We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Threatened by night-guard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Threatened by night-guard”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

My wife happened to be in need of a toilet about 10 minutes after the Café was closed. She passed the open gate where a night guard was sitting. After she returned he seemed to realize that she was no guest of the resort and he got angry. She said she was sorry but he was getting more and more angry. I tried to calm him down, his reaction was to threaten me with a huge wooden stick. Really great experience, especially as

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius_cgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    49
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
53
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We booked this family run hotel last minute on Christmas Eve as we made a HUGE mistake going to Kollom which has NOTHING there. We were so lucky they had a room as they are the most popular place in varkala. The rooms were clean, spacious with A/C, big bathroom with hot shower plus a huge bath, TV with cable channels and a private large balcony. It was the best place we stayed on our travels and we will definitely return.
The cafe del mar restaurant they own is by far the best food on the cliff we ate there 3 nights in a row and 3 meals or dag then little Tibet. The breakfast is simple yet delicious (eggs any way. Tea/coffee and a fresh fruit salad) they also have free wifi but reception can be weak at times. All in all stay here it would be a crime not to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Varkala is an awesome place, and we highly recommend visiting! Truly speaking, you will likely spend a lot of time at the beach and on the cliffs and not in your hotel room. That being said, Hill View is a good place to stay for a few reasons. The location of this hotel is unbeatable -- it is on north cliff, with one of the best restaurants on the cliff downstairs (cafe del mar) from where you can see the beautiful red cliffs and ocean as you eat. The service was great -- after we left, my husband and I realized we forgot to close out one bill for some food and called the hotel to clear it up and the hotel was kind enough to comp it. The rooms are pretty basic beach hotel rooms. The bathroom had a bunch of aunts and it was hard to control hot and cold water, but it was manageable. Overall, we had a good stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenz6tenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Very good place in terms of look and feel. Minimal or no service. Very clean and well done bathroom with a huge tub. Could not sleep through the night because of the many cockroaches that were all over the room. At some point they were on the bed too. That was the deal breaker. Does not matter where it is located or how nice it looks once there is a cockroach on your face. If not for the cockroach it could possibly have been a different experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarvesh-Ramachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2012

there are a lot of options in verkala. but i was really very happy with my choice. the location near the beach and the cafe del mere on cliffs is perfect. i really enjoyed it. i wish the crew of hill view all the best. i will come back

Room Tip: there are no pool are fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kommschon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed late october and first november in this excellent family run hotel. Absolutely worth the money. Good beds, hot shows - rooms that embrace you the moment walking in. Very friendly people willing to help you in every way. In front of hotel the restaurant Cafe del Mar (same family) - only the best of the best food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varkala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We liked...
- the size of them, very spacious, we're a family of four and there was ample space for the whole family: one double bed and one double mattress and still lots of floor space. Also liked the veranda.
-the good location, it takes less than a minute to walk to the cliff top but the cottages are set back from the hustle and bustle so it's very quiet and private. Also it's great for kids as there's a little grassy communal garden.
-the cottages are cleaned on a daily basis when requested. And the cleaners are doing a brilliant job!
-the cottages are reasonably prized.

We slept well, but the beds are pretty hard, mind it's standard in India, we've travelled for three months here and slept in everything from what feels like a plank to very comfortable firm beds.

All in all we'd highly recommend Hill View!We liked...
- the size of them, very spacious, we're a family of four and there was ample space for the whole family: one double bed and one double mattress and still lots of floor space. Also liked the veranda.
-the good location, it takes less than a minute to walk to the cliff top but the cottages are set back from the hustle and bustle so it's very quiet and private. Also it's great for kids as there's a little grassy communal garden.
-the cottages are cleaned on a daily basis when requested. And the cleaners are doing a brilliant job!
-the cottages are reasonably prized.

We slept well, but the beds are pretty hard, mind it's standard in India, we've travelled for three months here and slept in everything from what feels like a plank to very comfortable firm beds.

All in all we'd highly recommend Hill View!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Varkala
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#8 of 50 in Varkala
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Beach Resort

Property: Hill View Beach Resort
Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is beautifully located on top of the spectacular and unique red cliff on the seashore with magnificent views, offering comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden setting with small pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hill View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill View Beach Hotel Varkala
Hill View Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing