We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Walking along the winding footpath from Varkala’s busy North Cliff my husband and I came across the charming compound of Samsara Harmony. A group of tile roof bungalows set around a lovely pool, not more then 50 yards from the beach - a tranquil and photogenic setting to be sure. We knew instantly that this was where we wanted to be! A day later, after checking out of our hotel on Varkala's North Cliff, we were breathing the relaxing air of Odayam.
The rooms are spacious, well appointed, newly finished and meticulously clean. The rooms are in fact so large, and well set up with storage & furnishings, that one could easily stay quite comfortably for an extended stay, 4 days was not enough!
A few steps away down the hillside, is the hotels beach-side restaurant, which has a large open air dining gazebo, and tiled seating areas to watch the sunset. The restaurant serves wonderful fresh local foods with friendly, accommodating service. The entire staff at Samsara has gone out of their way to offer any amenities that we might need, while managing to not be pushy or intrusive.
Our time at Samsara has been relaxing and very enjoyable, we have already recommended it to friends & hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: Both AC and non AC rooms are good - and one of the non AC rooms we saw was really big - and would be...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridgid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

Ten minutes drive from Varkala city we found this beautiful quiet resort. Very good atmosphere and service, nice personell on a new built small resort beach hotel. Excellent food in the restaurant, especially the seafood. Two minutes walk to nearest beaches and 15 minutes walk to the Varkala beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivTorunn190511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

First visit to India has exceeded our expecations so far. After a couple of days we found Samsara Harmony Beach Resort at the Odayam Beach Varkala just north of the famous North Cliff. Nothing like having a nice breakfast or dinner at their restaurant down by the sea, watching the dolphins swim close by og seeing the fishers coming in with their catch. The 8 rooms in the 6 cottages are placed around a nice pool where our children have been spending some time. The cottage, which was cleaned every day, was well equipped with both hot and cold water, air conditioning and fan, and even a small kitchen. And all the staff was very service minded and helpful. Even a trip to the hospital was carefully taken care of by the manager. We give our best recommendations to this beach resort and if coming back to Kerala we will come back here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bente A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I found this delightful place in Odayam after walking the cliff walk from Varkala. What a pleasant surprise to find a place right on the beach with it's own swimming pool. I moved immediately from the congestion of Varkala. Instead of a wall of shops blocking the view and lining the beach walk I had an uninterrupted view of the ocean from my bungalow and from the little restaurant Pergolas, that are almost on the rocks, the sea was all around. The bungalows are well appointed, of generous size and the outside balcony was perfect for gazing at the sea and reading. The ocean is quite rough after a storm and the pool was most welcome. I believe they have only just opened and Wi Fi is coming as is a bigger restaurant. Get to this place before it's "discovered" as i am sure the prices will soar. They could do with some better sign posts to Varkala beach as it's a bit difficult to find by road

Room Tip: They are all good, the front ones have the best view but a few people walk past you occasionally.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SylviaScaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This place is great! Beautiful views of the ocean, nice beach, cozy cottages with a large comfortable bed and clean swimming pool with hydromassage and a zone for children. The hotel is located in a quiet place, there are not much people and it's a good place for meditation! In the restaurant, very good food and friendly helpful staff. I had a rest with the child 1.5 years, it was very convenient to put him to sleep in the afternoon in the summer-house by the ocean, he slept for 4 hours! Up to the cliff with its restaurants, shops you can take a ricksha for 10 minutes, for 150 rupees. Ricksha rides directly to the hotel. You can reach to the cliff on the beach in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We spent our best 5 days during our journey in India in this hotel! It's situated in a beutiful place with it's own beach. The staff is very polite and helpful. The rooms are very clean with a lot of daylight and big balcony. Furthermore it has got a lovely pool. The food is also very tasty. All in all it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Very pretty place, big rooms, very clean. It has a lovely beach not to close to the main beach. Good price, nice pool, walking distance to the village, but also a restaurant directly at the hotel. Lovely decoration and lots of flowers. It was the nicest hotel we had during our holyday in india.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.9 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Harmony Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Harmony Beach Resort

Address: Near Manthara Temple | Varkala,Trivandrum, Kerala State, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £42 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort, an oceanfront paradise, located on the tranquil north shores of Odayam Beach in Varkala. This relaxing enclave is located minutes away from Kappil beach and the renowed 2000 year-old Janardhanaswamy temple, situated at Papanasham beach. Harmoniously integrated in its surrounding, Samsara Harmony Beach Resort boasts beautiful private oceanfront cottages, with pristine white and black sand beaches, a sparkling swimming pool and laushes tropical gardens, at your door step. This resort has 9 rooms including two-double-storied cottages (on the ground floor- with attached kitchen with all the cooking ) facilities and 7 single cottages (without kitchen). Enjoy the comfort of these nine sea-faced cottage rooms all of which have sit outs that brings a flow of natural sunlight and breezy ambiance. Just to remaind you that this resort has a beautiful beach just in front. (From Nov to Feb) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samsara Harmony Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing