We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hill View Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We reached Varkala late at around 10 pm so did not get much of a chance to look around for hotels. Our driver initially took us to the hotel adjacent to hillview but after seeing both rooms hillview was the clear winner. A great off season rate of 1200 for non Ac rooms, after a little bargaining was the icing on the cake. The location is perfect. On the north cliff and a few steps from the stairs that lead to the amazing beach below. We got more than our money's worth as the room was clean and very spacious. Service is a bit of concern specially after 10 pm. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarafashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Hill View Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

This is the first time that we have taken the aid of internet to plan our trip, otherwise, it had always been word of mouth. This time we combined it and decided on this hotel to spend the weekend, which turned out to be a wise decision. We had small children with us so the room size and cleanliness was on our priority. The hotel gave us two options..to choose from sea facing rooms or take the cottages which were at the back side of the hotel. there's hardly any difference in the two except for some minor difference financially(In this season cottage's cost if Rs.1500 and hotel room Rs. 1800, both AC), so we chose a sea facing room on 1st floor. It is May end and thus the rains have started in the region but we got lucky and got to spend enough time at the beach. though it is said that there is a separate beach for foreigners and family but we could see no such thing.
The hotel staff is pleasant and provided us good service.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_india80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We spent 4 nights at Hill View. The location was great, close to restaurants of the North Cliff. We had an upstairs room, with a balcony and lovely sea view. Our A/C room was large with the biggest (and nicest) bathroom we had on our trip. That being said, we had some problems with the plumbing in our room which were fixed, though our room did smell a bit wierd afterwards. All in all, the room was very good value, as we did check out visit a few other hotels on the cliff before deciding on Hillview. However, I do believe we got offered a very competitive rate as it was low season.

The staff were ok, though our rooms were not cleaned daily, nor fresh towels supplied. I had some laundry done, and they came back smelling rather smoky. The big plus was the excellent Cafe Del Mar restaurant in front of the hotel, with excellent food and free wifi. In summary, Hill View was the best value hotel we stayed at in India.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MochaChoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Moved here after two very uncomfortable nights at the Akhil Beach Resort.
Rooms were large as was the bathroom and were a good standard (for India and the price we paid)
We had a seaview and the balcony was nice.
Staff were generally nice and the attached Cafe Del Mar was one of the best restaurants we tried in Varkala.

A good place to stay which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask to view rooms first
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmerdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in first floor room 101 our son had lower one opposite, room cleaned everyday, clean sheets and towels, great view from balcony, breakfast included, 2500 rupees per night per room. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We thought this was a good budget hotel, we stayed in one of the cottages, which was clean and comfy, own terrace to sit on and was just what we needed. We stayed here for 4 nights and were very satisfied. Down side was the manager guy, he was so sullen and passed by on numerous occasions without a goodmorning, evening etc. The young boys who cleaned and serviced the hotel were different they all greeted us and seemed keen to help if you required anything. The other negative was the taxi driver come travel agent, this guy was so pushy he was unbelievable, my husband eventually had a word with him as he pestered the life out of you to hire his cab, his trips etc. On leaving and settling up the bill, the manager reminded us that we had not paid for breakfast that morning , this was clearly an oversight and we paid in full. after that he did not bother to thank us or ask if we enjoyed etc, so we jumped in our taxi and he told us he was coming too as he was going into town! dont think so pal!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloomingheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

After walking the strip and checking out all the bungalow like hotels we liked the look of, the Hill View stood out as the best of the bunch. We stayed for five nights. We love the beach but like a measure of privacy and quiet for hanging out as well and the Hill View provided this. We had an upstairs room with a peek a view of the sea. The room was large with a fridge (big bonus for us) and the biggest bathroom I've ever seen in India. Optional (and very pricey Rs 3500) air conditioning would have been nice be we opted for the cheaper fan - they just don't give you the air conditioning remote (Rs 2000) and tho it was a little hot, it was bearable. Breakfast was included and okay, but not as good as ordering off the menu at their cafe Cafe del Mar (which was excellent), so consider this when deciding on included breakfast options - there were nice rooms at the back without the view that were less expensive and didn't include breakfast (Rs. 1500) All in all we were happy with the Hill View as a pretty good mid-range option.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twangypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Beach Resort

Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £19 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is beautifully located on top of the spectacular and unique red cliff on the seashore with magnificent views, offering comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden setting with small pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hill View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill View Beach Hotel Varkala
Hill View Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing