We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort very close to the beach !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Had been to hindustan beach retreat,with the family and in-laws.The hotel was well maintained,clean and neat rooms,restaurant food was a bit delayed but the taste was good.
Parking vehicle was bit of a crisis,as they can park 3 cars only in the front of the hotel.They have another place for parking a bit away from the hotel.
The swimming pool experience was good,people were hospitable.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAZZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had been here with my family last November, we simply loved this hotel . Every thing was just in its place , the food , rooms and service. my kids to loved this place. will definitely go this summer again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Immanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed in the Hindustan for 2 night and have to stay It was a nice hotel, the rooms were spacious and equiped with good air conditioning. We ate in the restaurant upstairs and found it to be mediocre. I felt the Air Conditioning was to strong and was actually freezing in the room and tried to turn it up but didnt work very well and stayed cold. The Wi-Fi works well and would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chryz707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Its clean & tidy, located directly on the beach.But its a bit dull, while staying in Varkala and looking around i saw fantastic cliff top private Huts and more tradtional hotels that would have been more fitting in this magical location.
Sort of like walking into a McDonolds you could be anywhere in the world.
To its credit the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea views, 2-3 floors up is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of a refurb. It looks pretty tatty from the outside as they have covered the entire building with netting to keep the pigeons out but it's so old that it's sagging like old cobwebs and there are loads of holes in it so the birds can still get in. There was even a dead pigeon hanging from part of the netting where it had obviously got stuck and strangled itself for the entire time we were there!

Our room was a bit disappointing - it wasn't ready when we arrived so we had to sit in the lobby and wait for it to be cleaned. This meant that when we went in the floor was still wet so we immediately got footprints from our shoes all over the floor. The room was fine in terms of amenities but it was quite old and tatty - the phone and guest information pack were very grubby and the (tiny) bathroom door was scuffed and had old remnants of masking tape by the door handle.

The staff at the hotel were quite a mixed bunch: the reception and swimming pool staff were very pleasant but the waiters in the restaurant weren't very proactive or friendly and we had some real issues with the housekeeping staff as I had some laundry done and one of my tops came back stained - they tried to tell me it had been that way when I'd given it to them which I hotly disputed as it was brand new and I'd only worn it once. Eventually I managed to get some money knocked off the laundry bill but not without a real fight - the 'customer is always right' mentality clearly hasn't landed here!

The swimming pool was ok although, like everywhere else in the hotel, it could do with some money being spent on updating it - the sunloungers are pretty old and tatty.

It's also worth noting that Varkala beach is a holy site for Hindus and the hotel is smack bang on top of the spot where people scatter the ashes of their dead relatives. All you need to do is walk down the beach a bit to the more touristy bit, but it is quite a strange experience opening your curtains in the morning to see hundreds of people in the middle of quite a personal, sad ceremony.

Eating out tips: Cafe Del Mar is a great lunch spot; there's a beach restaurant about two minutes' walk from the Hindustan hotel which is absolutely lovely - unfortunately I can't remember its name but you'll recognise it for the pretty coloured and mirrored lanterns hanging all over the place. That was our favourite spot!

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a balcony which we found quite surprising so if you want one then make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieJourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The best part of the hotel is its location. The sea is hardly 50 m from the hotel and can be seen and heard from the rooms. Everything that the hotel staff committed during hotel booking was committed to during our stay. We definitely would want to stay there again!

Room Tip: Select a room in the 2nd floor or above for a good view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Situated right on the beach, the Hindustan offers a terrific place to stay and explore the Varkala area. The staff are extremely helpful and endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as they can. Arriving very early in the morning and not being able to check in after a very long flight would have been disasterous without the thoughfulness of the hotel reception staff. We managed to get into our room without any delay which made a great start to our journey. The breakfast is quite adequate as are the rooms. Dated and without luxury but perfectly clean and tidy.
Situated where you can observe the local population undertaking memorial rights to the dead on the beach, we found it intruiging rather than off putting. The sea can be rather dirty and not really suitable for swimming and the local village was typically litter strewn. But that is India!

The beach and cliffs above the town have a wide range of small cafe restaurants serving the complete range of indian and International dishes. Some remain non alchoholic but search and ye shall find. The usual tourist items abound on every corner but the locals are not persistent in their efforts to sell you some beads or a drum etc etc.
A great place to enjoy india although the influence of the hippies no longer exists being replaced by a wave of Russian tourists. However great value and comparitively cheap still

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#18 of 52 in Varkala
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindustan Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindustan Beach Retreat

Address: Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £48 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hindustan Beach Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varkala. The new tourist destination in God's Own Country, Kerala. It is 55 km North of Thiruvananthapuram accessible by road NH-47 via Kallambalam. By train, Varkala is a station from where a short drive by taxi will get you to Hindustan Beach Retreat. Hindustan Beach Retreat is a venture of the reputed Hindustan Textiles Group based in Kannur since 1939. We have 27 well appointed rooms each one with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea giving you the luxury of the solitude that you can enjoy with the sounds of nature. · Accommodation o Standard Room - 12 (6 king size + 6 twin bed) o Executive Room (Balcony) - 12 (10 king size + 2 twin bed) o Suite Room (Balcony + Living Room) - 03 (3 king size) · Food o Nothin' Doing - The Restaurant near the Pool Side o Wait'n Watch - Coffee Shop on the Roof Top o Slow motion - The Bar. O Room service - 24 Hrs.· Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi (costumes a must) · Kid's Pool · 100 Seater Conference Hall · Turtle - The Souvenir Shop · Travel Desk · Beautiful Lawn · Wi-fi Internet · Television/Cable · Mini-bar· Telephone · Library · Turtle Bay - The Spa · Coffee makers· Doctor on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hindustan Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing