We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed the place. It's a 20min walk from Varkala and has beautiful sea views.

We really enjoyed relaxing by the pool and using the jacuzzi and the food was excellent, we had chicken tikka, momo's, Tom yum soup and muesli with curd fresh fruit and honey all of which was superb.

On our last night we sat down by the beach and were lucky enough to see the dolphins playing in the sea about 50m away.

Great all round experience would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ChefFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    25
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
59
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights (13 to 15 November'2013) with my family. I looked for a serene private place with nice sea view, which my old age parents could enjoy sitting at the cottage itself and at the same time, my young kids should love it too. Samsara Harmony resort fit into my requirements and we all really had a real fun time at this resort. The road to the resort is under repair, but as escort was readily sent before our arrival at the main road of Odayam beach, our driver of Innova we hired reached safely Odayam Beach following the escort biker. Hospitality of Mr Naushad (Manager) and his willingness to serve the guests whole-heartedly was appreciable. My family appreciated me for selection of the resort for its' location just above the Beach in a tranquil area, the nice small swimming pool ideal for children and tasteful artistic decor of the entire resort with beautiful individual cottages. 15 minute walk to the Verkala beach along the sea shore itself was quite a fun.Restaurant ofcourse needs to improve on vegetarian & other cuisine, but all attempts were made to serve the desired dishes by the polite staff of Samsara Harmony resort..The attached balcony in front of cottage with unobstructed view of the sea was a wonderful sit out place in late evening. And about the Manager, who was so friendly and helpful. he came almost 20 kilometers away to the main highway, just to return my Nikon camera that I forgot at the resort while checking out and ensured that we didnt have to travel all the way back to Varkal for collecting the camera. Thanks Naushad for the wonderful Varkala beach experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DipakJivnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silchar, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights and 3 days in October2013 with my wife. We looked for a quiet private place in a nice location and searched through net to select this place. When I mailed asking to book ,Manager promptly confirmed.As the road to the hotel was under repair , we had to take a diversion and the driver of the car we hired failed to reach Odayam Beach- We contacted the Manager and he rushed to pilot us to the resort.As soon as we entered,my wife appreciated me for my selection of the resort for its' location just above the Beach in a tranquil area, the cleanliness and tasteful decor of the entire resort with beautiful individual cottages, nice pool with Jacuzzi and the privacy.Although it was off season and beach at Odayam was still submerged under water , there was a small lonely cove nearby.Black Beach,the all weather popular beachfront is about 10 min.walk. The Palm Tree Heritage Restuarant is about 5 min walk and food there was good and moderately priced.All the cottages have attached balcony in front with unobstructed view of the sea. We could see Dolphins dancing in water sitting at the balcony. And about the Manager who was so friendly and helpful.It was off season and restuarant was closed for refurbishment.He himself prepared and served nice Breakfast for us and when I sought direction for some shopping,he happily took me on his Scooter to the market and also showed few places of interest at Varkala.He also arranged very good Ayurvedic Massage for us at a moderate price.Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: cottages at the front side near the pool offer great sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniruddha-Ujjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

At Varkala, this is without a doubt the best place to stay. It may be slightly difficult to find by road, but well worth the effort.

It is completely isolated from the crowd and chaos of the tourist hub of north cliff. A charming little pool-cum-jacuzzi adorns the front courtyard. The cottages are beautiful from the outside, clean, comfortable and well-maintained from the inside, with great views from a small balcony of the pool and the sea. Despite the isolation, it is just a 15 minute walk along the sea wall from the main beach, and 20 minutes from the shops and restaurants of north cliff. If you aren't the walking type, an autorickshaw will take you there in 10 minutes for about 150 bucks.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. When we were coming in, the manager came up to the main road 4-5 km away to guide us in. When my daughter got a little ill, he drove to town in the late evening to get medicine on his motorcycle. Even though the place is essentially Bed&Breakfast, his wife cooked a nice home-made dinner for us one night. One of the guys climbed the coconut trees on the property when we expressed a desire to have fresh coconut milk with breakfast. While leaving, I left my cellphone in my room, and once again, the manager drove to the railway station to return it to me. Without a doubt, these are good people.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShivGahlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. It was the perfect location for us, about a 15 minute walk to the centre of Varkala past some lovely restaurants. The hosts are brilliant and can't do enough for you. The pool is great, a real luxury in Varkala where the beaches and sea are not ideal for swimming/bathing all year round. They are opening a restaurant soon so once open, this will be a great resort

Room Tip: There are some rooms with kitchens so not really necessary unless you want to cook, the fridge was h...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sek99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. The room was very musty, it took us a good day to air our room out. We found that most rooms in Varkala smelt musty so It must have been because of Monsoon Season. Pradeep was a lovely manager, extremely helpful and made our breakfast daily. He organised a scooter which we rented for 300 R per 24 hours. This was handy as the restaurants are a good 15 minute walk away, 20 minutes if you dawdle. It cost 150R one way to get to the restaurants so decided the best value would be scooter. We had the whole place to ourselves as it was off peak season. We had a room with a kitchen, although there were no plates, glasses or pots and pans to use should we wanted to cook dinner in our room. The rooms are serviced every second day. You only get one bottle of water for your room per day so any other water you request during your stay will be additional costs.

Room Tip: If you are travelling during monsoon season ask the manager to air your room out throuroughly before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinnese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very nice small resort away from the hawkers of Varkala.
Well presented huts with a veranda overlooking the pool.
As it was the start of the season and pretty quiet, breakfast was made by the manager and delivered to our veranda every day, an omelette, toast and jam and fruit salad, pleasant.
The beach is a 2 minute walk away but not suitable for swimming, there's a pool for that.
The North cliff is a 16 minute walk away or a 10 minute auto ride to the helipad.
The only issue I have with this place is that it is a bit difficult to get to from the road, ie long, narrow and partly next to cliff. Also if you're trying to get back from the north cliff the autos stop at around 10.30. Having said that I always managed to find someone to take me, a good drop off point is a 5 minute walk from the beach front.

Room Tip: Some have kitchens, some don't. Some are up, some are downstairs. It depends on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.8 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
1.9 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#22 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsara Harmony Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Harmony Beach Resort

Property: Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Address: Near Manthara Temple | Varkala,Trivandrum, Kerala State, Varkala 695311, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort, an oceanfront paradise, located on the tranquil north shores of Odayam Beach in Varkala. This relaxing enclave is located minutes away from Kappil beach and the renowed 2000 year-old Janardhanaswamy temple, situated at Papanasham beach. Harmoniously integrated in its surrounding, Samsara Harmony Beach Resort boasts beautiful private oceanfront cottages, with pristine white and black sand beaches, a sparkling swimming pool and laushes tropical gardens, at your door step. This resort has 9 rooms including two-double-storied cottages (on the ground floor- with attached kitchen with all the cooking ) facilities and 7 single cottages (without kitchen). Enjoy the comfort of these nine sea-faced cottage rooms all of which have sit outs that brings a flow of natural sunlight and breezy ambiance. Just to remaind you that this resort has a beautiful beach just in front. (From Nov to Feb) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Samsara Harmony Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing