We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Average, what more can I say !
Front desk guys a bit indifferent but OK.
Restaurant has nice view and food is OK, not great.
Our room was fine with a small balcony with an interesting view down to the beach which is fascinating. So the location with it's vantage point just above the beach is very good.
Wifi is available but extra cost.
The beach itself is picturesque with the high cliffs above, reasonably clean (for India) and not bad for swimming. It is popular with locals and fisherman alike and with tourists all coexist nicely.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed here on April 6th for 1 night. The staff do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A complementary juice drink upon arrival was a nice touch. This property is located within 30 seconds of the beach. However it is located on the opposite side from the cliff and all the western tourist places. The area of the beach it is located on is considered to be holy by Hindus and is always packed with Hindus preforming religious rituals. So it is great to stroll down the beach and watch all of this. And if you feel like swimming you can walk 10 minutes further to the touristic part.
My room located on the 4th floor had an awesome view of the beach with massive windows and a balcony. The bed is comfortable however, you can tell that it is ageing a little. There is a brilliant pool that is elevated on the 1st floor overlooking the beach. And the rooftop restaurant has great views of the beach. The breakfast buffet was good as well. Nothing fancy but certainly enough to keep you happy.
Overall a great stay on an amazing beach (1 of India's best beaches!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fajer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

OK so me and a few friend stayed here which was an amazing location. The rooms were decent and the breakfast not the best in terms of quality. My quarks are with the very slow service. Just to order a food bill we waited 20mins. The reception staff are also a bit wierd, none really understand English but none even smile at you, you ask them questions and they jut stare you in the face rather than offering you alternatives for something they dont have. Overall good but not the best, would recommend still on for location.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaysingh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in early February. Our room had a beautiful view of the beach and a small balcony. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The swimming pool was good and although there were quite a few people there it didn't feel crowded. All in all it was a great stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reena2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

After opting out of a disaster retreat they accommodated us in a luxury sea facing suite on the 3rd floor. The suite was well appointed with a great view of the beach and pool below. Watching the 24/7 prayers on the beach was educational. Breakfast on the top floor with a panoramic view was great. Just watch the laundry, they utterly ruined four of our garments [used wrong chemicals apparently! Navy blue turned ORANGE!] To their credit we were refunded in full without an argument - top marks to the management! Russell & Rita Atherstone Durban S. Africa

Room Tip: Suite 302 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have spent 3nights from 30-12 to 1-1-2012. Mega Buffet and Party was not include in the prices but good and funny on the roof. There is a fantastic view on the beach during the breakfast or dinner from the roof.
Nice swimming-pool and good Beauty Center with Ayurvedic Massage are inside.
Close the hotel there are different good fish's restaurant. The Hotel is located at the end of the street and during the night it's very calm and quite.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max_horse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Has a great stay at the hotel with my family (all adults), everything was clean and the staff were always helpful! It was quite quiet so the pool was generally empty and there were lots of sun loungers, the cushions and towels were brought out straight away by a member of staff who kept the pool area tidy. The location was great- right on the beach and very close to the local eateries. The breakfasts were fine although a blackbird stole my pot of jam (much to the amusement of the waiter!) but the waiters were fantastic....and on christmas morning while eating we saw a pod of dolphins swimming close to the shore! Stunning! I would stay again.

Room Tip: They are all sea facing however only some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahstravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindustan Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindustan Beach Retreat

Address: Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hindustan Beach Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varkala. The new tourist destination in God's Own Country, Kerala. It is 55 km North of Thiruvananthapuram accessible by road NH-47 via Kallambalam. By train, Varkala is a station from where a short drive by taxi will get you to Hindustan Beach Retreat. Hindustan Beach Retreat is a venture of the reputed Hindustan Textiles Group based in Kannur since 1939. We have 27 well appointed rooms each one with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea giving you the luxury of the solitude that you can enjoy with the sounds of nature. · Accommodation o Standard Room - 12 (6 king size + 6 twin bed) o Executive Room (Balcony) - 12 (10 king size + 2 twin bed) o Suite Room (Balcony + Living Room) - 03 (3 king size) · Food o Nothin' Doing - The Restaurant near the Pool Side o Wait'n Watch - Coffee Shop on the Roof Top o Slow motion - The Bar. O Room service - 24 Hrs.· Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi (costumes a must) · Kid's Pool · 100 Seater Conference Hall · Turtle - The Souvenir Shop · Travel Desk · Beautiful Lawn · Wi-fi Internet · Television/Cable · Mini-bar· Telephone · Library · Turtle Bay - The Spa · Coffee makers· Doctor on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hindustan Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing