We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrations in Varkala!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varkala Beach

Varkala Beach
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Celebrations in Varkala!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

When I wanted to choose a destination for my husband's bday celebrations, i was not looking at Kerala. Then his school friend mentioned how amazing Varkala (north cliff in particular) would be to have a party. I cannot begin to describe how beautiful the place really is. From the time we reached our hotel (Thanal Beach Resort), we were overwhelmed by the sense of peace and tranquility that comes with being so close to nature. I’m so grateful to AJK travels (based out of Kerala) who organized the entire event – from arranging to have us picked up at the airport, to booking rooms for us and our friends at the hotel, arranging an awesome dance party on the cliff (music, DJs, food and the world cup football qf match on the big screen) it was all taken care off without any stress.

Varkala is truly an amazing stretch of land in Gods Own Country – quaint shops, brilliant food and unbelievable ambience; a heady combination for anyone looking for a time out from the hustle & bustle and stress of everyday working life.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lubna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    624
    199
    46
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My small paradise on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

You have there everything you need to rest and relax: warm water, high waves to jump, nice sand, umbrellas and lots of empty space (it wasn't overcrowded). It lays at the cliff bottom. So to buy anything or go for dinner, you have to go upstairs (at the end of the day it's not so easy;) beautiful, peaceful place to spend time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank zplecakiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun in the surf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Varkala Beach was a delight in that the surf made then swimming / bathing more interesting!Sand was a dark cloud which was a little off- putting. Good choice of cafe / snack bars. Relatively quiet beach in that there were not too many hawkers trying top sell their wares. Those that did frequent the beach were pleasant and not at all pushy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank spikeuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique rock face beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best rock face beaches in the world. Amazing ni life. Tip - stay in home stay, ask them to org the ayurvedic massage.

Helpful?
Thank Dushyant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset, but swimming not often possible.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Unfortunately in Varkala (and also at other beaches in South India) are the waves of the sea are very strong. So you can just go to water to refresh yourself but not really swimming.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hoteltester0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varkala Beach also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Varkala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing