We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovey clean and nicely designed rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovey clean and nicely designed rooms”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed here for a few nights at the end of my month's stay in Kerala (of which around 10 days of it was spent in Varkala on and off). Hill View's rooms are lovely and airy, comfy beds, plump pillows, ambient lighting, very clean and good service there. Friendly staff in reception and also very helpful. Payed Rs2,500 per night and I think good value compared to some of the other places on North Cliff charging the same rate but much more basic. Also the adjacent Cafe del Mar restaurant is one of the best cafe / restaurants on the North Cliff. Fantastic food and friendly staff. Busy during peak season but haven't compromised on quality of food. I would very much recommend if you want to be in the thick of the North Cliff action. Otherwise head towards the South Cliff to Varkala Marine Palace.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemons75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    49
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
53
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

If you like to be in the middle of the 'action', Hill View Beach Resort at the center of the North cliff might be your thing. If you want to opt for a more lay-back atmosphere reminding to how the place might have been 15 years ago ... check-out for places at the south cliff.
We stayed at Hill View Beach resort at year-end and definately had a good time there.
For a A/C Deluxe @ 5000/- per night we had a nice clean cottage and nothing to complain (although one giant roach :-( one night in the bathroom).
Apparently prices can differ significantly in the high season as others payed a 34 GBP a night for same periode... so comparing carefully their offer with others in your prefered periode might be interesting.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G2_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We actually landed up here, because the place looked neat and authentic among the others in the Varkala lane. Also, I was a little intrigued by the name, Hill View Beach Resort! Turned out to be quite the Oasis we were looking for! The rooms are neat, spacious with old furniture and has large bathrooms with tubs and balconies.

The decor is not bad and I must say, for the price that we paid, it was quite a steal! we took up a first floor room overlooking the sea. It was quite an exciting trip I must say. The Hotel also has a delectable Restaurant, Cafe Del Mar...which for most part of the 3 days that we stayed in....remained busy throughout! We had tried pizzas, pastas and the garlic naans are to die for!

The coffee menu is also quite exhaustive and the owner also runs his travel agency right there, which turned out to be a blessing in disguise as my forever busy trade, forced me to cut my visit by a day and return to Goa where I was working.

This place definitely is one of the best among its contemporaries in Varkala! The staff is very hospitable and they leave you to yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My partner & I stayed here from 29th december until 2nd January. We had a fantastic time!
After being messed around by a previous hotel in Varkala I found this little gem.
The cottage was set back from the front so although the hotel is located right in the thick of it on the North cliff when you go to your cottage its lovely and calm. Our room was pretty basic, large and clean, the only thing I would say is that the bed was very hard. The bathroom was spacious enough and very clean but for 34 pounds a night it was worth every penny.
Cafe del mar is the restaurant in front of the hotel which had great food and was always busy.
The best thing about our experience were the staff! the hotel manager helped us out so much while we were there, he helped us book taxi's, booked our house boat and even allowed us to return back to our room in the middle of the night for free 2 weeks after we stayed there as we visited Varkala for the evening before taking our flight home from Trivandrum.
The service, location and rooms that have all things you need make this place great value for money at only 34 pounds a night in peak season! a great base for Varkala! would recommend to anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou_Eva_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We arrived late evening on Dec. 15th and stayed at a place on the north side of the cliff. We encountered not one but 7 giant roaches! Needless to say, we ventured out the next morning to find another hotel. We were invited to see a few rooms at different properties but chose Hill View for their spacious rooms and cleanliness. A huge plus was the staff was friendly and professional. Sanu, one of the office managers was particularly helpful and very service oriented.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripwmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

My wife happened to be in need of a toilet about 10 minutes after the Café was closed. She passed the open gate where a night guard was sitting. After she returned he seemed to realize that she was no guest of the resort and he got angry. She said she was sorry but he was getting more and more angry. I tried to calm him down, his reaction was to threaten me with a huge wooden stick. Really great experience, especially as

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius_cgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

We booked this family run hotel last minute on Christmas Eve as we made a HUGE mistake going to Kollom which has NOTHING there. We were so lucky they had a room as they are the most popular place in varkala. The rooms were clean, spacious with A/C, big bathroom with hot shower plus a huge bath, TV with cable channels and a private large balcony. It was the best place we stayed on our travels and we will definitely return.
The cafe del mar restaurant they own is by far the best food on the cliff we ate there 3 nights in a row and 3 meals or dag then little Tibet. The breakfast is simple yet delicious (eggs any way. Tea/coffee and a fresh fruit salad) they also have free wifi but reception can be weak at times. All in all stay here it would be a crime not to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Varkala
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#22 of 50 in Varkala
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Beach Resort

Property: Hill View Beach Resort
Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is beautifully located on top of the spectacular and unique red cliff on the seashore with magnificent views, offering comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden setting with small pond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hill View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill View Beach Hotel Varkala
Hill View Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing