We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Claus All Seasons Village
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Reviewed 11 December 2009

It's close to the beach. The workers are very nice and they give you very good advices. The room are very clean and comfortables. You have to go!!! don't miss it!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arantxarademakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2009

very nice hotel, very well located. excellent value for money and very friendly staff. I will return! I recommend ;))!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlaclopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I spent around 4 weeks here, in two periods between February and March 2009
> and i would highly recommend it.
>
> I spent alot of time looking at other places in Varkala but found this to
> be the best value for what I needed.
>
> On the cliff top, with the best views of the sea and sunset and not in the
> central more noisy part of Varkala. It is very peaceful here.
> Good rooms with satellite TV, hot water and very freindly staff (especially
> Vipin). There was optional airconditioning for an additional charge, however
> i chose only to have the fans (2 of them) I was very relaxed and comfortable
> here. You have different rates for different rooms with the highest rates
> for the rooms with veranda on the front looking out over the sea.
> There is also a nice garden, terrace, veranda and plans to open a
> restaurant.
>
> Also the rates will depend on the season or how busy it is. The rooms on
> the front were almost always occupied, but these are the ones i would
> recommend and therefore it might be worth booking ahead.
> The rooms around the side or at the back are obviously cheaper.
>It would be easy to make
a negative review of Santa Claus on the basis of
> having a side room which and paying nearly US$60.00 a
> night. But why would you agree to a such a price if you hadnt seen the room first. If I had had to pay
> this rate i would have also given a negative review.
>
> Of course how you rate a hotel often comes down to price and as Ive said
> earlier I thought that Santa Claus gave the best value - you can negotiate
> on the price depending on how long you're going to stay and dependent on the
> season. The front rooms can be had for between 500-1000 ruppees
> (GBP£6-12/USD$10-20) and the side rooms or back rooms less than this.
>
> SO PLEASE REMEMBER THE RATING IVE GIVEN HERE IS BASED ON THE PRICE IVE PAID
In comparison to prices of other places in the same area and with the same facilities, I can say that the price I paid was GOOD VALUE
>
> There are future expansion plans and there is a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jethro672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

these rooms are extremely poor value. they are dark and do not feel clean. there was mold on the pillows. it seems that they think they can charge $US 60/night because there is a small AC unit and a TV. If you go to india for indian food and to spend time on the beach as opposed to watch TV, there are many other guest house type places to stay that are on the other cliff/other side of the strip. A place called Basuri is only $US 13/night and is very clean, well ventilated and bright and has beach views.

i was surprised by all the positive reviews on trip advisor and elected to stay there based on the reviews. we were disappointed and very happy to move out of santa claus villiage to Basuri!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequenttraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

We stayed for three weeks in Jan'07,in Room #4, which has direct seaviews.We are going there again in Jan'08....Yes, we are in love with the place.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NicItal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2007

The sea facing rooms of this hotel are excellent.The staff especially Mr.Pramod,Mr.K.R.Nair, Mr.Reghu and Mr.Padmakumar were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The views from the restaurant's deck are superb.We stayed for three weeks along with our Italian friends.Initially,we had problems with noise coming from nearby Funky's cafe..but it stopped later due to strict enforcement of Police rules effective mid Feb'07.We found almost all rooms packed with guests during our period of stay.We look forward to go there next year for a longer period...

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank vincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2007

On a previous trip to Varkala last year, I had spotted the Santa Claus and asked to be shown one of the four rooms on the front, which seemed lovely. Modern and clean with a great view over the cliff. I didn't see any other rooms, as they were building the "swimming pool" at the time. What a mistake! To cut a long story short, I got in touch and booked one of the side rooms, with twin beds, (as the smarter, front rooms only had doubles). On arrival this January, we were shown to a very pokey side room (no view except the back of bamboo cottages next door) no sitting out area or balcony, and a double bed not two singles as requested and confirmed in several emails. They moved us to a larger room and put in another single bed, but even at noon it was dark and you needed the lights on because of the net cover over the "pool" - which was tiny and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in quite a while - green with algae, I certainly wouldn't swim in it. The bathroom was filthy. The walls were paper thin and we could hear every conversation in the office next door, plus the noise from the Funky Cafe nearby kept us awake until the early hours.... The breakfast was disappointing and service very slow, and over priced with so many other restaurants to choose from nearby. We spent one very uncomfortable night and left the next morning. In short, the rooms at the front look ok, but at $30 a night, so they should be!

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kittilondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Village
Bamboo Village
#31 of 100 in Varkala
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
950 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#28 of 100 in Varkala
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Claus All Seasons Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Claus All Seasons Village

Address: Thiruvambadi | North End Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: £20 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located right over the cliff and offers direct views of the Arabian Sea. We guarantee you a relaxed holiday amid peaceful environment. The building is made of ecofriendly materials and resembles a typical ancient Keralan building. This budget resort offers you clean and affordable rooms. The Papanasam beach, medicinal water spring, Ayurvedic massage centers, variety of restaurants and bars, shopping centers, ancient temples, etc are within 2 to 5 minutes walk along the cliff pathway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa Claus All Seasons Village Hotel Varkala
All Seasons Varkala
Santa Claus All Seasons Village Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing