We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This TAJ property is average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Lots of mosquitos in the rooms.

Modern furniture, beds and appliances but the walls need to be painted. They need to pay attention to the details. View is amazing.

TV never worked and the customer service to fix this was poor.

You pay for a slow internet connection but in the morning when everyone is at the pool, it works really great.

Buffet breakfast was excellent and service in buffet was amazing.

Reception was good and gave me a nice candle as a present.

You definately need to prepare for the bugs in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to review us on Trip Advisor.. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us . We are happy to note your positive comments on our product, food , service and the view . We regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the mosquitoes and the television experience.
The larger area of horticulture does attract the insects however we advise our guests to keep the balcony door locked while we focus on the control and with regard to the television channels we have already taken steps to correct the same.

We have noted your feedback and are grateful to you for having shared your comments with us while we work on the gaps highlighted.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Varkala and to our hotel.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Really lovely rooms, great pool and restaurant and really excellent staff. We had been travelling around Kerala on a budget for 2 weeks and this hotel was our 'treat' at the end. It really was a treat! The food was good too, both the Indian and Western options which we've found rare! Great value if you get a deal like we manage at just under 4000 rupees a night for double with breakfast. Highly recommended if you're looking for a good 'resort' accommodation. It is also very close to the beach and you can easily reach north cliff if you want to go to eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you during your recent visit to Varkala. The team and I are grateful for your time taken in posting your feedback and happy to read your compliments on our hotel and the value for money.

It is our endeavour to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding. I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Best Regards

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for two weeks and would have loved to stay longer. Attractive looking hotel with a lovely pool and beautiful terraced gardens. Our room had it's own little garden with a view down the hillside and the sea. There is a shortcut down to the beach which goes through a little wild and green area which we thought was enchanting as we spotted mongooses here on several occasions. The room was very nice and bed was lovely and comfortable. The staff were wonderful. We really cannot praise them enough. Everyone was so friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was good with an extensive menu. The chef would come and talk to us to make sure we were happy and managed to please a picky cheese hating vegetarian (me). We went on an overnight trip to Thekkary and on our return were greeted like we had been gone for weeks. We were amused to find different animal towel sculptures on our bed every day. We would love to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadrunner90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest

We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.The team and I sincerely are grateful for your time taken in posting your feedback.

It is our endeavour to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make the stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding. I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Best regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I didn´t stay here very long, but it´s a very nice place, huge pool, delicious food and very friendly staff. The beach is a short walk away and the way to get there is very beautiful and green. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shavethewhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments as your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us.

We look forward for your next trip and on a longer vacation so as to be of service to you.

Best regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

stayed here for 2 nights. nice hotel, well located as walking distance from beach and cliff. staff was very nice and helpful and efficient. food was quite good. rooms were very comfortable with all amenities provided for. however some more attention needs to be paid to maintenance. the ac in two of the rooms was not working initially, though fixed quickly. also there was some mold on the wall behind the entrance door, no one seems to have noticed that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad that you have had a great stay however it is with great concern I have made a note of your feedback with regard to the maintenance and upkeep , please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We have taken up the work on upkeep and assure you will find a marked improvement in the quality of product provided during your future visits to the hotel.

I am thankful to you for taking time out to highlight the gaps in our delivery and look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Pradeep Chandran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent atmosphere, professional staff, close to the ocean, swimming pool. In order to go to the beach for foreigners you just need to go to the left about 300 m from the main beach. Very good room service. Food is adapted to the foreigners, not so spicy, so even children were very satisfied! I really recommend to go to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Anywayanyday
1  Thank Polina_Balan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Varkala ! We are glad that your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one. We thank you for your appreciation and assure you of our best of the Taj hospitality at all times to come as we look forward for your future visits.

Best Regards
Pradeep Chandran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

i stayed at this beautiful hotel for two nights last August during the heavy monsoon period not even expecting sunshine.But to my surprise, it didn't rain at all & that made it all the more enjoyable.Opted for their monsoon package which was fully worth.This cozy little hotel perched on top of a hillock with a lot of greenery around & a view of the ocean far away took my breath away.A very quiet & tranquil place to unwind.Beautiful decor & ambiance.I took the sea-facing room right next to the lobby which gave an awesome view of the ocean as well as the pool with all the amenities.The staff were very courteous, attentive & non-obtrusive.The food served was tasty;a combination of cuisines with quite a few traditional preparations.Seafood was worth trying.For those who were keen to learn a few local dishes, a live demo was arranged too on request.The steps within the premises took me down to the beach from where I could watch the beautiful sunset standing on a cliff.Then of course, there was the hotel's Ayurveda Center where I could pamper myself for a massage.A visit to the nearby Janardanapuram Temple which is over a thousand years old was worth.Overall, I had a peaceful,relaxed & a very enjoyable stay at this unusual hotel which I felt was a Little Paradise. Would love to go back there again..

Room Tip: Choose the sea-facing rooms as they give a better view. Go for the promo packages which are truly wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_lakmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us.The team joins me to thank you for those kind words of appreciation which does motivate us to raise the bar and deliver even more.

Best regards
Pradeep Chandran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 51 in Varkala
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 51 in Varkala
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 51 in Varkala
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 51 in Varkala
404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 51 in Varkala
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Varkala
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £103 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing