look forward to have you with us on your future visits .

Thank You
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Varkala is a small place, with little to do at.
the beach is not really welcoming bathing.

therefore, the choice to take a good hotel is the smartest thing to do.
if you want to enjoy the Cliff's life - you're just taking a 5- minutes tuk tuk ride.

the hotel is a five star hotel - excellent rooms (Taj Level), shower was huge, the bed is very comfortable.
you have an exit from your room to the pool area - very nice.

Food is good, though not cheap.

Generally speaking - recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ybz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you during your recent stay, pleasure was ours. Your compliments on our hotel , pool and the food motivates us to set higher standards and serve our discerning guests better.

Best regards from all of us at Varkala while we look forwrd for your future visits.

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had been there on the monsoon offer package for 2 days and 2 nights. We stayed in the sea view rooms. The place was good, well located. Just 3 kms from Varkala railway station. Local taxis and auto rickshaws take you to the hotel for a reasonable charge (ofcourse hotel's pickup was at a premium rate). Buffet breakfast and dinner were awesome, and had very good spread. We asked for a kerala speciality in one breakfast and the chef readily accomodated our request the next day.
Hotel had badminton, TT, tennis, chess, carrom, and a lovely swimming pool. We spent the evenings in the pool.
The beach stretch as such is not long. We were there on the weekend following Onam, and the beach for full with the local crowd on Sunday evening. However, it was pleasant on Monday morning with very less people. The hotel is a little away from the beach. You can just view the sea from the hotel and not the beach. Had there been a private beach belonging to the hotel, it woudl have been wholesome experience.
We also visited Kappil beach, went for boating in the backwaters. Boating was okayish, but the beach was very good, with backwaters on one side sea on the other side.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to serve you during your recent stay with us.
We are glad you have had an excellent stay , while we thank you for sharing your experiences we
look forward to have you with us on your future visits.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Best place to stay at Varkala. Good food and service. Close to the beach and North Cliff. Lovely view from your balcony. Calm and serene. Perfect for a couple on a long weekend getaway.

Suggestion, stay at the higher floor which is the sea view. The garden view is not worth it.

Great service from the staff.

Something that amused me is the tiny little way that leads yiu to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MlleMyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have your getaway with us. We are glad that you have had an excellent stay and thank you for your compliments. With regard to the feedback on the garden view you may be rest assured that we would work on the horticulture and make it more pleasanter.

Thank you once again as we look forward for your future visits.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with a 2 year old & can't be complaining. The location is a short walk to beach and the cliff both, so quite ideal in that manner. the rooms have been renovated & give a sense of space. The food is delicious & the chef (Bijoy)was happy to recommend and customise. Very friendly staff with a special mention to Abhinav, who was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vkaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent stay with us . We are glad that you have found our rooms comfortable and the food beyond your expectations.Many thanks for sharing your experience and also highlighting key members who delivered’ moments of truth’ .

Best regards from all of us while we look forward for your future visits

Suresh Khanna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £109 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing