We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good, very clean and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“very good, very clean and very friendly”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

there are a lot of options in verkala. but i was really very happy with my choice. the location near the beach and the cafe del mere on cliffs is perfect. i really enjoyed it. i wish the crew of hill view all the best. i will come back

Room Tip: there are no pool are fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kommschon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    49
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
53
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed late october and first november in this excellent family run hotel. Absolutely worth the money. Good beds, hot shows - rooms that embrace you the moment walking in. Very friendly people willing to help you in every way. In front of hotel the restaurant Cafe del Mar (same family) - only the best of the best food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varkala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We liked...
- the size of them, very spacious, we're a family of four and there was ample space for the whole family: one double bed and one double mattress and still lots of floor space. Also liked the veranda.
-the good location, it takes less than a minute to walk to the cliff top but the cottages are set back from the hustle and bustle so it's very quiet and private. Also it's great for kids as there's a little grassy communal garden.
-the cottages are cleaned on a daily basis when requested. And the cleaners are doing a brilliant job!
-the cottages are reasonably prized.

We slept well, but the beds are pretty hard, mind it's standard in India, we've travelled for three months here and slept in everything from what feels like a plank to very comfortable firm beds.

All in all we'd highly recommend Hill View!We liked...
- the size of them, very spacious, we're a family of four and there was ample space for the whole family: one double bed and one double mattress and still lots of floor space. Also liked the veranda.
-the good location, it takes less than a minute to walk to the cliff top but the cottages are set back from the hustle and bustle so it's very quiet and private. Also it's great for kids as there's a little grassy communal garden.
-the cottages are cleaned on a daily basis when requested. And the cleaners are doing a brilliant job!
-the cottages are reasonably prized.

We slept well, but the beds are pretty hard, mind it's standard in India, we've travelled for three months here and slept in everything from what feels like a plank to very comfortable firm beds.

All in all we'd highly recommend Hill View!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

We booked a deluxe room at Hill View after checking out of another place because we were so disappointed. Before choosing the deluxe room we were shown a cottage, which was a great size with a fan and was amazingly cheap but it had a really thin mattress and the comfortable bed in the deluxe room swung the deal for us. It was slightly more expensive then we would normally pay but the manager gave us a discount as we were staying for 7 nights.
The deluxe room came with A/C, a patio and a bath tub. Beach towels were also provided and were changed every day. The room was cleaned every day too.

We weren't disappointed with our choice as we slept really well in the super comfy bed. We ate in the attached restaurant a number of times & even had pizza delivered to our room one evening.

The staff keep the grounds very tidy by cleaning & sweeping every morning. It really is a pleasant place to relax.

As is often the case in India, there were a couple of annoyances but nothing major: The wi-fi connection was a bit intermittent (caused in part by the frequent power cuts) and we had problems with the hot water on a couple of occasions.

A good place to relax on North Cliff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walsined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed in a cute bungalow with fan and found it a really cool, quiet spot in the heat and it was great value. The staff were nothing but completely helpful, chatty and friendly especially the manager. Hill view has an attached restaurant which in my opinion is the best in the area for variety and taste. Overall, an excellent stay in a beautiful location and highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattatootoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varkala, India
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2012

best location right at the cliff. spacious clean rooms, lovely quiet garden bungalows.environment conscious owner! only place at the cliff with own water treatment, waste management and biogas and solar facilities.
good restaurant up front, friendly service,great espresso
there was no yoga on the premises when i was there, but ayurvedic and yoga places are just around the corner. all in all a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: the garden bungalows are real good value for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the hill view for 3 weeks in september, after a similar legnth of stay last year. We were so happy we had no qualms in booking again for this year, I travelled with my daughter and young son, and all shared one room. The only problem I had with the rooms is that the beds are quite hard. However I am assured by my daughter that they feel harder than they are due to my age! As the people at the Hill View recognised us from last year, they gave us a really good deal. We had an AC room, but were given it at a discount as we did not waqnt the AC. The room we had was also conected to the generator, and absolute must with a small child, as the power cuts this year were long and frequent. The food in the attatched cafe, the Cafe Del Mar is superb, and very reasonably priced. The food can be brought to your room at no extra cost. The complex is right on the cliff top, but is gated at night, with a security guard. More to keep away dogs than people I think.

The rooms are spotless, with good quality furniture and plenty of storage. There is also a small balcony and a great TV package, if, like us, you are in the room in the evenings due to sleeping children etc. The bathrooms are lovely, with proper bath tubs., and endless hot water. A nice touch is the extra beach towels that are provided, along with bathroom towels

Rooms and facilities were being upgraded whilst we were there, and it looks as if it will be even nicer in a few weeks.

WiFi is available in the rooms also, which is another nice touch.

The staff, both Sanu in the Hill View office and the people in the cafe are lovely, and are very helpful.

We will be visiting Varkala next year and will again choose this place.

Room Tip: WiFi available in 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Varkala
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 49 in Varkala
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 49 in Varkala
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Beach Resort

Property: Hill View Beach Resort
Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is beautifully located on top of the spectacular and unique red cliff on the seashore with magnificent views, offering comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden setting with small pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hill View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill View Beach Hotel Varkala
Hill View Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing