We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property at a very beautiful beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Indore, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice property at a very beautiful beach!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great Place. We had option to either stay for 2 nights in Kovalam or Varkala and believe you me our decision to stay in Varkala was a very wise one. The Varkala beach lies at the bottom of a long stretch of cliff that's bordered by beach shacks ( not many ). You can stay right on the cliff ( plenty of shacks & shops also ), overlooking the ocean, or set back from it. It's incredibly romantic! We had excellent view of the ocean from our balcony. The Gateway hotel is a very nice property on the beach and the beach is just a 5 min walk from the hotel. The beach is not very crowded and is sufficiently clean and nice. The Getaway hotel has a very nice & clean swimming pool and also a great spa. Overall we had great time and anyone going to Kerala should definitely take some time off and head to this very nice property at very beautiful and scenic Varkala beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khandelwal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent stay with us and glad you have had an excellent one. Feedback from discerning guests like you and your words of appreciation on Varkala and the hotel will go a long way in keeping us motivated , set higher standards and deliver them .

We look forward to have you with us on your future visits to Varkala !

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    264
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
275
298
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chalakkudy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had basic expectations when one book a room for Rs.15000 a day.This sick place doesn't have a proper parking place!The reception was fine. There was a carrom table with worn out coins and a table tennis court with stupid bats. The rooms have been refurbished to contemporary style, but there were cracks and paint peeling. There was a lizard in the bathroom and at night the rats were running through the ceiling making such a ruckus. The view from the rooms are wire good and that's it. The towels are so pathetic and rough, how much does it cost to keep soft towels! For the price it is not worth.Choose at your risk. You are warned.

Room Tip: Rooms 205,206,207 all are having a good view of the sea, albeit bit far view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draneeshpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest

At the outset we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us . We have always worked hard to maintain high level standards for our guests and you can be sure that this incident was an isolated case. Nonetheless, we appreciate your feedback and regret the inconvenience that has caused to you while we have taken corrective action and move forward.

With regard to the feedback on the car parking and pests allow us to kindly clarify that the hotel provides car parking services along with a valet and security. And on the pests you may note that we have not encountered the rodent issues in the past or currently. With horticluture spreading across we might have some insects visiting however to contain them we have strong pest control and a suggestion in the room to have the balcony doors closed.

We look forward to have you back with us and experience our signature hosptality while we appreciate the feedback which certainly has helped identify our gaps as we strive to provide you with the very best in customer service.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A small and clean but somewhat tired hotel, in need of a little refurbishment. There were stains on the bedroom walls, peeling paint in the corridors, etc.

The room was comfortable but not luxurious, the pool area and gardens were very well maintained and the pool area was nice. The pool itself is not big, and unfortunately on both days we were trying to relax there they were building something nearby, so it was quite noisy. They probably have some drainage problem too, as we tried to change sunbeds to escape the smell. The beach is accessible with a 10 minute walk, and the beach itself is OK, but not exceptional. There were no sun loungers on the beach, no shade, it was very crowded with locals.

The buffet breakfast was decent with more local than international choices.

The staff seemed to work long hours and were helpful.

The hotel is a 50-80 Rupee tuk-tuk ride from the nice cliff-top area and we headed out here every night for dinner. With hindsight I think a (cheaper?) resort on the cliff top may have suited our needs better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and your valuable feedback . It is with concern that we have noted down your feedback but assure you that we are striving constantly to provide the best to our discerning guest . The hotel is going through phase-wise upgradation and would have a upgraded look in the coming days. Recently we have added a biogas plant part of our endeavour to giving back to the planet , the trial run did bring in a little bit of inconvenience to our guests but now its set and going , our apologies for the same. Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve and therefore appreciate your time in sharing the gaps.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here in late Dec so paid the usual inflated holiday prices but outside of this period the normal rates would be reasonable for a hotel of this standard in my view. The hotel is set in a pristine gated complex up in the hill from the beach and is spotlessly clean and air conditioned everywhere with nice gardens. Some areas for improvement would be: better minibars (a few cans of fizz doesn't cut it), a safe in the rooms, a better hotel guide in the rooms on the facilities (eg. Who knew there was a better way to the pool/beach from the terraces instead of via reception).

My biggest issue by far though was the Internet and ridiculous amount they charge for it, as someone said earlier its as if the net had just been invented as a new luxury item! For the Rs 700+ they charge for a day (there are hour/2 hr packages too at even more exorbitant rates per min) you can easily get a cheap guest room in India for that with Internet included! An unwelcome profiteering measure and just incentivises you to eat on the beach at a cafe with free wifi.

That aside the staff are excellent and friendly esp the front desk guy, the rooms are clean well furnished with excellent beds,soft linen, modern marble and glass bathrooms and cable tv. The restaurant food is exceptionally good and reasonably priced for what you get. Drinks are priced on the high side but pretty standard for hotels in this category. The crowning glory is the pool though which is a stunning and clean well maintained space to chill out and escape the varkala beach crowds, unique to this area and a key selling point for me. Recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nawaz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Mr Nawaz

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel on your recent trip to Varkala ! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We appreciate your kind words for our assoiciates and the hotel.

Customer feedback has always been the intregral part of our learning curve and therefore we strongly value your feedback on the WIFI and the suggestions for improvement.

While we work on the suggetions going forward , the team joins me in wishing you a happy new year.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed at the Gateway for 8 nights at the start of November and had an absolutely fantastic time - arrived after 6 days travelling around northern Kerala and so we were all ready for a rest and the fantastic pool and general atmosphere created by the staff proved to be perfect. The room, while not the most modern was always spotlessly clean and very comfortable and had an incredible view across the pool and out to sea. We ate breakfast each morning in the restaurant and were never disappointed, with a good choice of western and Indian dishes on offer. A final mention must go to the staff who could not do enough to ensure that our every need was catered for from the manager down. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest

All the associates at The Gateway Hotel are delighted to know your visit to Varkala and the stay with us was a memorable one , beyond your expectations. We would like you to know how much we appreciated your recognition of our fine hotel and for the many kind words you expressed in your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again on your future visits and assure of our best of services at all times to come.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We love this hotel - the staff, restaurant and pool are all wonderful - but it does need a little maintenance to call itself 5-star. It is not really up to the Taj Group's usual standards but remains pretty good value for money by European standards and is the best hotel in Varkala. The first room we were given was damp, so we upgraded but even the second was a bit shabby round the edges to be honest - the safe and fridge didn't work, it had patches on the wall and could have generally done with a refurb. Also on the downside - using their wifi is expensive and the electricity stops fairly regularly. However, if, like it was for us, the sun is shining and you have a balcony overlooking the pool and Arabian sea, you'll probably forget about its little problems.

The staff can't be faulted - they're lovely. The location - midway between North and South Beach is fine and the restaurant serves the best Keralan food we've had in Varkala. We'd have no problem returning despite its foibles.

Room Tip: Go for sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad that you have had an excellent stay however it is with great concern I have made a note of your feedback with regard to the accommodation and upkeep , please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We have taken up the work on upkeep and assure you will find a marked improvement in the quality of product provided during your future visits to the hotel.

I am thankful to you for taking time out to highlight the gaps in our delivery and look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Very nice hotel, located in a great setting with a beautiful view. The beach can be accessed through a private path with a five minutes walk. The comfort is very good, staff is very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: Seaview is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Obwaldner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and glad you had a memorable one .
We thank you for your kind words of appreciation and look forward to your future visits while we assure you of our best of services !

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Property: The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing