We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Varkala”
Review of Savithri Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Savithri Inn
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Kerala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Varkala”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Lovely new, clean, large bungalows, all with hot water, AC optional. The bungalows are set in a beautiful, well maintained garden. It's very peaceful here. It's not right on the cliff, but just behind, which is better in my opinion as it makes it that much more peaceful. You can walk down to Black Beach in 3 minutes and the main cliff with all the restaurants, etc in1 minute. The manager is also very helpful.
I've looked at other places since coming here, I have been offered cheaper, but haven't seen any as good value as this. The manager tells me the place has been open for 1 year, everything looks well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    22
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
29
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This place is great. Like many other travellers in Varkala, we were deceived by the rickshaw drivers at the train station who are commissioned to bad-mouth other hotels and take you to specific places where they get a hefty payout. We ended up in one such place which was dirty, noisy and the walls weren't filled in properly so it was full of mosquitoes. Eventually we were suggested Savitri Inn and were amazed at how nice it was at half the price! The rooms are spotless, and on your room's veranda is a fan, perfect for sitting outside in the hot days. Although we didn't need it, there is instant hot water. Overall, this place is a bargain, and although it's placed back from the road, it's much closer to the beach than most other resorts on the strip. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem the same quality, and are in a peaceful hammocked garden away from the noise of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ouzlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
145 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We came here after staying at another place in Varkala which was'n that good. We were suprised to see such a nice, new and clean resort. The cottages were super, a big clean room and clean bathroom (with hot water), and a veranda outside with two chairs and a table. We payed only rs 800 a night, which is a bargain, especially when you compaire it to other places where the charge the same. The resort isn't located a the cliffs, but you won't miss that at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

After disappointment with our original hotel that we had booked into, which was dirty and didn't have the things specified on their hotel outline, we were relieved to find accommodation at Savithri Inn. The staffs were extremely accommodating and could not have been more helpful.
The room was exceptionally clean, everything was new and comfortable.
Great location, had a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCL_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#21 of 50 in Varkala
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Varkala
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#22 of 50 in Varkala
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savithri Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savithri Inn

Property: Savithri Inn
Address: | Thiruvambadi Beach, North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Savithri Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are good. Close to Beach and Tibetan market. We are OPEN under new ownership from November 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Savithri Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savithri Inn Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing