We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a great experience at this hotel. The staff helped me book Ayurvedic treatments and my transportation. Was a quick walk to the cliffs and night life. The room was clean but basic and there was always wifi and hot water. Overall a great stay for what I payed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estr1fe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    27
    21
    7
    11
See reviews for
23
43
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The good is very good, this resort is based around a traditional Keralan house and garden courtyard and is very comfortable with a wonderful peaceful environment that has been created by the staff. The bad is the poor breakfast, which is very limited, just toast,omlette and coffee OR juice not both. The ugly is the water, regardless of what the management might say to critisims in the tripadvisor reports, the hot water is real problem, just a trickle in the evening and nothing in the morning. Also the cold water has rusty smell due to iron oxides in the water which are present in this part of Kerela, we were assured that it is safe. Despite it's problems, we really enjoyed our stay here, I am just giving you an accurate picture.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAsiaphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSHETRA_99, Owner at Kshetra Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Sir/ma"am,
We appreciate your suggestions and will be looked upon. By your next visit, these reasons will be cleared. Regarding the smell of water, we tested the same with the government lab and the result and the certificate says its safe to use and the smell is due to the abundance of natural iron in water. The result can be scanned and send to you or will try tho put the same among our photographs.inconvenience regretted. Feel free to review us.
See you in next vacation. Keep in touch..cya..best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel has potential. However, the management need to be more organised. Towels were not always in the rooms but could be obtained on request. Rooms were not always cleaned you had to ask. Breakfast was served by one member of staff upstairs. The kitchen downstairs. Not the best breakfast, very minimalistic. Whilst the hotel was small if all the residents arrived for breakfast together there weren't enough seats.
Bedroom and bathroom were large. Only one small window behind the bed, difficult to draw curtain so a little claustrophobic. No glasses in room or anything else for that matter.
if you asked for something it could be done. But shouldn't have to ask!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights here in January 2014.
It wasn't bad considering its India! The rooms generally felt clean and it was in a quiet location and the staff are very helpful. Free wifi.

The water has a rusty metallic smell ( both hot and cold ) which I believe originates from the solar panel heating on the roof for the water.

No restaurant but I believe this is going to change in the next few months.

If you need somewhere to stay for a night. This place is safe and quiet but don't wash anything in the water. My lovely swimming shorts are no longer blue and white but rusty orange and blue :(.

It is India after all!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 242Olie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This quiet, relaxing hotel is set around a large open green courtyard where you can sit and read or just daydream. You can walk to the cliff or black sand beach within minutes. Very friendly staff and would recommend this to anyone visiting Varkala.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rykyryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is very basic with not even a sheet on the bed other than that that wraps the mattress! In most rooms the ac did not work including ours, I confronted the manager and he said he would look into it and he left for the night leaving me to go downstairs to the db board to sort the issue. They had now towels as the laundry had not arrived and despite promising hot water they often had none!

There are many cheaper better and better located places in Varkala!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snobman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSHETRA_99, General Manager at Kshetra Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Sir,we thank you for this wonderful comment.we wonder the reason for this avengeful remark ,for single night stay .You booked us thru a travel website which clearly shows your room category(non AC ) and facilities. And it is simply impossible to book an AC roomwith all what you asked @ $22 per night in indian sub continent. We request you to exhibit your booking voucher here for better understanding.
We are having guest from all parts of the planet staying for longer period, yet to make a complaint of not having enough bed linen.

Our hot water is solar and is switched on 24*7 and it is fixed recently ,also under warranty period.
Hope you understand our status . We vouch on quality,location,size of the roomsand cleanliness with anyone in our area in its class.

Still we ,team kshetra apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great hotel with nice rooms and staff. Close to "cliff walk" and beaches and restaurants. Stayed here for 4 nights.
Highly recommended for any type of travellers. Short stay, long stay, families, solo traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danne_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#33 of 52 in Varkala
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnolia Guesthouse
Magnolia Guesthouse
#26 of 52 in Varkala
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Marine Beach Resort
Blue Marine Beach Resort
#45 of 52 in Varkala
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#19 of 52 in Varkala
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kshetra Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kshetra Beach Resorts

Property: Kshetra Beach Resorts
Address: Kshetra Street | North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kshetra Beach Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSHETRA RESORT got its oldest ayurveda. Our tradition is since 1884. Ayurveda company is ISO and GMP CERTIFIED - the only hotel to have this accreditation here at Varkala. Varkala, a quiet suburban coastal town situated in the outskirts of Thiruvananthapuram is the most opted tourist spot in South Kerala. Varkala is quite a unique destination which is characterised by an array of cliffs adjacent to Arabian sea, which is recognized as geographical monument by Geological survey of India. The coastal township is also famous for many religious customs deeply rooted with Kerala’s culture. The serene and beautiful beaches equipped with a widespread sand carpet and fresh water spouts will set the mood warm for a rejuvenating holiday experience. A fabulous swim, a walk by the shore with the gentle waves caressing your feet or the splendid sight of the setting sun on the sea horizon from atop a cliff over hanging the sea; Varkala gives you everything in a platter. To add cream to the topping are the water sports facilities like board surfing and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kshetra Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kshetra Beach Resorts Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing