We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Honeymoon before our wedding”
Review of Villa Jacaranda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Jacaranda
Ranked #8 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Honeymoon before our wedding”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

My fiancee and I were fortunate enough to spend 5 magical days and nights at Villa Jacaranda prior to our wedding in the Maldives on September 14th. Ajay and his incredibly attentive and professional staff went above and beyond, in every way possible, to make our time in southern India a truly wonderful experience. We were lucky enough to stay in two different guest rooms during our stay. Each was a very private and generously furnished room, rich with all the local decor and stylings that anyone traveling from abroad would hope for. Our rooftop guest room, with breathtaking vistas of the sunset over the Arabian sea every night, afforded us an incredible atmosphere for intimate breakfasts, private yoga sessions on the rooftop balcony, and long afternoons watching the eagles and birds flying in and out of the surrounding canopy of palm trees. The Villas owner Ajay was so incredibly helpful to us, as he made himself available to us for any questions or assistance, at any time. With a simple phone call he was able to do things for us like; set up excellent private ground transportation to any destination, arrange an incredible overnight house boat trip on the backwater, not to mention always offering great recommendations for lunch, dinner and/or notable places to visit or stay away from. We found Villa Jacaranda through Lonely Planet and we are grateful, as should we find ourselves in Varkala again, there is no other place we would ever stay. Thanks again to Ajay and his excellent staff. It was truly the pefect place to spend the week before our wedding, and we still refer to our time there as our "Honeymoon before the wedding!"

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chadmouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    26
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
155
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in October this year. We had travelled down from Mumbai and had a great experience in India, until we stayed at this hotel.

I'm not going to comment on the average rooms, food or location, as our experience did not involve any of those.

On the last morning I spotted one of the staff looking through the window at my wife and I in bed. The person was using the mirror on the closet door to look at us while remaining hidden at the side of the window, so I'm guessing they were somewhat practised at this technique. I had no idea how long the person had been there looking at us, or how many days this had been going on, but as you can imagine, we left that day. The person involved initially tried to deny they had been there, but later attemped to apologise.

The icing on the cake was the 500 Rupees we found in our room when we came back from breakfast, which I'm guessing was there to ease our anger at being spied on. As you can imagine, this only made thingss worse for us, as it confirmed their guilt.

I will not be pressing this issue further, as I did not feel that involving the police would achieve anything, but I am using this website as my voice-as we chose the hotel based on reviews here.

If you like the look of this place, by all means, stay there. But keep in mind, this could happen to you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry-Traveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaJacaranda, Owner at Villa Jacaranda, responded to this review, 30 October 2010
As the owner of this guesthouse, I was deeply disturbed and shocked to go through your review. The person responsible, although in complete denial, has had his employment with us terminated as a result. He came to us with excellent references, a family man with young children. Were it not for your review, I would never have suspected him of such a thing. This incident took place during my absence from the property.

Something like this should never have happened to you anywhere – that it should have happened to my guests under my roof fills me with immense regret and shame. I offer you my sincere apologies. It will be my constant endeavour to ensure no such incident ever takes place in my property ever again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings - is what I think of when I think of Villa Jacaranda. The added bonus is the pleasant and attentive staff. I highly recommend staying at this location. I know I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This was among the nicer places I've stayed in many years.Lovely owners, beautiful gardens, away from the crazy cliff side. The third floor room is great - great views, etc. The dinner is also lovely.we saw gorgeous sunsets, did yoga on the roof. Great place to relax and recharge. Big rooms, great bathrooms!. what a lovely place!!!Pure paradise, great rooms with a very lovely garden and off the beaten track, which was nice! we didn't want to end up staying at the noisy cliff so we had decided to stay in this more peaceful area and the villa jacaranda was a great place ...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roony007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We recently spent 2 nights here as part of a 4 night stay in Varkala.

We choose this hotel based on the reviews on trip adviser. We had only intended to stay 2 nights and then we moved on to a different place. We stayed in Room 2 which had a private balcony.

The good parts about Villa Jacaranda......
It was very quiet, peaceful, relaxing
The staff were very nice, we had a good chat to the owner when we arrived
The breakfast that was included was delicious and it was a lovely day to start the day being served on our private balcony
The bathroom was nice
The room was........I would say ok

The bad parts
For me, the bed was far too uncomfortable. I felt like I was sleeping on a hard plank and subsequently, barely slept
The lack of A/C, during April it was stifling hot and the ceiling fan barely made a difference. The room was really hot and subsequently, I barely slept!
The location was very nice and peaceful but it was quite a distance from town (in the hot april heat). Going for dinner at night meant sometimes a lengthy wait for a rickshaw to arrive

Overall, we enjoyed our 2 nights there and liked the serenity. But I thought it was a bit over rated and a bit overpriced, considering I had 2 nights of terrible sleep due to the hard bed and lack of A/C. We moved from here to a place on the north cliff that had a direct view over the water, A/C, a soft comfortable bed and walking distance to all the shops and cafes - for half the price. I can see the attraction of Villa Jacaranda, but for us, it was just ok.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CockyBarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2010

when we arrived in Kerala this had been our first place to stay. what a lovely place!!!Pure paradise, great rooms with a very lovely garden and off the beaten track, which was nice! we didn't want to end up staying at the noisy cliff so we had decided to stay in this more peaceful area and the villa jacaranda was a great place to do so. make sure that you reserve WAY in advance! and make sure you make reservations for the room on the roof top, which is the nicest. from there you have a beautiful view over the ocean!

would stay there again, and again and again;-))

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjay_khot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We spent two nights here in February and had a wonderful relaxing time. We had the ground floor room overlooking the beautiful garden. The room was lovely with nice detail in the furnishings and decor, a big, comfortable bed, and an large bathroom. Each morning breakfast was served on our private veranda! We liked the way Ajay and his staff were ever-present but never intrusive, and always available to help. We enjoyed little touches like the way the fruit was arranged in the bowl for breakfast - not just thrown in, but with pomegranate seeds placed on banana slices with pineapple pieces and other fruits arranged in geometric patterns! - and the jasmine left on the veranda in the evening. And toast from the best bread that we tasted in India.

The Villa is in a great location on the quieter South Cliff. It's just a few minutes walk to the beach, and a few minutes more to the busier North Cliff with it's restaurants and shops. The temple a short walk away is well worth a visit; we tried to imagine what it would look like in a festival with all those oil lamps lit. A few minutes in a tuk-tuk takes you to Varkala itself, and the railway station (we arrived and departed by train, which was an enjoyable part of our holiday in itself).

We feasted on freshly-caught seafood at two restaurants recommended by Ajay (some of the best meals of our trip), and found plenty of other places to kick back with delicious smoothies overlooking the beach as the day's catch was landed.

We'd have no hesitation in staying here again and would recommend it to all travellers. It's remarkable value for a relaxing stay in a beautiful house with character, a thoughtful owner and attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisylou26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.2 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Jacaranda

Property: Villa Jacaranda
Address: Temple Rd W South Cliff, Varkala | South Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bijou guesthouse in serene South Cliff area of Varkala overlooking the Arabian Sea. Just four individual rooms full of character, fragrant garden, lily pond & roof terrace. Ayurvedic massage and treatments on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Jacaranda Hotel Varkala
Villa Jacaranda Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing