We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An over priced dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We made the mistake of listening to our Indian travel agent, who booked this hotel for us. It is an over priced, tacky and dirty place. We were booked into one of their 'executive' rooms. The first one we were shown was dirty and the bathroom had a terrible smell. Typical of its management, we had to wait over four hours to occupy our room. While it was not the cleanest, at least its bathroom was OK.

The hotel does not have the best location, which is just next to the new beach side temple and religious beach. It has a major pigeon problem, so all of the balconies and beach facing side of the hotel is covered in bird droppings. While the pool is nice, if you want to use one of their loungers, you are like a 'battery hen'. You also have everyone from the road and temple looking at you.

It is basically a package tour hotel. During our stay there was a group of French and Swedish also staying there. So don't expect any 'extras' like a hair dryer and decent WiFi. The breakfast buffet is good, as is the food in the rooftop restaurant.

To be honest, Varkala itself is not really worth a night. The beach and water is dirty and on the main beach there is very little dry sand to sit on. Also, we noticed that the main beach and those smaller ones north of the cliffs are now very popular with Russian tourists. Not great, since most seem to sit and drink all day on the beach. A better option would to make a day trip from Kollam or the southern waterways. But if you do decide to stay in Varkala, there are much nicer and cheaper places to stay on the north cliffs.

Avoid this place at all costs.

Room Tip: There are no 'better' rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Only hotel in Varkala right on the beach. Ok breakfast buffet. A/C only has 1 speed/setting so it is either to cold or too hot. Great view out all windows but don't let them put you on 4th floor because windows coveted in bird droppings... Really gross. Also, they will turn off the wifi every night around 8 or 9pm.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This has a beach location ideal for local shops and restaurants and easy for tut tuts!
However facilities do not include tea and coffee making in room, no hair dryer and the shower room it self was extremely small. Although there was a lovely sea view from the room there was no balcony.
Breakfast was ok but not a huge selection
Pool area was ok but no real organisation outside!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ene4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Hindustan for several days and enjoyed it very much. We had a ground floor room, which was very spacious, clean and quiet. There is a small swimming pool which we enjoyed and it's just over the fence to the beach where the Hindu ritual of 'poojah' took place in the mornings. It was very interesting. We took a tuk-tuk up to the clifftop most days, which is where most of the action happens, but there were excellent restaurants along the beach. Varkala is gorgeous and should not be missed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were given room 404 a Double executive room . This room is very large, spacious and airy with large windows overlooking the beach, an alcove with a chaise longue and a small balcony.

The double bed is very lage and comfortable. The room also has a table, two comfortable chairs and a desk. The room is equipped with a kettle, (tea, coffee, powdered milk) fridge and hairdryer. A large old fashioned TV is provided which has some English speking channels.

The bathroom although not large was lovely with beautiful tiles and a large shower, with a shower curtain. Nice toiletries are provided (except shower gel) in a little bag.

The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Towels and bed linnen are changed daily if required.

Meals are taken at the roof top restaurant on the verandah, overlooking the beach. Breakfast is buffet style with an excellent choice, changed daily and also eggs and other items cooked to order.

Dinner can also be taken at the rooftop restaurant. There is a good choice of dishes at a reasonable price. We enjoyed the meal that we had here.

The swimming pool overlooking the beach is lovely with comfortable sunbeds and towels provided. There is not a great deal of shade. Gopal the poolman was excellent, very attentive and keen to ensure that you were comfortable.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the cliff for restaurants and souvenir shops but there are also some very good restaurants and shops right on the beach very close by.

The reson I booked the executive room was because we like to sit out on the balcony. Unfortunately whilst the balcony was really nice with excellent views over the beach and the bay. (Ideal for people watching and observing the rituals) it was not pleasant to sit out as there were so many pigeons leaving their deposits. Despite the cleaning staff visiting the room before we wanted to sit out at tea time we still got the visiting pigeons and droppings. We also had to move chairs out of the room on to the balcony to sit as they couldn't leave chairs out there. the balcony would be the ideal place to watch the sunset if it were not for the pigeons.

The staff we came in contact with were all friendly, efficient and professional and dealt with the pigeon problem as best they could.

The hotel also arranged our pick up transfer from the previous hotel and we then used the same driver and car for the onward journey from Varkala to Fort Cochin.

I made the booking for the hotel and the car transfer direct with the hotel and all correspondence was answered promptly and efficiently.

Hope to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are more spacious but you may not be able to sit on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skier54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

The Hindustan has it all, great view restaurant and pool by the beach! You can watch the puja from your hotel room early in the morning, followed by breakfast in the rooftop cafe, then sunset by poolside. Cliffs only a short walk away, but there are some fantastic restaurants just beside the hotel on the beach! Enjoy x

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Douzepoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After looking at quite a few places, we found this to be the BEST in Varkala. This is the only premium property in the vicinity that gives you the best view of the Papanasam Beach which is a stone throw away. I guess all their rooms are sea facing, the ones on the ground floor, open into the infinity swimming pool facing the ocean, great, undistributed viewing for sunsets, cant get much of the sunrise being on the west coast.

if you are looking for just more than comfortable stay, polite staff, good spread of continental and Indian cuisine for complimentary breakfast,this is the place. They also have a neat lounge bar on the top floor, perfect view of the ocean.
The entire staff are trained hotel management graduates, which speaks a lot..
while there are other resorts with good views they lack the professionalism as they do not have the scale and staff to manage the hospitality services.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neerajv26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindustan Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindustan Beach Retreat

Address: Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £61 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hindustan Beach Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varkala. The new tourist destination in God's Own Country, Kerala. It is 55 km North of Thiruvananthapuram accessible by road NH-47 via Kallambalam. By train, Varkala is a station from where a short drive by taxi will get you to Hindustan Beach Retreat. Hindustan Beach Retreat is a venture of the reputed Hindustan Textiles Group based in Kannur since 1939. We have 27 well appointed rooms each one with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea giving you the luxury of the solitude that you can enjoy with the sounds of nature. · Accommodation o Standard Room - 12 (6 king size + 6 twin bed) o Executive Room (Balcony) - 12 (10 king size + 2 twin bed) o Suite Room (Balcony + Living Room) - 03 (3 king size) · Food o Nothin' Doing - The Restaurant near the Pool Side o Wait'n Watch - Coffee Shop on the Roof Top o Slow motion - The Bar. O Room service - 24 Hrs.· Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi (costumes a must) · Kid's Pool · 100 Seater Conference Hall · Turtle - The Souvenir Shop · Travel Desk · Beautiful Lawn · Wi-fi Internet · Television/Cable · Mini-bar· Telephone · Library · Turtle Bay - The Spa · Coffee makers· Doctor on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hindustan Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing