We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kerala Bamboo House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$135
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kshetra Beach Resorts(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$15
US$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$19
US$18
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
InDa Hotel(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clafouti Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
37
43
32
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
43
32
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classlow seasonthe cliffno hot waterlovely gardenthe north endrestaurants and shopsstayed for nightssea viewhutporchcookeryacbungalowmassageclassesnets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We would give this resort an excellent rating if it were not for the lousy cooking class. The bamboo cottages are charming, well-made, clean and most of them face a truly lovely garden. To top it off, the resort is right on the edge of the cliff where it takes only minutes to walk to the beach as you go by several cliff-side restaurants and vendor stands. A really magical setting. I have taken several cooking classes (Mexico, Vietnam, Thailand, and 2 others in India). This was definitely very inferior. The teacher, if you want to call him that, did not teach at all. He merely barked out directions for me to chop veggies without ever telling me what I was cooking. The kitchen was really drab and dirty. The food in the end was very tasty, but the experience was really awful

Room Tip: Do not take the cooking class!!! We were there 4 days and talked to several other people who took the class and came to the same conclusion.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed there a couple of years ago, and going through the pictures on Tripadvisor, it reminded me of this beautiful place! Kerala Bamboo House has an excellent value for money, the location is paradise-like, a few steps away from the beach and central Varkala. Very quiet location. Rooms were basic, but clean, big enough and comfortable. They offered Ayurvedic treatments, though not the best received, the staff was very nice, and the Ayurvedic food, of high quality. Would defenitely go back to stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NadiafromMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at Kerala Bamboo House for one week in July. The room in which we stayed was basic but did the job very well. The room was spacious and tidy when we arrived.

The only quarms that I had with this place was that we didn't have fresh towels given to us and our room wasn't cleaned once whilst we were there. Perhaps we should have asked?

There were plenty of places to eat and drink along the coast - all within walking distance. The beach was also very close - maybe 5 mins max walk.

As it was low season there was not much going on at Kerala Bamboo House but none the less we had an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahSchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed in Kerala Bamboo House for 6 nights in February. We loved the place. Our bungalow was very clean, the staff cleaned the room 3 times during 5 days! Interior of the room is quite basic, but all necessary is just there - mosquito net, fan, mirror etc. It would be better if there were air-conditioner as well, but actually I was more afraid of staying without air-con then the reality was. Despite not having air-con the sleep was very good. As there was a mosquito net we were able to keep windows open during the night. The staff readily provided us anti-mosquito tablets.
The bed was comfy. The bathroom was clean and with hot water 24h. No (bed)bugs, no mould - perfectly clean.
It was a real pleasure to sit on the terrace in the morning enjoying sea-view (we had a sea-view from our bungalow) or drinking a cocktail in the evening. The staff cleaned the terrace from sand every morning.
There was only one disturbing thing - the walls of the bungalow are quite thin so every noise from the adjoining room was hearable. It got a little noisy then a family with 2 little children stayed next door. Fortunately the manager asked them to keep more quiet in the evenings.
There were no breakfast included but it was not problem at all as there are plety on very nice places to eat along the cliff. We liked Kerala Coffee House and several others. It was even good not to have included breakfast because it allowed us to try different places.
Location is very good - right on the cliff with steps down to the beach nearby. Sea-view available from the garden and some bungalows.
I liked their ayurvedic massage. The girl (unfortunately don´t remember her name) was very nice and skillful. I slept like a baby after massage.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got everything we needed in few minutes.
We absolutely enjoyed our stay in Kerala Bamboo House and would like to stay there again if in Varkala.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

After staying in a homestay in Varkala we spent two nights at Kerala Bamboo House, just to stay somewhere more beachy for a while. It was low season when we were there so prices weren't that bad, although no food included so more expensive than elsewhere. The huts themselves are basic and clean, ours had an open- air bathroom at the back, nice for a sunny shower! Mosquito net over the bed and a fan meant we could keep the door open overnight and we were actually able to sleep considering the heat. It's less personal than other places we stayed but the staff were around if you needed anything - we quite enjoyed the time to ourselves. Very good location for the beach, so if you're not expecting 5* accommodation (they are bamboo huts of course) then this is a good choice in Varkala to be in amidst everything.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eshort22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews