We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails and great views.”

Gods Own Country Kitchen
Ranked #6 of 90 Restaurants in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and great views.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Went here for breakfast after arriving at 10am in Varkala and the breakfast was very good.
Great views out to sea and we also saw dolphins playing around from our seats here.Didn't eat here again because we got breakfast at our hotel but the fresh fish on show in the evenings looked very good.
Visited a few more times during our stay, for drinks, and the mojitos are the best my wife had.
Friendly staff too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    84
    27
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best of the best.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

With so many selling fresh fish it was hard to pick the best. We wanted the fish grilled without spices and it was cooked to perfection and ofcourse excellent prices. I can honestly say that they did the best veg biriani that I've eaten. With an excellent view from upstairs everything was perfect.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank skudderbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The most welcoming place in varkala, really lovely atmosphere and the service was second to none. As someone who works in hospitality myself I couldnt fault it. Cocktails all made with mineral water so no worries for travellers to try out their amazing cocktails. :)
Definitely recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pubgrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant, friendly people”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this restaurant and loved it. Great food, great cocktails and friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Krissy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“This was Gipsey Kings... now Country Kitchen”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great service and enthusiastic fun staff. We had a great time here and the food was excellent. Mojitos the best on the cliff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamelala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gods Own Country Kitchen also viewed

Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
Varkala, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Gods Own Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing