We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location on North Cliff rooms very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The location of this hotel is superb with a delightful pool and gardens overlooking the Indian ocean. The room was the smelliest dampest room I have ever stayed in and the a/c didn't work. My friends room was fine though! Only hotel where full payment for a three day stay had to be paid up front - manager cash not customer oriented so be on guard. Breakfast poor. Shame this hotel could be the best in area if only they sorted some of the horrid rooms and half decent breakfast.

Room Tip: See the room before paying and ask to change if stinks
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

Only good things about this place was the recent addition of a pool and the fact the resort is close to some very good restaurants offering a great selection of dining options. We loved Abba and Clafuti restaurant as they had great choice.

During our recent trip we stayed at 9 hotels in total. This one has to be the worst of all of them!! We were shown to our room by the manager, we question him about the lack of basic things like tv, kettle, fridge or even a telephone in the room. We were told that the hotel was an 'Ayurvedic' resort so none of these items were available as these would be considered as a disturbance to the guests. If that was the case then I suggest that they relocate the resort as there is a restaurant next to the resort was playing loud music all day and half the night!! This part of our stay was a major disappointment. there was nothing on offer for guests to do at the resort. The area around the pool and lounger was often strewn with litter and plastic bottles which were not cleaned up by staff until the next day when a lady came around to sweep the area. this is not helped by the fact there there were no bins to be found anywhere on the grounds!! The restaurant was very basic serving the same boring food daily. Staff could do with better training. The promised WIFI that we should have had in the rooms was only available in reception.

Worst part of the stay has to be not being able to take a shower properly, the shower was nothing more then a drip..... despite complaining to the management nothing was done. We hated this place.

Room Tip: Definitely go for one of the few AC rooms, they are in the central part of the resort, two of which...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed several days in a deluxe room with views from the window of pool and sea. This resort is at the end of the cliff path which makes it a perfect location to walk to all the restaurants but also to be that little bit away from the noise. The best thing is garden area which unlike many of the photos has been upgraded to include a spotless swimming pool and several sun loungers overlooking the sea. I didn't see anywhere else on the main cliff where you could get this. The rooms are fine but little improvements are needed in the way of maintenance. Our room needed a new shower head. The water seemed to always be cold, but that seems to be the norm in Varkala. The room was cleaned & sheets were changed daily by cheerful smiling staff. The restaurant is not great but it's ok for the included breakfast and there are so many other options nearby that it wasn't a problem. The hotel's manager is exceptionally helpful and helped with car bookings and an emergency medical trip. All in all, and having sampled an alternative hotel on the main drag at the same price, this little gem offers good value for money and a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed here for one night which was probably more than enough.

The good things about this place include stunning views from the pool area...and thats about it. Rooms are small, clean with hot water. The management and staff are very nonchalant. We had a problem with one of our rooms and were told that the hotel was full, although it wasn't. In the end we were given a new room as we had one triple booked but they could not accommodate a third bed in the room.

Breakfast was a sorry affair with rubbery and cold food. There is an ayurvedic spa opposite the road, however we did not use as the rooms did not look very clean.

You can probably find a much better place in Varkala.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashah_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

this is my second time to visit Kerala and Krishnatheeram and i just love Krishnatheeram resort! and I thing this resort offers one of the best Ayurveda treatment packages at very reasonable price here in Varkala resort. Package includes 1hr yoga and meditation, 90minutes treatment, 3 ayurveda meals, dr councelling and medicines. All room is equipped with shower room and you can enjoy hot shower at your room as well.
krishnatheeram is located just in front of beach with breath taking ocean view.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The resort is a very beautiful property, located in North Cliff, near the Black beach.This resort has lovely, well manicured gardens with beautiful views of the sea, . Cozy rooms, with sea facing views. the Ayurveda clinic next door is also impressive. The cottages are very nice with balcony and nice beds with comfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed there with my friend from US last April for a couple days. The manager said a lot of things about their services and offers...But nothing happened.......At last we had to change our stay and treatment to another center, near to this. So you guys always be careful before go to this center. Always go through these reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MyTripToKerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krishnatheeram1, General Manager at Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Sir,

It is really disgusting to note that comments without any authenticity is published on Trip Advisor.. The specific comment posted on 19th July 2012 is posted by a person who accompanied one of our client Ms. Sabine and requested for Commission which was against our company policy..

The client was very happy to recieve our services and has confirmed another treatment alongwith accommodation and services in the month of Sept 2012..

Kindly make necessary arrangements to remove the comment since it is not from a genuine customer and from a person who accompanied and pretended to help this lady..

Thanks and Regards

Rajesh R Kurup
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.9 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
398 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort

Address: North Cliff | Thiruvambadi Beach, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £33 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched right above the shimmering Thiruvambady beach, here is a destination resort that offers one of the most enchanting stretches of silver-sand beach and the most soothing Ayurveda treatments on the planet. Wake up to flamboyant sunrises and spectacular sunsets from the comfort of Krishnatheeram's beach-view ethnic cottages. Built around pebbled pathways & gardens, the resort is a sanctuary for heavenly bliss. A combo of Ayurveda, Yoga & reflexology will drape you into the deepest slumber you haven't experienced in several years.You can enjoy a wholesome week of fun in the soft-sanded silvery shores of Varkala's Thiruvambady Beach and flash a friendly smile at the dolphins when they rush up to meet you every afternoon. Stroll, swim, sail, fish or hike. Whatever you do at Krishnatheeram is bound to be memorable for life! Lounge in 5-star luxury and breathe in a healthy dose of vibrant sea breeze while lazily stretching out on an intricately knit hammock, munching on crunchy, spiced seafood. You will enjoy the tropical peace and serenity of the resort while being just a few minutes away from the fun-filled beach activities such as scuba diving, beach volley, guided fishing trips, catamaran ride and every possible waterfront sport imaginable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Krishnatheeram Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing