We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Booked their family package and it ended up cheaper than others and had great rooms and facilities, very helpful reception staff and the decoration on the beds every day were different loved it. The locaction is on a cliff top, and it works great getting tuc tucs to the restaurants for 60 rupees

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel , Varkala .Trust your journey back was a pleasant one. Pleasure was ours to have had you stay with us and provide us with an opportunity to be of service to you , we are more than happy to know that you have had a great stay.

Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to have you stay with us on your future visits.

Best regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    264
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
275
298
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

After 15 days on the tours to Golden triangle and Kerala, although very much enjoyable, but also very much tiresome, my wife and I decided to stay 4 days at this quite and tranquil place. And that was a BINGO. Beautiful hotel at the shore of Indian Ocean, with just 30 rooms, great rooms, and great service. Nice swimming pool, and pool man who serves You every half hour (moving sun shades, asking if one needs anything, etc.) Food is delightful, served in the way it is served in very best restaurants. Compared to Varkala Beach, it is calm and quite. Imagine when it ever happened that Reception stuff sees You away wishing You nice trip. It was almost touching. Special nights, something like garden party, were great with live music in hippy style of 60th. Silent nights and great sunset sets. Highly recommended, for both couples, or families with children. Adored stay, and we shall do our very best to go back again. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mladen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent stay with us and your kind words of appreciation . We are glad that the Golden triangle and Kerala trip of yours was a pleasant one. Appreciation from discerning guests like you always motivated us to deliver more , your appreciation has been shared with all my colleagues.

Thank you once again and best regards from all of us as we look forward for your future visits.

Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were a large group and tried to reach out to the hotel before checking in but did not have much help from the hotel staff till we got in touch with the central reservation team. They could do with answering customer queries in time
The property is quite nice but the maintenance seems to be shoddy..We had booked 8 rooms-.some rooms like 401/402 are quite bad and we got it changed . The remaining rooms varied in the amenities provided and in maintenance.
The things that worked well were the food and the pool. The restaurant staff including the chef and F&B Manager were professional and took very good care of those group members who had food allergies.

Room Tip: Avoid 401/402. Ask to see the rooms before checking in. Not suitable for people with disabilities a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennymgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words on the food & beverage and the swimming pool. It is with great concern that I have made note of your feedback on the responsiveness of the front desk and the allotment of our sunset room, kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. I am thankful to you for taking time out to highlight the gaps and you may kindly note that we have already earmarked the up-gradation plan for the room mentioned which would be carried out in the coming months.We assure you will find a marked improvement in the quality of services provided during your future visits to the hotel.

Best regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mulhouse
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A very good place to stay where you are pampered and/or feel at home thanks to the very friendly and efficient staff! Nice pool, easy access to the beach, tennis court...It is not a five star and doesn't pretend to be but a very good four star and it's an excellent place to unwind. Excellent value for the money

Room Tip: Avoid the suites which are old fashioned and disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest

We are more than glad to know that your stay has been an excellent one. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you.

We appreciate your kind words for the hotel.

Best regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We have recently stayed here for 18 nights, this is the second time we have stayed here and once again had a really enjoyable stay. The manager and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are of a good size and have all the amenities required. The location to the beach is good and the pool area very nice..
If I were to recommend any improvement it would be that more sun beds be available as this was an issue for many people both times we stayed.
All beds are booked before 7.00am which means client go to the beach and therefore spend their money in the bars there which means the hotel is losing out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ene4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Taj and providing us the opportunity to be of service to you . The team and I are happy to know that you have had a pleasant stay. We have noted your feedback on the loungers by the pool and regret the inconvenience however you may kindly note that we have already made plans to add few more.

Thank you once again and best regards as we look forward to have you stay with us on your future visits.

Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 weeks and enjoyed every minute. It is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at with excellent rooms, amenities and staff. It has a lovely pool which is maintained to a high standard and the rooms are exceptionally clean and nicely furnished. The staff are amazing. They will go out of their way to make sure that the guests are happy with everything and nothing is too much trouble for them. This applies to all the staff including the gardeners, maintenance, cleaners and everyone. It would not be possible to mention any one staff member who made our stay memorable because they were all excellent and, in their own way, all contributed to a perfect holiday.
We were on a full board basis and ate in the restaurant most times. The food is excellent and varied and there is something for all tastes and on occasions the chef was willing to cook something special that was not on the menu.
We cannot speak more highly of this hotel and the staff that work there. We have travelled widely but have never been made so welcome and provided with such a high standard of service as we were at the Gateway. Thank you for making our holiday so memorable - we cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better view but ground floor rooms have a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel ! Trust your journey back was a pleasant one . We are thankful for choosing the Taj for your extended stay. It was such a pleasure to have been of service to both of you and we are glad that your entire experience has been beyond your expectations.

Yours words of appreciation go a long way in keeping us motivated and deliver even more as we
look forward to have you stay with us in the following years.

Best regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

just come back from here second time we have visited this hotel and to be honest its got better whith is very hard to do as it was first class last time the staff are so wonderful and cannot do enough for you the management will bend over backwards to help if you need them matthew at the pool side is so good
if you want first class food first class service this is the place (just dont tell eveyone as its asecret)
thank you for a great few weeks will be back next year cannot wait

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine-phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest

It was such a pleasure to have you come back and stay with us .The team joins me to thank you for those kind words of appreciation which does motivate us to raise the bar and deliver even more.

See you this following year !

Best regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Property: The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing