We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Nearby Hotels
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$15
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnolia Guesthouse(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karthika Plaza Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$14
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$24
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
427
288
73
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
288
73
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaj grouptable tennishead chefshell necklacetravel deskbadminton courtswimming poolpool attendantthe cliffthe general managersea viewprivate gardenbreakfast spreadfront officerestaurant staffhotel groundsnice property
Filter
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I went there during summers and it was extremely hot outside. So spend most of the time inside the room. The restaurant staff and the house keeping staff were extremely well behaved and very helpful. They go out of their way to help you to get you what you need. Vishnu, the restaurant staff deserves a special mention since he helped us a lot during our stay. The hotel is beautiful and just a walk away from the sea. We stayed in a sea facing room with a balcony facing the garden and the sea. The rooms are comfortable and the furnishing is classy. The bathroom has full glass on one side, so that you can enjoy the sea view while taking a shower. I would definitely recommend this place, the price is a bit higher than the local places but worth the money.

Room Tip: Take the sea facing rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varswanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Guest

Pleasure was ours to have served you during your stay with us and glad to know that you have had a great stay . We appreciate your kind words for the hotel and the associates.

We thank you for choosing us and look forward for your future visits while assuring you of our best of services.

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The rooms were very warm and inviting. Clean lines and very clean and fresh feeling. The view of the sea is awesome and you can get lost in that. The staff are as wonderful and what you expect from the TAJ group. The GM and the chef were so courteous and warm.

We were on a Kerala tour and this property and place really surprised us. Great location on the hill close to all the restaurants . Our stay was so good that we extended our stay by a day impromptu as we are so happy. Good sport activities for kids too.

The chef prepared a special non veg Kerala thali on request for us.

Must go to varakala and stay at the gateway

Room Tip: Take the sea facing rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylekiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us on your recent trip to Varkala and glad that your stay has been beyond expectations. We always strive to provide the best for our discerning guests and therefore take this opportunity to assure you of the Taj Hospitality at all times to come while we thank you for your feedback .

Best regards as we look forward for your future visits.

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was probably our favorite hotel in Kerala! The location was perfect as the hotel was only a 5 min walk to the beach, yet nestled in the jungle away from the main road and tourist area. Very quiet and peaceful, no traffic noise or barking dogs, etc. The pool and grounds were well-maintained and beautiful. Our back patio opened out to the pool area, which made pool access very easy for the kids, and it looked like all the rooms had this. And the breakfast buffet included in the room rate was excellent. Probably the best hotel breakfast we've had anywhere in India! Lots of different options and everything was very tasty. Service was excellent and one other thing to mention was the cute animals made out of towels left by the cleaning staff. A very nice touch, which my daughter loved! My only complaint was the very high prices for internet access. You can definitely find cheaper internet access somewhere else, if you need it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWilk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Guest

All at the Gateway Hotel join me to thank you for your recent stay and your kind words. Your appreciation goes a long way in keeping us motivated and deliver beyond all our guest's expectations.

Our best regards as we look forward to have you back with us .

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

After what was a nightmare hotel experience in Alleppey, we arrived at the beautiful Gateway hotel to have our faith in 4-star hotels in India restored. This place is excellent value for money & was the best place we could have stayed to end our trip around India on a high. The staff are incredibly courteous & welcome you at any time of the day with a cheery ‘hello’ or ‘good afternoon/morning’ etc.

The room we had was amazing & overlooked the pool. I understand the hotel is going through a state of renovations & I think the room we stayed in, must have already been renovated as it was to an incredibly high standard with a state of the art room safe & schmick fittings. The bathroom is fantastic & well equipped. The rest of the hotel is kept in a very high state of cleanliness too.

The food is top notch with the breakfast buffet being extensive & fulfilling. The rest of the menu we found to be equally as good so you can’t go wrong food wise at this hotel.
The only minor points which could be easily rectified to make this a superior place are a more comprehensive mini bar & the internet policy. The internet here is expensive but no more than a number of hotels we stayed at. The issue with the internet here is the lack of plans you can choose from. From a business perspective they've been incredibly smart as they only offer 4 plans which are 30 mins, 1 hour, 2 hours or 24 hours. Most people will want the internet for most of the day whilst they’re awake, however if you want this, then you are forced to buy the 24 hours package which is 749 rupees inc Taxes. The 2 hr plan is half the price of the 24 hr plan somehow……maybe they could implement two more plans for 6 hrs & 12 hrs, which is what the guests would more than likely be more inclined to go for. This is not a major issue that would ever stop us staying here again though but it would be good if the hotel rectified this policy.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Well done to the team at the Gateway for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: We had pool facing room (208) & couldn't fault it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experiences on your recent stay with us .The team and I are highly motivated with your kind words of appreciation and take this opportunity to assure you of the best of Taj hospitality in all times to come. Our guests feedback have always been an integral part of our learning curve and it is with concern that we have noted the feedback on WIFI.

Best regards from all of us as we look forward for your future visits.

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great Place. We had option to either stay for 2 nights in Kovalam or Varkala and believe you me our decision to stay in Varkala was a very wise one. The Varkala beach lies at the bottom of a long stretch of cliff that's bordered by beach shacks ( not many ). You can stay right on the cliff ( plenty of shacks & shops also ), overlooking the ocean, or set back from it. It's incredibly romantic! We had excellent view of the ocean from our balcony. The Gateway hotel is a very nice property on the beach and the beach is just a 5 min walk from the hotel. The beach is not very crowded and is sufficiently clean and nice. The Getaway hotel has a very nice & clean swimming pool and also a great spa. Overall we had great time and anyone going to Kerala should definitely take some time off and head to this very nice property at very beautiful and scenic Varkala beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khandelwal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent stay with us and glad you have had an excellent one. Feedback from discerning guests like you and your words of appreciation on Varkala and the hotel will go a long way in keeping us motivated , set higher standards and deliver them .

We look forward to have you with us on your future visits to Varkala !

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews