We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Nearby Hotels
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thiruvambadi Beach Retreat(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnolia Guesthouse(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$23
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
427
288
73
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
288
73
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaj grouptable tennishead chefshell necklacetravel deskbadminton courtswimming poolpool attendantthe cliffthe general managersea viewprivate gardenbreakfast spreadfront officerestaurant staffhotel groundsnice property
Filter
Updating list...
551 - 556 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We recently stayed for 5 nights in a renovated garden room which was lovely. The room was well maintained and cleaned regularly with fresh towels daily. The gardens were beautifully kept and the pool delightful. We ate regularly from the a la carte menu as the food was very good. The staff were at all times pleasant and helpful, from the first morning we arrived at 5am to the day we departed. If we came to Varkala again then we would definitely stay at The Gateway. Thank you to all who made our stay most memorable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank christine130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us .Thank you for choosing us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are delighted on your pleasant stay and look forward to have you with us soon !

Best regards

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights during the '13 Onam weekend with wife and 2 young kids. NIce room & furniture, friendly staff, very good service and great food. Room cleanliness was good, son had a lot of fun in the pool.
Bathrooms had a glass wall with a curtain, so if someone lifts the curtain, there goes your privacy. There was a power outage one night in the wee hours and it took 3-4 hours to rectify.

Room Tip: Ask for the top most floor for the best view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JobyEapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel ! It was our pleasure to have you and family stay with us and glad to know that you have had a memorable trip. With regard to the outage kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience while we have upgraded our back up to counter the most frequent cuts the town faces.

We thank you for yor feedback and look forward to be of service to you in future.

Best regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had stayed at this property in 2009 and had a great time. Thereafter, we planned to revisit the same 5 years later on our 5th marriage anniversary and with God's grace all went well and we landed here on our 5th marriage anniversary. I was bit hesitant while on the way to this place if we will find the same experience again or not. But all my fears vanished within few minutes of reaching the property. The property is better than before. The rooms have been renovated to offer better comfort and facilities. In the evening when we came back from boat ride at back water lake, we found our room decorated. The General Manager of the hotel had a brief talk with us while we were having dinner and gathered that we are there for our anniversary, the restaurant staff quickly prepared a cake for us making our evening even more memorable. They arranged a dinner party on Valentine day which was also great. The Ayurveda spa of the hotel is also good. I would recommend the property for couple and family trip. Hope to visit again sometime in near future.

Room Tip: Sea view is the USP of this property so please prefer a sea view room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PILOT_005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest

At the outset we thank you for your continuous patronage. It was such a pleasure for us to have had you come back and stay with us after 5 years. Your kind words on the hotel are truly appreciated as we stay motivated, set higher standards and achieve them.

Thank you so much and best regards from all of us at Gateway Hotel ,Varkala.

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for almost 7 weeks. Five weeks with my husband and four children and almost two weeks on my own for work purpose. So I know this hotel and it is simply the best! excellent service, cleanness and food, every thing you want if you look for high standard without arrogans, only friendliness!
From the moment we came to the moment we left the staff made our stay an outstanding experience! They are helpful, friendly and always try to do their best. They let us use their conference room for free, where my daughter took dance lessons, they organised two fantastic dinners just for us in private settings. They all try to make this little extras that make this hotel to a real treasure.
The pool man (Mathew) is fantastic and my children loved him. The chief in the kitchen (Bidjou...spelling?) is doing a marvellous job, especially if you let him compose his own dinner for you, I promise, he will go all in!! All staff members are so friendly and seem to really like to help you to have the best possible stay. The hotel manager is always around for a small talk and to make sure everything is up to an excellent level, and I promise it is! Well done!!! My family really miss the stay, the hotel and all staff members and will take the first opportunity to come back! This is the number one and only choice in Varkala! Just book it!

Room Tip: All their rooms are beautiful, but if you need interconnected you have to book long in advance, there is only one pair and it is on the top floor with the best sunset to be seen from your own terrace......Otherwise rooms on second floor close to the reception also have a stunning view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Åsa A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Ms Andreason

After your month and a half long stay with us it seems like one of the family members have left us for a trip .The team at the Gateway miss you and the family as we look forward for your future visits. It was a great pleasure to have your family come over and later your parents join in. It was an honour to host Mrs and Mr Grosskopf as well.

We thoroughly enjoyed serving all of you through the stay !

Thank you and best regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is relatively small, only thirty rooms, but this is part of its charm. If you are looking for a quiet restful holiday then this is the place for you. The rooms are spacious, with a decent balcony, we had one overlooking the pool and sea beyond. The air conditioning is effective, you will need it as in February the temperature was in the high 90's. Everywhere is scrupulously clean, and the staff are very attentive and helpful. The pool and grounds are maintained to a high standard, with the pool attendant always ready to move the umbrella to provide shade as the sun moves across the sky. The food was terrific, we stayed full board, with many options each meal and no tummy issues. A short five minute walk will take you to the beach, and along the cliff top there are plenty of shops selling a wide variety of goods/souvenirs and cafes providing cooling drinks etc. During the two weeks we spent in Kerala we saw no sign of mosquitoes.
Should you wish to go sightseeing, we did, be prepared for a white knuckle ride on the roads. There is little traffic discipline as we would know it, but road users there seem to have an uncanny understanding of the free for all chaos, and we always arrived safely to and from our destination.
The hotel is excellent and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest

All at the Gateway Varkala are more than glad to know that we have on this occasion gone beyond your expectations. We thank you for all those kind words as it goes a long way in maintaining high standards and ensuring best of services and product for all our discering guests.

Best regards from all of us as we look forward for your future visits.

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews