We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Honeymoon place in the middle of palm trees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kerala Bamboo House
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Kerala Bamboo House has been one of our best choice during our trip in South India last year. Pretty, spacious and comfortable bungalows with large bath for only 600 rupies (on October, low season). It is peaceful and you can relax yourself sitting out the hut, in your own patio. There is a wonderful garden and it is quite near beach. Colorful and pitoresque, it is perfect if you wish something of diffent from the usual hotels. Excellent service, staff is kind and helpful. In five minutes they arranged for our flight from Kochi to Bombay, our house-boat trip in Aleppy and find a good driver to Aleppy at a very low price; they did not push us to book excursions but simply satisfied our requests in a very professional way.
They had no restaurant service but they granted us a discount for the near Kerala Coffee House, where we had the best Kerala breakfast of our trip and super dinner.
It is a great place to stay and I would recomand it to all my friends!
If you intend to spend some days in a seaside place, Varkala is the best one and Kerala Bamboo House is a magnificent solution.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Encanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

this is a hotel with a difference. made fully of wood with all basic amenities. situated amidst lush surroundings. rooms are bit dark but cozy. food is superb

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiuli_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

This was the best hotel stay experience, i had with my family!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I stayed here when i was traveling around India last autumn. I was very impressed by the value of the huts (aprox £7 p/n.) The location was perfect, right on the cliff top with resturants metres away. Quiet location with a small garden in front of the huts with lovely hamoks to chill out in the sun. I felt very safe in the hut alone and would recomend it as a great place to stay! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claremaryjanenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The bamboo house has a great location, set back from the coastal strip so its quite quiet, but takes 30 seconds to walk to the beach. The rooms were clean and spacious with lovely furniture and mosquito nets, and a little porch to chill out on. no frills, but perfectly comfortable, especially for the very reasonable price. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely stay here agin when we come back to varkala, which we most certainly will because its beautiful! best sea in india!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHolidayDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

i like its natural beauty and around climate.........it was amazing.....

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sooraj_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

One thing i definatley tells you about this "The hotel is magnificent" and the thing we have experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to took step out of Hotel ourselves to see rest of Kerela and that too in the nature. In fact we didn't bother to came out and to have fun together.

Stayed: December 2009
1  Thank mechdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Marine Beach Resort
Blue Marine Beach Resort
#47 of 52 in Varkala
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kshetra Beach Resorts
Kshetra Beach Resorts
#23 of 52 in Varkala
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Haiwa Beach Residency
The Haiwa Beach Residency
#46 of 52 in Varkala
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerala Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerala Bamboo House

Address: On The Cliff, Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Price Range: £13 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kerala Bamboo House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kerala Bamboo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerala Bamboo House Hotel Varkala
Kerala Bamboo Hotel
Kerala Bamboo House Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing