We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay!!”
Review of Villa Jacaranda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Jacaranda
Ranked #9 of 102 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have had many nice hotel experiences over the years, but this is something absolutly exceptional! Stayed for 7 nights and had a really wonderful time! Beautiful balcony looking over a lush garden and the sea. Beautiful rooms and comfortable bed. Our breakfast was served daily out on our private balcony! Best breakfast ever! Everything homemade. Fresh flowers were delivered to our room everyday and the manager and staff was extremely helpful and kind! We can recommend this place to anyone!!! Thank you for a lovely stay!!

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a room with a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Wow, what a tranquil and relaxing place to stay.
From the offset with contacting Ajay to sort the room, through to arrival, stay and organising our taxi when we moved on - this was a super smooth and stress free experience.
Ajay has worked hard to create a super informal, relaxed and pleasant stay. Whilst he lives on the ground floor, guests are treated to a tastefully decorated and large room with a wonderful balcony overlooking (partially) the Arabian sea and a his gorgeous private garden. You can spend hours chilling out watching butterflies and birds, feeling the sun on your face. Breakfast in particular is a real highlight, with a choice of porridge, eggs, fantastic coffee (at last!), fresh fruit and smoothies. This is served to you on your balcony at a time of your choosing and is a great way to ease yourself into the tough day ahead of relaxing on the beach!
His staff are all super friendly too, and help create a nice relaxed vibe.
Ajay knows Varkala like the back of his hand so is a great resource for recommending restaurants. We did take his advice for ayurvedic massage - ok, it wasn't for me, but i can see why others may enjoy it, and it's just two doors down from this lovely home stay.
Only minor quibbles - please get thicker curtains so guests can sleep a little longer before the morning sun blasts in. Also, the hotel is on a corner near the main temple, so inevitably gets constant horn beeping when the temple is busy - we were there during a main festival, so probably worst time of year, but v noisy.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which has its own private balcony overlooking gardens with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich_and_Sarah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Villa jacaranda
Definitely the most stylish place we stayed on. Every part of the decor is carefully and tastefully chosen. We had the top room with the biggest veranda for 2 days and then the one below with a smaller veranda. Both were tranquil, private and everything worked. The helpful and courteous Pramod answered our every question and request, and served our breakfasts and our one dinner on our private terraces with punctilious gentleness. Best wifi connection and they bought us an extension lead to plug our devices into. Beautiful homestay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalindromeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We came here for 3 nights after visiting Delhi Jaipur Agra Varanasi and Mumbai. after all the hustle and bustle and mayhem that exists in those places it was great to relax in such a peaceful comfortable environment. Away and his wonderful staff have looked after us so well. Our room no. 4 has a wonderful rooftop veranda with beautiful views and lots of privacy. We also found the restaurant Theeram at the bottom of the hill on the beach the perfect place to have a drink or a meal and watch all the action. Try the local fish it's delicious!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you are looking for a quiet relaxing get away, look no further. Villa Jarcaranda has what you need to completely unwind. We were going to spend a few nights here and ended up staying for 6 nights and still did not want to leave. The guest home itself is so beautifully perfect, minimal and tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, and so completely comfortable. We woke each morning to sit on our own veranda watching the greenery blow in the breeze as birds came and went, butterflies fluttered by and eagles soared and dived in the not so far distance, as the Arabian Sea crashed about, which we had a small glimpse of. It could not get better, but then it did because breakfast was brought to us. Again perfectly delicious. We really felt ever so spoilt to be sitting in such a picturesque setting, being served incredible meals, it was idyllic. Depending on your budget it may be a bit more then you are spending on accommodation in India but it is worth every dollar, I hope to one day return and I will plan to stay for longer. As well as make my way to Kashmir to stay at his guest house up there....one day. Really I can not say enough good things about Villa Jacaranda, enjoy your time there!
Michelle Hagenson, Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Villa Jacaranda for 4 nights at the end of October and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was beautiful and had lovely little touches like fresh flowers. The room had a private roof terrace (sea view during the day, fireflies dancing at night) and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast on our veranda every morning. Ajay the owner was wonderfully personable and went out of his way to arrange trips and give advice about local amenities. We're counting down the days till we can go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were the only people staying here and had the large room at the top with the balcony. It was definitely worth it - the view to the sea was lovely, even in the rain. Breakfast was delicious, served on the balcony and a great way to start the morning. We felt very looked after and were given suggestions for local places to eat and things to do. Near a good restaurant on the beach 'Therram' (I think), a good place to watch the sunset. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runner34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaJacaranda, Owner at Villa Jacaranda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you, dear guest, for your lovely review. It made our day!

All of us at Villa Jacaranda hope to see you here again someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 114 in Varkala
417 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Akasa
Villa Akasa
#3 of 114 in Varkala
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jacaranda

Address: Temple Rd W South Cliff, Varkala | South Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range: £81 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bijou guesthouse in serene South Cliff area of Varkala overlooking the Arabian Sea. Just four individual rooms full of character, fragrant garden, lily pond & roof terrace. Ayurvedic massage and treatments on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Jacaranda Hotel Varkala
Villa Jacaranda Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing