We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst "hotel" we stayed at in India!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The worst "hotel" we stayed at in India!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is very basic with not even a sheet on the bed other than that that wraps the mattress! In most rooms the ac did not work including ours, I confronted the manager and he said he would look into it and he left for the night leaving me to go downstairs to the db board to sort the issue. They had now towels as the laundry had not arrived and despite promising hot water they often had none!

There are many cheaper better and better located places in Varkala!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snobman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSHETRA_99, General Manager at Kshetra Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Sir,we thank you for this wonderful comment.we wonder the reason for this avengeful remark ,for single night stay .You booked us thru a travel website which clearly shows your room category(non AC ) and facilities. And it is simply impossible to book an AC roomwith all what you asked @ $22 per night in indian sub continent. We request you to exhibit your booking voucher here for better understanding.
We are having guest from all parts of the planet staying for longer period, yet to make a complaint of not having enough bed linen.

Our hot water is solar and is switched on 24*7 and it is fixed recently ,also under warranty period.
Hope you understand our status . We vouch on quality,location,size of the roomsand cleanliness with anyone in our area in its class.

Still we ,team kshetra apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    26
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
22
43
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great hotel with nice rooms and staff. Close to "cliff walk" and beaches and restaurants. Stayed here for 4 nights.
Highly recommended for any type of travellers. Short stay, long stay, families, solo traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danne_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the property, got the booking done after reading reviews on tripadvisor. Its much better place than what i had expected to be. The beach resort is 10 min walk from cliff beach, place is ideally located where there is no noise pollution. The property is managed by Mr Rajesh and Manju Lal are very co operative in guiding you for any need. The rooms are neat and clean, a small property but beautifully kept and managed. The ground floor rooms are non ac and without TV. Top floor rooms are with TV and AC. We enjoyed our stay out there and will look forward to my next visit to varkala and staying in same property due to hospitality and friendly attitude of staff, Generally all foreigners stay there but ideal place to stay with family.

Room Tip: rooms close to reception is better as wifi connectivity is there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shekhar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have now stayed at Kshetra for three weeks and I will stay a few more days. It has been a fantastic time. The friendly staff make me feel "like home" and they are always supportive and serviceminded. The typical Keralastyle of the house is amazing. The inner court is green, beautiful and relaxing. I feel safe and secure here and it is silent and calm. The rooms are nice and they clean it whenever I ask them to. Bedlinen and towels are fresh and looks new. I have only tried the breakfast, but it tastes good. The wi-fi is one of the best at the Cliff. I can highly recommend Kshetra beach resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my family travelled to varkala which is a quaint beach. The pictures of kshetra inspired us and gave confidence that this will be a top of the line property. The property is newly constructed , however it has just one guy who services the place. The restaurant is not operational, the rooms are basic and don't even have toiletries . Over all very disappointed with the place. If they just get their service aspect right it will be a great place

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank VinayCerejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed here for two days and the experience was nothing short of outstanding!!!

The hospitality of the staff was the best I had ever received elsewhere and all my requirements were promptly met.
The homely and authentic feeling of a Kerala "Naalukettu" is seamlessly replicated here and the topping of the cake was the authentic Kerala cuisine which they spoiled me with :)
The whole infrastructure breathes authenticity and the proximity to the beach and the varkala cliff view point only added spice to the already exciting flavour.
The Cliff gives a stupendous view of the setting sun with the surfing sea spreading the crimson tide beneath your feet....
If only the place had an ayurvedic treatment centre functioning alongside, the rejuventation would've been topped to the hilt.

Would definitely recommend to any of my friends with my eyes closed.
I am sure that the place wont disappoint anyone for what it promises.

Looking for a place to unwind...???
Look no further... your search ends here

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhanushmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Had a stay for 3 days...Having good ambience,calm and quite atmosphere...A very good place to have a weekend bash...Service and cleanliness of rooms were fantastic.Wud defenitely recommend to friends...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savithri Inn
Savithri Inn
#19 of 52 in Varkala
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#33 of 52 in Varkala
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Marine Beach Resort
Blue Marine Beach Resort
#44 of 52 in Varkala
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnolia Guesthouse
Magnolia Guesthouse
#26 of 52 in Varkala
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#20 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kshetra Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kshetra Beach Resorts

Property: Kshetra Beach Resorts
Address: Kshetra Street | North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Varkala
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kshetra Beach Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSHETRA RESORT got its oldest ayurveda. Our tradition is since 1884. Ayurveda company is ISO and GMP CERTIFIED - the only hotel to have this accreditation here at Varkala. Varkala, a quiet suburban coastal town situated in the outskirts of Thiruvananthapuram is the most opted tourist spot in South Kerala. Varkala is quite a unique destination which is characterised by an array of cliffs adjacent to Arabian sea, which is recognized as geographical monument by Geological survey of India. The coastal township is also famous for many religious customs deeply rooted with Kerala’s culture. The serene and beautiful beaches equipped with a widespread sand carpet and fresh water spouts will set the mood warm for a rejuvenating holiday experience. A fabulous swim, a walk by the shore with the gentle waves caressing your feet or the splendid sight of the setting sun on the sea horizon from atop a cliff over hanging the sea; Varkala gives you everything in a platter. To add cream to the topping are the water sports facilities like board surfing and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kshetra Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kshetra Beach Resorts Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing