We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding food, unparalleled location”

Palm Tree Heritage Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 87 Restaurants in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, unparalleled location”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We ate here our first meal in Varkala, and were so impressed by our lunch that we went back a few days later to have our last meal in town there, as well. It measured up completely! The tables on the beach near the ocean lent a lovely ambiance, and the staff is very professional and friendly. They didn't have the white wine I wanted to go with my meal, so sent someone to a nearby shop to pick some up! I would absolutely make sure to stop in if you're in the area and enjoy an excellent meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbathgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    30
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Kerala”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Fantastic meal on the beach. Grilled red snapper and butter chicken were amazing. Service was good and we had breakfast here as we were staying at the Palm Tree Annex. That was good but the only let down was the soggy toast.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank notginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Unlucky?”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Had a snack and two drinks there after swimming from the nearby beach.

Great location but my lime soda was warm, flat and tasted as if the lime had been squeezed some time ago. Water mellon juice was poor amd the fish pakora had tough batter and the fish was over cooked. Certainly the worse food and drink we had during our 6 weeks in Kerala and prices were higher than the norm.

However the staff were very busy dealing with a stream of arrivals and departures. Several of the former appeared not to have the room type they booked or no room at all.

In a less stressful time the restaurant may have been better but with the wealth of other places to eat in the area we won't return.

Helpful?
Thank HertsOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in the area”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The food here was consistently excellent. We were in the area for over two weeks and ended up eating here every other night. The vegetarian dishes and the nans were the best we had during our 6 weeks of travelling in India. The fish in banana leaf was one of the best meals I have ever had. However, the tables are outside and are dimly lit by candle light. We had to use our torches to see what we were eating!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank saharaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Located right on the beach, Palm Tree Heritage serves up a mean meal. Go either for lunch or dinner to savor their fresh catch in interesting local spices. Do remember to ask Babu for his recommendations and definitely stick to it! Their breakfast is modest but the advantage of having it on the beach is something else.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palm Tree Heritage Restaurant also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Palm Tree Heritage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing