We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raj Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnolia Guesthouse(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karthika Plaza Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$14
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanctum Spring Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Black Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$24
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
19
6
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
6
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterclean roomsnorth cliffmirrorbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Really nice friendly, family run place, the other 3 hotels next door are all owned by other brothers and all similar. The rooms were clean with good mosquito nets and nice beds. A little small but very good value and location with a balcony and hammock. We also organised a cooking class with the sister in law and cooked the most amazing thali I have ever had! Would really recommend it. Learned 6 different dishes for only 300rupees! And such a nice lady

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Rosymaybud3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We arrived at Raj Palace with the intention to stay a week. When we left 11 days had gone by. The building consists of 6 rooms. The 3 rooms upstairs with balcony and hammock have very good matresses. The room is clean, there is hot water. We just had such a lovely stay there. Owners are very sweet and relaxed. Definitely would come back and/or advise this place to everyone. Don't forget to negotiate about the price ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have the best beds!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carina850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Honestly that was the best mattress and one of the more cleans rooms I stayed in my last trip on India, I was planing to stay there for two nights but I stayed for 5.
The owner are very nice people, if you want to spoil your body for few night spent some nights here.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
8  Thank DoriQLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Bright, clean and new, Raj Palace is on a little lane just off the main cliff front. Rooms are very clean, beds are big with mosquito nets, there is complimentary tea in the morning.

Rooms upstairs are way better with nice balcony and the best beds in India. You can sit outside the rooms downstairs on a shared terrace but it is not as private as upstairs.

Wifi is strong and reliable.

Great budget hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DigitalisPurpurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here for 12 nights over Christmas 2012. We chose the Raj Palace after tramping along the cliff front looking at either pricey, or grotty and pricey rooms. It's is at the North end of the cliff about 50 metres off the front down a quiet alleyway. Its pretty much brand spanking new and has the most comfortable beds we encountered in our 9 week trip. The owner took great pride in the mattresses which cost him 8,500 rupees per single bed. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but big enough and the beds have a proper full mosquito net. There's free wi-fi which worked reasonably well in the room. A box of mineral water was provided and replenished and charged at pretty much cost price. They clean the rooms when you ask and change towels and bed linen.
All in all we very much enjoyed our stay with a friendly family who take great pride in their accomodation and service. Highly recommend it to anyone wanting a simple, extremely clean and quiet place within 50 metres of restaurants, shops and the beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more privacy. The downstairs rooms open onto the track leading down to the cliff and beach.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bazncaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews