We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, pool and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

After an unfortunate incident during my first stay, I decided to give this hotel another chance as it is the only real nice hotel in the area. The General Manager went out of his way to make sure my father and I had a nice stay, and I can say it was a much better experience the second (and third) time back. The service has been great, and I appreciate a hotel that actually takes customer feedback into consideration.

Rooms are very comfortable, all with a small outdoor patio / or balcony. The pool is great, and perfect for relaxing if you need a break from the beach. Although I would recommend getting out there early, as there is limited pool side seating. The location is a bit further than other places, but the beach is walk-able and the North Cliff is only a 3 min Tuk Tuk ride. Overall, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeB3401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to have had you and your father stay with us and thank you for patronizing the Taj. We are glad to hear the positive feedback on the hotel and service as the team and I are elated and remain motivated.

Thank you once again as we look forward for your next stay.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Although it is a good property and not Great , the service truly is !

Rooms are modern with adequate amenities.

location of rooms - We had booked a garden view - then upgraded to Sea view - this was initially unavailable. It was a nice view overlooking the pool and the sea which is at quite a distance.

The Kerala special vegetarian dinner prepared by the chef - on recommendation by the GM himself was just marvelous , and literally .finger licking good.

The food is Great and the menu for breakfast also has some nice surprieses , like PAV BHAJI....
reluctantly i tasted it , and then just couldnt stop my self gorging on it.

Room Tip: It surely will not pinch the pockets to choose the sea view rooms - serene view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jugalvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time to write about our hotel and glad to know that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.

We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again at The Gateway Varkala

Kind Regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a week here in April after touring around Kerala. The hotel is smart and modern, light and spacious. The staff are, like everywhere else in Kerala, welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and modern with lovely comfy beds, a fridge, large balcony, sea view, only niggle would be no hanging space for dresses and no drawers so had to leave clothes in the suitcases for a week. The pool area is lovely, comfy sunbeds, a very clean pool, great view and a very attentive pool man. There are not many sunbeds but there were always some free during the week we were there. The walk to the beach is not suitable if you struggle with steps or narrow paths (or snakes!). Everywhere is very clean and well maintained. The restaurant staff are very friendly, the food is very good and beautifully presented. However, the only issue we really had was the length of time taken to produce food. At lunch time we might be the only two people in the restaurant and still wait over an hour for a sandwich, the wait for food could be very frustrating. Also we had a full board package through which we could order anything off the a la carte menu, but a few nights when the hotel was busy there was a buffet which they tried to insist we have instead. I tried it once but the food was nowhere near as good as the a la carte menu and the choice very narrow, so we insisted on the menu, as did many other people. But we would go back for a relaxing do nothing holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a superior sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGelfCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and yout kind words on the hotel. We are glad that you liked the hotel and the service standards. Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the excellent service standards.

We also also noted your feedback on the food and timeliness , you may be rest assured that the same will be addressed immediately.

We look forward to have you stay with us on your future visit to Varkala.

Kind regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was the third stop-over during our seven day Kerala trip. The property is wonderful with great staff.
The minus points : 1. You can't see the sea even from sea-view rooms as the trees hinder the view. 2. The properly is on different levels- each room around 6-8 steps down/up from each other.
The pluses : 1. There is a small gate at the end of the property connecting the property to the beach thru a small walk-way (300mtrs) - open between 7am to 7pm. This makes reaching the beach much easier. 2. The property has the most wonderful staff.
My suggestions : 1. There should be some recreational activities as in Taj Kumarakom. 2. The lobby should get a face-lift. 3. There should be some place in the hotel - a lounge- from where guests can enjoy a clear view of the sea.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeetSaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us another opportunity to be of service to you during your visit to Varkala.
The team and I sincerely are grateful for your time taken in posting your feedback on our hotel and we are happy to read your compliments.

It is our endeavour to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and in this regard we are thankful for your feedback on the entertainment and the lounge experience , we would certainly address them as we look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Kind regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Lots of mosquitos in the rooms.

Modern furniture, beds and appliances but the walls need to be painted. They need to pay attention to the details. View is amazing.

TV never worked and the customer service to fix this was poor.

You pay for a slow internet connection but in the morning when everyone is at the pool, it works really great.

Buffet breakfast was excellent and service in buffet was amazing.

Reception was good and gave me a nice candle as a present.

You definately need to prepare for the bugs in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to review us on Trip Advisor.. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us . We are happy to note your positive comments on our product, food , service and the view . We regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the mosquitoes and the television experience.
The larger area of horticulture does attract the insects however we advise our guests to keep the balcony door locked while we focus on the control and with regard to the television channels we have already taken steps to correct the same.

We have noted your feedback and are grateful to you for having shared your comments with us while we work on the gaps highlighted.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Varkala and to our hotel.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Really lovely rooms, great pool and restaurant and really excellent staff. We had been travelling around Kerala on a budget for 2 weeks and this hotel was our 'treat' at the end. It really was a treat! The food was good too, both the Indian and Western options which we've found rare! Great value if you get a deal like we manage at just under 4000 rupees a night for double with breakfast. Highly recommended if you're looking for a good 'resort' accommodation. It is also very close to the beach and you can easily reach north cliff if you want to go to eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you during your recent visit to Varkala. The team and I are grateful for your time taken in posting your feedback and happy to read your compliments on our hotel and the value for money.

It is our endeavour to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding. I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Best Regards

Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for two weeks and would have loved to stay longer. Attractive looking hotel with a lovely pool and beautiful terraced gardens. Our room had it's own little garden with a view down the hillside and the sea. There is a shortcut down to the beach which goes through a little wild and green area which we thought was enchanting as we spotted mongooses here on several occasions. The room was very nice and bed was lovely and comfortable. The staff were wonderful. We really cannot praise them enough. Everyone was so friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was good with an extensive menu. The chef would come and talk to us to make sure we were happy and managed to please a picky cheese hating vegetarian (me). We went on an overnight trip to Thekkary and on our return were greeted like we had been gone for weeks. We were amused to find different animal towel sculptures on our bed every day. We would love to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadrunner90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest

We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.The team and I sincerely are grateful for your time taken in posting your feedback.

It is our endeavour to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make the stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding. I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Best regards
Suresh Khanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £109 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing