We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, super view, clean, expensive (Varkala=GREAT)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thanal Beach Resort
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hi
spent 2 nts in the Thanal Hotel. - just in the middle and on top of the cliffs !!! (if u reach with "huge" luggage, I recommend to reach the hotel from the backside street (very narrow) - otherwise u have to carry ur luggage from the Helipad point. (approx 300 meters)
we had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea - wow
room was a bit expensive (3K) , brkfst included in the nearby italian restorant (nice place!)
room was good, clean, hot water etc. - but no TV
PS: Varkala is a nice place to relax some days - u can also get a lot of cheaper rooms
cheeers
Schlampi

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Thanal Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights at Thanal resort (the newer one on middle cliff) and really enjoyed my stay there. The room is massive and the shower excellent. The only thing is that it is very open air (as most places in India) with bathroom window that let's anything fly in! It didn't bother me too much but I had to kill an insect of some sort every day. There are not too many mosquitos but I would recommend they get the plug with the mosquito repelling scent that all the other places seem to have. Otherwise it's a fabulous location as it's right in the action!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Slee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the newer Thanal accommodation near to the helipad end of the cliff path, not Thanal north. There are photos of both on trip advisor.

Our accommodation was a fantastic end to our Kerala trip. The room was spotless and we loved the lighting, furniture and bamboo detail. The balcony looked out to sea although the guest house is set back from the cliff, and we could watch the sun set from the balcony.

The staff were great, and the owner offered us plates of papaya on two evenings! We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to others.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Subhash, the owner, is so wonderful and welcoming and he just adds to the fantastic nature of this place. It has huge, lovely modern rooms and at a very good price. Perfect location right in the heart of everything. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed in Thanal twice in 2013. We were impressed beyond expectations with customer service, comfort and affordability both times. We have also referred this hotel to our friends, and on our second stay, stayed along with them. I love the interior decoration. The bathrooms are full of light. We stayed on the top floor both times; once in a corner room, the other time in a non-corner room. All were sea-facing (all rooms here are sea-facing) with amazing views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We booked months ahead of our trip and we so happy with our choice once we got there. The staff was super friendly and helpful and the room was modern, quiet and got cleaned every day. The price was absolutely fair and the place worth every cent.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ricbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just got back from Thanal hotel in Varkala and we loved it so much we stayed seven days longer than we had originally intended. We didn't want to move on, it was so good so we stayed ten nights instead of three.
The location is perfect - on a cliff top literally at the ocean's edge. Our lovely air conditioned room had a big balcony and an amazing ocean view, we were lulled to sleep every night by the pounding surf. This was excellent value for money - a beautiful room, very well designed, comfortable beds and a good supply of solar heated water. It was spotlessly clean. We loved this hotel and plan to return for a longer stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Top floor for the views, Room 8 or Room 9.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2wizlons5546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.5 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
2.0 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanal Beach Resort

Address: Papanasam Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: £35 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Front rooms. Big, very clean rooms with a beautiful view on the sea. AC rooms. Hot shower 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thanal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanal Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing