We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little getaway”
Review of Varkala Beach

Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great little getaway”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile



I actually came here several times in sep-nov 2012.

Varkala beach is a really relaxing place, the beach itself is full of locals and westerners alike.

The water can be very harsh at certain times of year , so you should be wary if you are a weaker swimmer.

The usual lot of leering men stare at you even if you are in the full body swimming suit you borrowed off your mum!

The place is surrounded by great restaurants and enough shops and stalls to keep you haggling through the day.

I stayed in nearby Kochin for three months and came back to Varkala time and time again. Love it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    654
    210
    46
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Papanasam beach”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A peaceful and beautiful beach. You can see foreigners as well as locals at the beach. People are really warm and happy. The sea food is delicious. There are no disturbance creating people around which is common at other places.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayatiSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greatest place on earth for me!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Varkala beach is a beautiful place! It is a paradise heaven with the nicest people I have ever met! The water is warm, clean and so inviting, the beaches are kept very clean and have many accommodations of comfort for the visitor! I have come here many times and people always remember me! Savithri cottages on the cliff is my favorite place to stay! Clean spacious rooms with hot water and air conditioning! Very quiet and peaceful setting! A place to rejuvenate! The people are very helpful and care about you having a wonderful experience! It is also just steps from the gorgeous beach! So don't miss this gorgeous coast and all the accommodations but mostly the amazing people that are there in varkala!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Aileen422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kollam, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best beach in Kerala with all tourist facilities.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Varkala beach is a calm and quiet beach in Kerala, I recently with my family visited here and it give me a beautiful experience. The back water here help you to enjoy swimming and yachting .It has many places of tourist attractions like a beautiful beach, an ancient Vishnu Temple and the Ashramam - Sivagiri Mutt a little distance from the beach.
Sree Narayana Guru Mutt, founded by the great Hindu reformer and philosopher Sree Narayana Guru is also near by.
The beach offers excellent accommodation facilities for tourists and have many Ayurvedic curative centers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Najeeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varkala, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice beach”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The good thing about this beach is that you have all the services just above: restaurants, hotels, shops ... but for me that I appreciate the open spaces and quiet, is there too much people. Walking north, 2.5 miles, there is a much wider, natural, quiet beach and, with it, a lake of incomparable beauty. Anyway we are in monsoon season and the swimming is impracticable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varkala Beach also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Varkala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing