We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time with a couple problems, but we'd return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
all around
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A good time with a couple problems, but we'd return”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Best hotel option in varkala, this one, though it's not without a few issues. The rooms are quite nice and clean, redone in modern colors and with cool showers. We had a nice sea view room but ended up lying awake as an air conditioner made an ungodly racket, like a super loud toilet perpetually flushing. It took them two days to deal with the issue and then they moved us into a room with lots of water damage on the walls. Management was just a bit off its game, though they did give is a discount after my husband caused a fuss; would have been better if it had been offered, not under duress... Anyway the pool is great and warm and the staff generally really sweet. Lots of kids were there, having a blast. You can walk to the cliffside or take a taxi for under a dollar. Views of Palm trees and ocean are great. It's hard to be stressed in this beach town. We'd go again though if in varkala.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysteryguestina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Varkala. Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve, understanding and catering to the needs of our esteemed guests and I am thankful to you for taking time out to highlight the gaps in our service delivery. It is with great concern I have made a note of your feedback , our assurances however are to provide the best of product to our discerning guest and therefore will continuously strive to provide the same.

Best regards as we look forward to have you with us on your future visits.

Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    266
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
278
299
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is the perfect example of how good hospitality and willingness of the staff to serve and make the stay of their guests comfortable can really overcome some of the minor negative points of the property.

The hotel does not have a private beach in fact the beach is 7-10 wins walk from the hotel, it was going under renovation but still it made our stay the best part of our trip to Kerala. I would like to highlight a couple of examples:

- We found some impurities in a glass of our regular water in their restaurant, so we were served mineral water through out our stay without asking.

- The chef would prepare something special for us for dinner as we were north indian vegetarians and did not like the dinner spread. Thank you chef!

- House keeping responded in 2-5 mins. It was like put down the phone and the door bell rings. Very prompt.

- The recently renovated hotel rooms are excellent with lots of space and modern furnishing.

- The pool area was also very neatly maintained with a pool bar always ready to serve you.

Choose this hotel if you want to relax and unwind. Just check in here and let the hotel staff take care of you.

Room Tip: Choose the recently renovated sea view rooms. Room 207 and 208 have the best sea view and have a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilesh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Mr Nilesh

Pleasure was ours to have served you during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that we have gone beyond your expectations and made your stay a memorable one. Your words of appreciation takes us a long way in setting higher standards and deliver them.

While customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve we are thankful to you for taking time out to highlight the same in our service delivery and look forward for your future visits.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I started my Kerala trip with a week's tour to see something of the country and was not disappointed. All the night stop" accommodation was excellent ranging from traditional houseboat to " homestay" and boutique hotels. My last two weeks were spent at the Gateway Hotel which proved an excellent choice. Without exception the staff were helpful and courteous and the rooms were of a high standard. Travelling solo it was pleasant to stay in a smaller hotel - only forty bedrooms - where management and staff went out of their way to make sure that I was comfortable and looked after. Food was great and varied and the head chef personally spoke to guests to discover their preferences. The pool was uncrowded and enjoyed a really good view over gardens to the sea beyond. I tried the spa for an Ayurveda massage which was very relaxing. The beach is good though sometimes rough to swim - many of the locals gather there; it is considered a very special place. Food is also good and cheap in the "village" behind the front. I loved Kerala and this hotel.

Room Tip: Because I travelled alone I asked for the upper floor - there were only two - the view overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliane1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Ms Eliane

Thank you for sharing your experiences on your recent stay with us . The team amd I are highly motivated with your kind words of appreciation and take this opportunity to assure you of the best of Taj hospitality in all times to come.

Best regards and look forward for your future visits

Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The staff in the Taj Varkala, the swimming pool and the food are definitely the highlights! The rooms are cosy (no great view) and swanky bathrooms. The pricing is very modest for a Taj property. The food is good, but the menu can be expanded, some more local flavor thrown in. The beach right in front of the hotel is not exactly a tourist spot as that is where people come to immerse ashes n do pooja. But the beautiful Varkala cliff is just a few minutes away. Catch an auto or cab to the cliff...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhanyaRajendran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Ms Rajendran

Thank you for your recent stay with us . The team along with me is glad to know you have had a memorable trip. Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve , we thank you for providing us your feedback as we look forward for the opportunity to welcoming you back while assuring you of the best of attention and service at all times.

Best Regards

Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwar (Rajasthan) India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed for five days in the first week of Oct 2013 with my wife. Small but very nice resort. Beautiful view of the swimming pool and the sea from the room. Very warm and hospitable staff. Always there to assist you -- the right word is pamper you ! Beach is a few mts walk from the resort. Suggest to spend more time by the side of the pool rather than beach as the beach is not exclusive for Taj guests. The Chef, Bijoy takes special care and makes dishes as per your choice and taste leaving the menu aside. Great ! Giving us packed breakfast at five in the morning for our journey was care and concern personified.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms having sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anubandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Mr Anubandh

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel , Varkala !

It was our pleasure to have you and family stay with us and provide us with an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted that to know that we have exceeded your expectations to make your stay a memorable one.

Your kind words of appreciation goes a long way in keeping us motivated , set higher standards and deliver them.

Our best regards while we look forward to have you stay with us on your future visits.

Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Me and my daughter started our Kerala break from here, and how pleasant was this. The staff were extremely courteous, we began with a welcome drink and a shell garland around each of our necks. Staying here was the best decision, it has easy access to the beach, small town, and a very safe place. The hotel stay was very comfortable. All the people right from the restaurant to the eat-in service and the spa staff were extremely friendly and made us feel totally at ease. If I ever visit Verkala again, then this will be my hotel of choice

Room Tip: Please opt for the sea facing rooms, the view is totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrivingtotheHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mam

It was our pleasure to have you and the family stay with us , thank you for choosing the Taj . We are delighted to know that you have had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. Your words of appreciation motivate us to set high standards and deliver them.

We look forward to have you stay with us on your future vists to Varkala !

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel end of August 2013.. Hotel was clean, staff were very helpful.. Location was a little out of the restaurant and shop areas.

Beach was a walk through gardens but not really suitable for swimming or sun Bathing.

Eleven of us were booked in and some of us paid for sea view rooms and also looked for a twin room. Only some of the group got a sea view room and there were no twin rooms. We were only told this when we arrived.
The restaurant was so mundane, always the same menu... They didn't have a Chardonnay wine available on the 2nd night so I asked if we could bring our own down to the dining room and we were willing to pay corkage...restaurant Manage or Bar Manager would not allow this.
Next evening the same thing happened..they knew we were coming ..it was a local wine and available in all the 'booze shops'
The pool area was very nice and the guy there was very pleasant and very helpful.

Room Tip: If you book a sea view make sure you get the 2nd Floor center. Very few rooms have actual sea view s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mirdiff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have you and your guests stay with us recently. We are thankful to you for taking time to highlight the gaps in our services . Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve , helps understand and cater to the needs of our esteemed guests. With regard to your feedback you may kindly note that we are in the process of upgrading our bar menu and soon would add a collection of international wine and liquor and take your suggestion on upgrading the existing all day dining, Eat-in (in room dining ) and the regional cuisine experience.On the accommdation , we would like to clarify that that the rooms alloted were as per the bookings received.

Trust you would provide us with another opportunity to serve you while we thank you and assure you of the best of attention and service at all times.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Property: The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing