We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Christmas holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Christmas holiday”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Has a great stay at the hotel with my family (all adults), everything was clean and the staff were always helpful! It was quite quiet so the pool was generally empty and there were lots of sun loungers, the cushions and towels were brought out straight away by a member of staff who kept the pool area tidy. The location was great- right on the beach and very close to the local eateries. The breakfasts were fine although a blackbird stole my pot of jam (much to the amusement of the waiter!) but the waiters were fantastic....and on christmas morning while eating we saw a pod of dolphins swimming close to the shore! Stunning! I would stay again.

Room Tip: They are all sea facing however only some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahstravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    119
    36
    11
    8
See reviews for
90
97
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Location; perfect view across the arabian sea and down the beach. Palm trees and sandy beaches.
Staff; I have never been treated so well by hotel staff who opened doors for us, brought us fresh flowers daily and were attentive.
Food; Buffet breakfast was a mix of traditional indian curries and dozas, european 'continental' croissants and pastries, fresh fruits and cereals and 'english' style fried breakfast. Evening meals covered most countries of the world although I would recommend sticking to the indian food as opposed to 'versions' of foreigh foods.
Rooms: we had a suite consisiting of a bedroom with a 12 x 6 foot window and a bed of similar proportions. It had an air conditioning unit, minibar and colour tv. Through a sliding door was another room with writing bureau, sofa, table and chairs and another large window and seperate air conditioner. Bathroom had a large bath with shower over, basin and toilet was clean and functional.
Pool; the pool was clean and as soon as we arrived every day we were provided with loungers, mats and towels. Service for snacks and drinks was excellent. The pool man made us feel spoiled, brought us fresh flowers and couldn't have been more helpful.
Ayurveda; ayurvedic massages under the supervision of the doctor left us feeling even more spoiled and relaxed.
Beach; what you read about enthusiastic lifeguards and flottsam is true. The water is clean and choppy but the beach does have the remnants of the ceremonies that take place daily.
The back waters trip arranged by the guys on reception was a highlight of our trip and once again we were treated like roylaty, with our captain, cook and engineer the only other people on board.
My wife is already booking next years holiday at the Hindustan.

Room Tip: Difficult to choose, all rooms face the beach and the beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorneliusBalfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Comfortable, spacious and clean with great view of the sea. Pool was lovely addition and yoga lessons great. Restaurant lovely and staff second to none.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Our 2nd trip to Varkala and loved this hotel. Right on the beach with lovely sunny elevated pool area, which is very clean with comfy sun beds and towels. Attentive staff who will do all they can to make your stay the best.
Breakfast very good taken on the roof with fantastic views and they have another retaurant on site too.
Close to beach shacks if you want a change of seen and there are loads of restuarants in the area all displaying fresh fish for you to choose from, plus literally any other food you could wish for.
We will stay here again should we find we are visiting this area, it is a little gem.

Room Tip: Only few rooms have Balcony, others have picture windows which can not open. We had garden room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Hotel situated just on the beach, all the rooms are sea facing. Spacious rooms, nicely decorated, You can enjoy the view of beach from your room. Watching sun set from pool site was a stunning experience. pool was clean and nicely maintained. Worth to stay.

Room Tip: any room can be selected, because all are sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinesh_Bisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Walked in and booked a standard room for 2 nights. Room was a good size, nicely decorated and clean. All rooms face the sea, and the view from the window was stunning, could have spent hours just sitting there watching the locals visiting the beach. Bathroom was clean with free shampoo/moisturiser/etc…The shower was good with plenty of hot water. The bed was king-size and very comfortable. Room also had TV (with English movies) and fridge with mini-bar, prices were reasonable, e.g. 130rps for Kingfisher Beer.

Also room service prices were reasonable and service was quick. We ate on the top floor restaurant on both nights and have no complaints, ate both Indian and Continental. Service was good and timely. View was amazing.

Yes I would return, a very relaxing 2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

hotel is niceely loacted right on to the beach.....wonderfull place......good service...improvments onthe food specially for north indian food.Good massagecentre.the best part is swimming pool right beach facing.overall good stay and nice experince.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daya0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#13 of 50 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Samsara Harmony Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindustan Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindustan Beach Retreat

Property: Hindustan Beach Retreat
Address: Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hindustan Beach Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varkala. The new tourist destination in God's Own Country, Kerala. It is 55 km North of Thiruvananthapuram accessible by road NH-47 via Kallambalam. By train, Varkala is a station from where a short drive by taxi will get you to Hindustan Beach Retreat. Hindustan Beach Retreat is a venture of the reputed Hindustan Textiles Group based in Kannur since 1939. We have 27 well appointed rooms each one with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea giving you the luxury of the solitude that you can enjoy with the sounds of nature. · Accommodation o Standard Room - 12 (6 king size + 6 twin bed) o Executive Room (Balcony) - 12 (10 king size + 2 twin bed) o Suite Room (Balcony + Living Room) - 03 (3 king size) · Food o Nothin' Doing - The Restaurant near the Pool Side o Wait'n Watch - Coffee Shop on the Roof Top o Slow motion - The Bar. O Room service - 24 Hrs.· Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi (costumes a must) · Kid's Pool · 100 Seater Conference Hall · Turtle - The Souvenir Shop · Travel Desk · Beautiful Lawn · Wi-fi Internet · Television/Cable · Mini-bar· Telephone · Library · Turtle Bay - The Spa · Coffee makers· Doctor on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hindustan Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing