We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could easily have stayed longer...”
Review of Skylark Hotel

Skylark Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skylark Hotel
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could easily have stayed longer...”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Arriving well after 1am, the manager, Deepak was on hand to receive and show us our rooms. Spacious, clean and colourfully furnished - exactly what was required after a long day of travelling from the north. After breakfast later that morning, his assistant, Sundays(sp?) escorted us to the beach, which is in easy proximity. In retrospect, being slightly away from the beach is an advantage, particularly if you're looking for some quiet time, as the seafront area tends to be quite busy into the night. Shops and restaurants are open for business.
Skylark - and its partner hotel, Sherin Cottage (opposite, where breakfast is served) are wonderfully tranquil places that quickly impress on you the famously laidback atmosphere that Kerala is known for.
In addition to which, both Deepak and his assistant were extremely knowledgeable about local services, and recommended places of interest and current events we wouldn't have known about otherwise. These included a good quality Ayurvedic clinic (important), spas for massage (ditto), a festival and connecting us to a superb houseboat operator for the backwater cruise which followed. We spent three very comfortable and relaxed nights at Skylark and I'd have gladly extended my stay at this charming hotel were it not for the cruise.

Room Tip: If you're looking for good wi-fi connection, ask to be placed in the rooms by the upstairs veran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad_class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My friend Paul and I stayed here for a few nights and Deepak and his assistant (Sandase?) were both extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has everything you need - including some nice hammocks to swing on! It is a short walk to the cliff where all the shops and restaurants are located (5 minutes). They will even walk you there the first time so you know where you are going. As a female traveller, I felt very safe staying here and I was delighted by the personal touches (like Sandase remembering how I liked my eggs cooked for breakfast). Varkala is an awesome town and staying at Skylark will enhance your experience, especially if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We intended to stay a couple days and ended up spending 2 weeks here. Deepak, our host was very accommodating and friendly. He was able to suggest many things to do in the area and was always very pleasant. The hotel was clean and safe and just a short 5 minute walk to the cliff. The room was quiet and private, we liked just hanging out on the porches and reading. Varkala was great, once we settled in here it was definitely hard to leave!

Room Tip: The Sherrin Cottage is right across the street and run by the same people, both are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Our stay at this hotel was extremely pleasant and this is thanks to the superb staff who are very welcoming and attentive. The hotel is a short walk from the cliff but the staff made sure they walked us to the beach so we knew exactly where it is. They also make a lovely breakfast. The room was clean and with very comfy beds. Internet was reliable. I highly recommend this place and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Skylark is not on the cliff, ok, but it's only a few minutes to walk to the beach. The beds are sooo comfy and Deepak, the manager, definitly makes it a perfect place to stay. Was planning on 2 nights, ended up spending 4! Very good adress in Varkala.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alixtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kollam
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

As the title suggests, the rooms and facilities were remarkably clean and cool and the beds were comfortable. The staff was great; polite and helpful in any way. Great value with breakfast and wifi included. we would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinjoensuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Spent 4 nights at Skylark over January 2013.
Great value for money , basic beach style accommodation. Very handy location , only a 4-5 minute walk to the cliff.

Deepak was an amazing host, having notified him we would arrive at 7pm , after some travel delays getting there he was still awake and accommodating at 2.30am when we finally arrived. He walked us to the cliff in the morning so we could find our way, and provided recommendations for the best restaurants around.

If you are looking to stay at Varkala on a budget, you cant go past this place. Great place to chat with other travellers over the complimentary breakfast also provided. Has WiFi as well in case you need to catch up with the outside world

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matai_sw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
936 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.0 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#22 of 52 in Varkala
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Hotel

Property: Skylark Hotel
Address: Tirumvambadi Road, Varkala, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skylark is just opened after it has been renovated with new surfaces both in- and outside. It is really fresh with new mattresses, pillows and sheets. In garden there are hammocks and a small patio. Skylark also give guests access to a kitchen. It is really affordable and worth being mentioned at Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Skylark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylark Hotel Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing