We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway experience in Varkala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Gateway experience in Varkala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

About 4Kms from the Varkala shivagiri railway stattion(VAK) the hotel sits along the cliff facing the sea.The actual cliff tourist area along which the restaurants are located is about a Km away.A short walk down the hotel leads you to busy pappanasam beach where Hindu rituals are usually conducted. The sea view from the room is distant. The best view of the sea is from the cliff area. Gateway brand is now consistent across locations and seems to evolving further and has its own distinct feel.Bathroom seems to have been newly done up but the room has the remains of an older hotel like some of the antique switches.a small balcony too looking out to pool and the sea beyond.nice spacious room and as usual very warm welcome and supportive staff.around the hotel is green and wooded, I was told the next door Govt guest house is an old palace.Didnt try breakfast or any other meal so cant comment on food.Kerala is alcohol dry on 1st of every month so bar was closed.I think one of the best time to be in Kerala is during the monsoons but Varkala is dry of foreign tourists during this season and so many restaurants along the cliff it seems are closed for maintainence.i think this hotel should be the best along the coast after Alleppey and before Trivandrum.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jissbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

Your positive feedback about the hotel is very encouraging and a great source of motivation for all of us. It is our endeavour to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding.

I thank you once again and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    256
    61
    23
    13
See reviews for
265
290
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I went on an official trip to Varkala and how I wished I was on vacation. Taj is the best property in varkala , you can walk down to the beach. Don't fall for the ratings by tripadvisor. All of those resorts are nothing but huts in middle of the road. Taj should not even be compared to those. The pool , the sea view from the balcony of your room ,you're going to see me again soon Taj.
From the front office to the GM they made me feel home. I want to take this opportunity to thank all of you for this wonderful experience .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Govind72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for experiencing our hotel and glad that our product and services went beyond your expectations. Your feedback is well appreciated as it keeps us motivated to deliver more.

Pleasure would be ours to have you stay with us on your future visits

Kindest regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had stayed here 3 years earlier so was expecting the same level of standards.
On our first night there, they wanted to put us in a room that was damp & smelt of condensation. They made out there was no where else to put us but after some fuss they put us in a better room.
They would knock the door several times a day for house keeping, despite the do not disturb sign on the door.
When we were checking out their card machine wasn't working properly. When we checked our statements it turns out they charged our cards 3 times for the same thing! I emailed them as soon as I noticed the error. Over one month later, I'm still waiting for a response. I have not even received a courtesy email to aknowledge my request.
I have to admit the waiting staff were lovely & the food excellent but I definitely won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammygeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your time in evaluating our product and services. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and the service at our all day dining.

With regards to the room, I regret that it did not meet upto your expectations, our aplogies. While all our rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable, high humidity in this case has been the reason and therefore we are being cautious and strengthening our process of our regular maintenance.

Also I have taken your feedback on the double charges . You may kindly note that while the swipe has been twice due to the network the transaction has gone through only once , this has been clarified with the bank and a note sent for your record.

I do hope you will not allow this to change your opinion of the hotel and that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits while we assure you of our best of product and services.

Best regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

After a dull start to our Kerala vacation (Kumarakom left a lot to be desired), things turned around the moment we checked in at this hotel. We got a great room with a small garden and a lovely view. It was conveniently located so the pool and the restaurant were only just a hop away. Had great fun unwinding in the hotel - the pool, tennis, badminton, cycling, we did it all. The location is excellent with the beach and the Janardan Swamy Temple merely 5 mins away. What made our stay truly memorable was the warm hospitality. Chef Bejoy would always prepare a few traditional dishes for every meal and was kind enough to prepare a special thali for us, giving us a taste of the local cuisine. He would even send the day's specials (complementary!) and come and interact with the diners (except for the last day of our stay, presumably because the kitchen was busy as a lot of guests had checked in that day). Special mention also to Mr. Lijin who served us during our stay with a lot of attention and warmth. Got great suggestions on local attractions from Chef Bejoy and Mr. Suresh Khanna, the manager. Had an amazing time at Varkala and the hotel and we've found a great alternative to Goa :D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randomtraveller2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest

It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us during your visit to Varkala ,thank you for your continued patronage. The team and I are elated with your positive sentiments of the rooms , local cuisine , the associates and happy to know your discovery of a new alternate destination .

Your appreciation goes a long way in keeping us motivated , set higher standards and deliver.

Best of our regards as we look forward for your future visits.

Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirupur, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

nice hotel, superior sea view rooms are good, room 202 has no attraction, 203 is just ok, 204 - 207 excellent.
only negative is they are charging for kids just 5 years old. all the hotels dont charge normally. very expensive as per menu card.
since we got monsoon offer really worth for money.
swimming dress code is must only for ladies. swim dress is too sexy there should be some altranative or liberal for ladies dress code. it was big disappointment for us.

Room Tip: superior rooms - 202 waste, 203 is average, 204 - 207 excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j641603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent stay with us and your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor and pleased to know that you have liked our rooms and the stay overall has been a value on your spends.

We have noted your suggestion on the charges for children, you may kindly note that below five years of age we host the children without a charge however we have made a special gesture in your stay as well post your request . With regard to the pool usage we would like to inform you that we follow the rules applicable internationally.

Thank you once again and look forward to have you stay with us on your future visits to Varkala.

Best Regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

To start off we arrived late and were give the only room available (mind you its a small property and weekends are full) it was the one furthest from the reception with the garden view. We had arrived from a hectic drive down from Trichur, Kerala with a lot of expectations, were told about the tennis courts, bicycles for riding down, beach side location and all and were eager to try them out.

The rooms were well done and there was nothing to complain very clean and orderly but the service was much to be desired which broke our heart. We had to eat in as we were late and they don't have a 24 hr coffee shop, eating in is pretty expensive here but thats least of the worries we kept out the dishes to be collected so that the room won't smell the next day, to our surprise the dishes were not collected until the next day evening that's when we complained about it.

Now the amenities the pool has a number of tiles coming off so you could cut yourself in the deep towards the 8-9 feet depth. The tennis court is a big marriage hall now, with the fans hanging down its impossible to play a good game. the cycles are all rusty and probably you need a tetanus injection to use one.

I may sound a bit hard on them but this is not expected of Taj, where once you come in you don't want to leave, this place too has that its a beautiful location the beach is a bit far but a beautiful place never the less but much to be desired.

Room Tip: Go for rooms closer to the reception area where you get a better view of the sea and eating in is ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitin_Sreenivasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Gateway Hotel and I am glad to note that you found our rooms to your liking .

It is with great concern that I have made note of your feedback on your recent experience, kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.It is the feedback from our esteemed and valued guests which gives us an opportunity to further enhance and refine our processes to achieve customer delight and I am thankful to you for taking time out to highlight the gaps , kindly note that the feedback has been addressed , necessary steps taken and assure you will find a marked improvement in the quality of services provided during your future visits to the hotel as we look forward to have you stay with us on your future visits to Varkala.

Kind regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

It is the location, nice people and excellent hospitality which makes the Taj hotel at Varkala a very unique holiday spot. This hotel has a nice manager - Suresh Khanna, who goes out of his way to make your stay comfortable. The best part of him, is that he remembers you even after you leave the place and he ensures all the guests whom you have recommended to go there also are well taken care of. I am sure he does this for everyone as I did not know him till I met during my holiday at his hotel in Jan 2014. This hotel also has a very pleasant chef - Bejoy, who cooks exotic & authentic kerala food which is so delicious that one tends to overeat in this place. Great place for a nice holiday. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a massage done here & don't forget to request for kerala dish for breakfast as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSRBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted to know that your recent stay with us has been a very memorable one and thank you for taking time to rate us on Trip Advisor.

At the Gateway hotel we continuously strive to provide the very best of product and services to our guests and we are happy to note that your feedback stands as a tesimony for the same.

Your appreciation has been shared with all associates and the Chef, we remain motivated.

Thank you once again and trust we would have the opportunity to serve you in future.

Kindest regards
Suresh Khanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala

Property: The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Address: Near Government Guest House | Janardhanapuram, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#2 Family Hotel in Varkala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is set amidst tall, swaying palms and is 60 ft high on a cliff, Varkala is located 55 kms (1 hr 15 m drive) from Thiruvananthapuram International Airport. The railway station is a 5 minute drive from the hotel. The hotel offers a choice of 30 elegant rooms including 2 suites. A multi-cuisine restaurant and 2 bars, meeting room, Ayurvedic center, WiFi and indoor/outdoor sports facilities makes the hotel an ideal getaway for the discerning leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing